Travel with me #66 : The other Saipan experience - My maiden voyage to the sky!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends:


If you had to ask me what is the most unforgettable place I've travelled to, then Saipan ranks very high up on my list of destinations. In previous editions of Travel with me and Miss. Delicious you've joined me as I set foot on the uninhabited "Warship Island" - Managaha, and experienced a splendid evening with me watching the sunset as we eat a delicious barbecued seafood meal over local tradition music and dance.

Today, i'll be taking us on another thrilling experience on the island of Saipan where I will be attempting to pilot a plane! Up till now, I've always enjoyed the serene landscape of Saipan from on the ground, I would never have guessed that tourists could have the opportunity to fly a plane and enjoy the view from up in the sky. Moreover, I would never have guessed I could have chance to sit in the pilot seat and take control of the plane.

Knowing that this is a rare opportunity, and one that I would unlikely find on other islands, I decided to give it a go. Join me as I fly through the sky!

First we head to the Saipan airport. This is where the plane I will be flying is at. First, I was asked to sign some safety and liability waiver contracts before I embark the plane. Upon signing, I was given this blue waiting card and then was asked to wait for my co-pilot to arrive before we take to the skies!

In the waiting area, I see these propeller planes getting prepped ready to fly. The weather on the island can be quite volatile, one minute it would be raining and then another minute the skies would be clear. In just a few moments, i'll be taking to the skies and yet my frame of mind is just like the weather, temperamental as I anxiously await.

Now, let's get ready to board the plane. As you can see, there are many models here, each with different colours. Some have just landed whilst others are being checked before take off. I suddenly feel like the airport is having some kind of airshow.

This is it! The cute blue and green plane which i'll be flying. Actually the colours remind me a little of Steemit. It's not a very large plane, so boarding it requires me to walk across one of it's wings.

This guy, is the Captain of the plane i'll be flying. Throughout the flight, he'll be guiding me through all the manoeuvre and making sure that we stay well within safety limits.

Here, the Captain is explaining to me all the different items on the dashboard and what they're for. I used to see these dashboards in games and movies, but never in real life with my very own eyes. Even though I don't look it, I'm secretly very excited to get started. In the heat of the moment, I dazed off to a day dream of me ploughing through the clouds in the sky. I missed some important instructions on the dashboard. Whoops!


Actually, my responsibility as a pilot is quite easy, all I have to do is take control of the Yoke and yaw left or right. Pulling the Yoke back, the nose of the plane tilt's upwards and on the contrary, pushing the Yoke forwards makes the nose turn down. It looks pretty easy but still requires a fair bit of control to maintain stability of the plane. Headset's on, ready for take off!

The take off manoeuvre is actually quite exhilarating, a bit like a roller-coaster. As you sit ready to take off, the sound of the front propeller gets louder as it turns faster and faster. In a split second, we accelerate viciously down the runway and I feel my back push against my seat. Moments later, we're soaring through the clouds as we fly into the vast expanse of the sky.


Do these scenes from up in the sky remind you of the air battles in war movies?


The captain takes the opportunity to show off some stunts. Suddenly the plane tilt's at what seems an impossible angle, unsuspecting and unprepared, I fall into my seat at an awkward angle, held in place by the shifting plane of gravity. It was pretty terrifying but now in hindsight, I found it pretty exciting.


Once the plane returns to normal, the captain hands over the control of the plane to me. He continues to guide my every move through the headset.

Taking the reigns of the plane was super satisfying. You can feel the plane respond to your every move, changing directions so responsively.


Right below the vast field of view, I see Saipan and even Warship Island. Up in the sky, everything looks like a boundless expanse. The pure, limpid and sparking sea. The silver white sandy beaches, the coral reefs displaying all the colours in profusion. The water and sky look conjoined with the same colour, as the sea blends it's deep and shallow waters into various shades of blue and green. Simply majestic.


After landing, the captain issued me with a "license" as a souvenir.

And just like that, I graduated from flight school. Err just joking!

Having flown my drone, and now a plane, I must say the two experiences couldn't feel any different. Yes, you are technically "flying" a drone, but sitting in a plane, you can feel the forces of gravity act on you as the plane tilts side to side, up and down.

Hope you enjoyed today's blog on taking to the skies and for a brief few moments, feeling like a bird.

Stay tuned for more stories from Saipan and much more!

Please up-vote, follow and comment!


跟我一起飞上天,塞班岛另类体验:开飞机要是说起旅行中最让我难忘的特殊经历,那就不得不说,在塞班岛,除了好好享受了日落烧烤晚餐的美妙,更是第一次尝试了开飞机。之前的我都是从陆地上观赏塞班岛的自然景观之美,没想到这个岛竟然提供给旅行者开飞机的项目,因为我知道不是每个岛屿都有,所以对于我来说是非常难得的机会,现在我就带大家体验把飞机开上天空的全过程。开飞机的地点就在塞班岛的机场,在签字完安全合同之后,就会拿到这张蓝色的等候牌,接下来就等待你的机长准备好了带你去飞机上。在等候室里看到这些螺旋喷气小飞机,起飞降落,岛上天气变换快,一会下雨一会晴天。而想到一会就要真正动手开飞机了,我的心情也像天气,起伏不定。

现在就跟我一起走到我们的飞机上吧。这里有好多型号,颜色不同的飞机,有的刚停下,有的正在check准备起飞,整个飞机场好像在进行飞机的展览。这架就是我要开的飞机了,蓝绿配色很酷,有点像Steemit的颜色。飞机不大,所以踩着飞机的机翼上飞机就好了。这位就是这架飞机的机长了,他在整个飞行过程中会指导我的操作,并保证飞机的安全。现在他正在给我讲解飞机仪表盘的注意事项和操作说明。以前经常在游戏和电影看到的仪表画面,但是亲眼看到,还是第一次,所以好激动,一时间快忘记听机长解释操作了。简单的说,我只负责地是握住操作杆左右拐弯,前后拉分别是机头上升和下降。看似简单,其实要控制好力度,让飞机飞得平稳也不容易。戴上耳麦,准备起飞。

飞机起飞的感觉实际上很刺激,就像坐过山车。听者螺旋桨加速的声音,加足马力,随之而来的是猛地一阵背推快感,飞机就这样冲破云层,飞向了广阔的天空。从飞机上拍到的画面,是不是让大家想到了很多战争电影里的场景。机长还会抓紧时机表演特技,飞机突然倾斜,毫无准备的我立刻贴紧靠椅,之后回味还是很刺激的。等飞机飞稳后,机长会比手势指挥你操作,也会从耳麦中跟你说话。亲手操作的感受真的很爽,你可以真实的感受到飞机在跟着你的动作而变换方向。看着塞班岛和军舰岛在眼皮下,享受到了非常辽阔的视野。晶莹剔透的海水,银白的沙滩和五彩缤纷的珊瑚礁,水和天连成一色。在阳光的折射下,海水呈现深浅的蓝色和绿色,好美。安全坐落后,机长颁发给我“驾驶证”留做纪念。这样我就从飞机驾驶学校毕业了。开个玩笑。希望大家喜欢我今天的开飞机体验,之后还有更多有趣的塞班岛故事要分享给大家。

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

wow what an awesome trip :-)
i have to admit i'm jealous right now
looking out for your next adventure
greets @chrisx

thanks chrisx, not all adventures will involve me flying, but they will be fun!

Adventures are the best source of learning <3

well said, and i agree :)

thank u :)
following u. would love to be followed back.

Must be an exciting experience flying in a propeller plane, i just had ones the option to fly in a sailing plane, what was definitely exciting...

what's a sailing plane?

Haha. Sorry, sometimes I am on kinda direct translation , mostly when I am in Germany. A glider is meant :-)

Thx for your sharing! I've never been to there, may I know how much money it takes for trying the plane? As it seems like a very cool experience XD. Waiting for more sharing from you for the trip!

You're welcome, I think it was about 200 usd.

What an amazing adventure. Awesome photos. We already follow you. Upvoted.

Thank you exploretraveler, as always, appreciate the vote and follow.

I have to say I love your outfit and the last photo! Great job as always!

Thank you ananuaremere, I was worried I might be underdressed for the occasion, the captain was in a lovely shirt looking great, and then there's me.. haha

haha! No worries, you look lovely! Somehow your outfit reminds me of a superhero :)

that's a very sexy bird out there! ^ ^
you're awesome pilot!

Thanks englishtchrivy, I knew i had a hidden talent somewhere..

How adventurous!!!!

You just keep raising the bar on posting! Nice share. I'll invite you to se may latest post, its about a dinner with the finalists chefs of TopChef Mexico. Maybe you like it.

Thank you, I really liked the food you posted, looks amazing. I now must depart and satisfy my hunger.

Thanks, next time i'll post in english :)

looking forward to it!

I read everyone of these. Beautiful destinations. I am 3 weeks in but getting big coverage on my travel blogs as well. My last travel blog was $340.00. I feel we both try to pull the reader into our travels. I hope you get a chance to follow through my journeys as I do you. Upvoted!

PS My wife is a flight attendant so this post is awesome. I want to take flying lessons!

thanks coinhawk, you're doing very well! Well done! I'll take a look at your stuff :)

That's great. I feel we build our posts in the same vein. I actually just posted my Vegas weekend about 20 minutes before your post. Thanks for replying. Super cool.

Fantastic! I really liked your post about Ohio, it's positive and alot of fun. Cheers :)

What an adventurous ride... amazing post, thanks for sharing @sweetsssj

Very adventurous indeed, thanks a bunch hms818!

@sweetsssj
I love airplanes and it looks like you had quite an adventure! Was it hard keeping your balance on the airplane wing? Great photos, I must say! Have a wonderful day! 😊

Upvoted

hey @breakingtonight , I always thought of airplanes as something to take me from a to b. It's a totally different experience when you're in a small one piloting it though. Balance is definitely something that doesn't feel natural. Pilots on passenger planes must feel so bored!

Hi @sweetsssj
I can certainly imagine that it must be quite an experience and you're right about pilots probably feeling bored when they're passengers. 😎
Have a great day!

nice post as always but what i love most this time are the breathtaking pictures, you sure did have some fun.

thank you, getting pictures from different angles and positions make for very interesting photography! Least not from up high in the sky on a plane!

Wow, I almost felt like I was on that magnificent experience with you.
The islands look amazing from the sky and yes could just imagine old fighter planes in a dog fight!
Wonderful writing and wonderful pictures.
Thank you!

That's the feel i'm going for! Thank you for enjoying it

I love how you you live life to the fullest. Not a day is wasted and everyday is something new. Small planes are so much more fun to be in, kind of shaky though :)

thanks yonny, I have bursts of activity, and then I rest for a bit and write about it.. Then I get the urge to go back out again and "live life to the fullest" again. Ah, a vicious cycle.

What an amazing adventure! Thank you so much as I felt as I was flying this plane vicariously through you! I'm now convinced that Steemit needs its own private plane!

Thank you, your idea is very good, perhaps a Steemit advert at a plane show!

Surely you dedicate this post with as perfect as possible because your post is very touch and useful for me. Thanks for sharing for all.

You're welcome, glad you enjoyed it!

wow - such great pictures! That water color is awesome!

You ever been in austria? I did a travel post today - maybe check it out!

I have to say, Saipan has some of the bluest waters I have ever seen. I've been to many blue water places too!

Sounds great - i hope i can visit such a place at anytime.

This post received a 31% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sweetsssj! For more information, click here!

Beauty & blue !! Yaa!

thanks!

Incredible voyage!

thank you brandonk!

Congratulations @sweetsssj!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 6 with 694 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 5 with 177 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 1309,94

What a fun trip! That looks incredible!

thank you!

It was a great journey, I really enjoyed this beautiful journey with you by your Amazing Photography...

thank you, i didn't use my slr for this one. But you probably guessed :)

Hafa Adai from Guam. Looks like a fun day. Lucky Captain lol.

Looks like you are ready for visiting Mars.

The Martian

Work hard play hard @sweetsssj keep steeming!!! I enjoy all your posts..thanks for sharing

Thank you charles! Really appreciate you following me so closely!

Am a big fan of your post...very beautiful and great stuff to read..keep it up

Thankyou for sharing its beautiful its paradise💜💜💜

it sure is!

Wow very beautiful view
i like it

Thank you! Stunning views indeed

Beautiful:)

Thanks! Stunning views from the sky!

beatiful

thank you emonandels

Great photos sweetssj.
Please check out my recent post as well.

Thanks sunil, lovely pics from up high!

Yes - you are looking really good.

Awesome...flying gives me goose bumps...I have student pilot license...have done around 32 hours of flying :)

Wow, nicely done vj! Do you intend on doing more hours?

Yeah...I will pursue it as a hobby

Congrats you made it ;-)

I'm alive! haha

SOO BEAUTIFUL!

thank you!

It's cool and amazing @sweetsssj!!! You write good post!

thanks bugavi!

13649255_304003039938928_380077163_n.jpg

cute cute and so cute!

Thank you..::))

I just took started taking pilot's lessons myself this year. Isn't it remarkable how even the slightest movements gives you instant, tactile feedback?

I was so surprised to feel the responsiveness. It's crazy how well these things handle and how sensitive they are to tiny movements.

Nice trip! The weather was so good!
How many days have you stayed at Saipan?

It can get a little temperamental sometimes, but overall very lovely weather!

Looks like a dream yet really scary at the same time X) Your so brave :D

I've been hearing a lot of that recently (me being brave). I never thought myself as a brave person before.. maybe it's starting to sprout in my late adolescence :D

That is the result of leaving our comfort zone, only good things can happen!

Great post, nice photos and I love seafood 👍👍👍

thanks! Check out my other post for the seafood

Wow, enjoy your travel @sweetsssj. Upvote and follow you

thanks crisgojar, welcome aboard!

Me and my wife travelling to australia this august😁😁😁

Great stuff!!!

looks amazing , would really love to travel to such a wonderful place soon !

Not out of reach, make it happen sir!

wonderful to see you that. Very exciting blog post.

Thanks very much, excitement brings a smile to everyone :D

I love to travel but I do hate flying and those two are not compatible :'( I want to take a course to learn everything I need to know about airplanes maybe it could help

Why do you hate flying? That certainly makes travelling very difficult!

Its an irrational fear about airplane crashes since one time I was flying and the turbulence was so terrible the pilot slow down the airplane to the minimum and we wait like 20 minutes on the air to land, the plane shake like a leaf on a tree, people were praying and shouting but the thing that scares me the most was this: The door of the cabin on an airplane suppose to be sealed and imposible to open from the outside ... Well I'm sure there most be something wrong with that door because it open due to the turbulence and we could see the pilot SMOKING and shaking in fear trying to land that plane ... Even that I still fly I've been to half of Europe and some Caribean Island I fly but in fear

I see, that can definitely cause aviophobia to many people. But thankfully it's not stopped you from enjoying travelling. Good for you!

I really think the only way to completely overcome this would be learning how to flight an Airplane and I will ... in fear of course but I will

Hi #sweetsssj, I'd like to ask. Is there a way you could resteem one of my posts? Or what should I do?

Thanks sssj

hi jassennessaj, I generally don't resteem posts too much because it makes going through my landing page some what difficult. Until the UI changes to accommodate / split resteems and blogs, i'll probably continue to just upvote content that I really like.

I see. Thanks for the reply sweetsssj, then I'll do my best to create content that you like to resteem one of my posts. Thank you, you're awesome!

When will you return to earth !!

Back! Just about..

There are 3 pages
Pages