360° Sea views

in #travel2 years ago (edited)

We are in the middle of the Baltic sea and strangely, the connection is sketchy. As such, uploading tgimese photos took a long time as it was, so I am bit going to add any more. Also, I will get to comments when I can, as I have already lost the first two due to no connection.

So far, the trip away had been pretty good and the passport task at the police station only took 3.5 hours to get the ball rolling.

While I don't think this is the best birthday in the world for my wife, it is better than doing nothing and she will get more related for it. A diamond ring that takes time to make, and a new kitchen. She can't really complain.

You'd think.

IMG_20220429_152821.jpg

Smallsteps didn't believe me when I said the ship was as large as a building and, even larger. It is not a bad boat, but none of these trip is what I would call pleasant. It isn't a cruise in the same way as most places and many people use it for drinking only. There were some very drunk people - and that was before we left the harbor.

It is strange when there are so many kids around - it is strange when their parents are very drunk.

IMG_20220429_212627.jpg

And yes, we have a rat in out room.

I was meant to pack Smallsteps' a soft toy but in the 6am morning rush, forgot. So, she got to get one from a shop here and she chose a rat. Its name is Riitta.

IMG_20220429_200142.jpg

This is a bit like a floating shopping center and there are several restaurants to choose from. It is expensive, but that is the price of being a captured audience.

Dinner was 140€!

Abd while decent, it definitely wasn't worth the price tag.

IMG_20220429_174925.jpg
But, it is nice to be away and not have to think too much about all the tasks waiting for us when we get back. At least for a couple days, the inky "work" I will be doing is a post or two a day, but that doesn't really count as work, does it.

They will be a bit shorter most likely as on my phone, it is a challenge. The post today was also on my phone and was +1200 words and it was a nightmare to write. Typing has been much harder after the stroke, typing on a phone even worse. But I manage.

IMG_20220429_203216.jpg

This trip was a last minute thing my wife booked and as such, we didn't get the best options, so our breakfast reservation is for 7 in the morning.

Like crazy people.

But, I have had 9 hours sleep over the last three nights, so after all of the waiting and then the 2 hours driving on top, as well as a heap of waking, I am knackered and will call it a night.

Maybe the gentle rocking of the boat will keep me asleep. Or perhsps it will be the dance music permeating through the floor from the nightclub below our room.

As long as there is some sleep somewhere.

Oh, I have my camera with me so tomorrow I will bust it out for photos around wherever we end up. Probably old town in Stockholm.

Stockholm was where we visited last time we travelled together as a family six years ago - but Smallsteps was still in the belly. It is a nice place to pick up where we left off and then start a fresh life of travel going forward.

Goodnight!

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I never understand those parents that get mad drink in front of their children. It's not a good thing, dicks.

typing on a phone even worse.

Have you tried the swipi typing. I use the Gboard keyboard and you can enable the glide typing in the settings. Once you get used to it you can fair rattle out the words. Of course, you have seen some of my weird typos. It does mean a decent proof reading! But it is good.

They should be arrested for child abuse.

I like the swype thing, but one of the other issues now is that the pattern for writing isn't easy, so I it takes longer and I get even more typos! It is a clevel app though.

Nothing beats a real keyboard in the end. Ah well, you did alright on the phone so far!

And yeah, they should

Lol, Reading that last comment made back... Not so well!

I brought my laptop, but the room is crowded and i can't be bothered tonight. :)

Yeah, get off the webs and back into boat life! :0)

Oh I must try that!

Drunken adults in front of kids not a good look. Have been guilty on occasion 🤪 but I can't say often.

It's good! Defo worth a whirl.

Nothing wrong with getting them down to sleep and getting a bit pie eyed right enough 😃

There is having a drink and there is fall down and pass-out... A glass of wine isn't an issue :)

It isn't a cruise in the same way as most places and many people use it for drinking only. There were some very drunk people - and that was before we left the harbor.

This is not appropriate for public, even where there are kids. I can't call this freedom. They are older and they should know that. There have to be a place like restaurant to drink.

It is also strange what their kids thought about the situation :|

There is drinking culture in the North where it isn't about having fun, it is about forgetting.

I wish you a deep and restful sleep. And a lovely getaway. Happy Birthday to your wife.

Thank you :)

I find Ecency better on the phone to do posts but it is a pain in the balls. Ughhhh trying to sleep on a ferry is a nightmare. Rather you than me mate.

Tried answering last night and had issues.

Haven't tried Ecency for a post yet I think. Is it what you normally use?

Nah I'm peakd through and through but I fond the ecency mobile platform great for notifications and actually searching for users/ posts. Plus ecency give you points as well to boost posts etc. Don't use it much but the points build up quite fast.

Enjoy your trip ;) You could try doing voice posts while away, to avoid typing. Or have us decode the post text itself visually, through cryptic pics?

I think there are so many typos in this is is already pretty cryptic!

I am pretty sure smallsteps will enjoy her trip and experiencing the adventure as well

Drinking in front of kids is crappy and wrong. I hope you three have had a great time, does smallsteps now know how big those ships can be?

I have tried to do posts on my phone before and they are a nighmare so cudos to you for typing 1200 words on your phone and then having the bravery to post it on a sketchy connection. You are far more courageous than I am.

Have a good time.

She was pretty impressed when she saw it for the first time, now she is looki g at the other ones we see and saying "they aren't that big" :D

I like a challenge :)

Awesome man, a cruise is a lot of fun! The rat is a funny choice but we let them roll with it don’t we lol.

Typing posts on a phone isn’t fun :D I did that for a while and at least switching your phone sideways makes it a little easier to manage.

Look forward to seeing some more cool pics!

Yeah, I don't mind her picking weird animals, and it was funny hearing her say after being told not to drag it around on the floor "I want a dirty rat"

Phones suck!

They will be a bit shorter most likely as on my phone, it is a challenge. The post today was also on my phone and was +1200 words and it was a nightmare to write. Typing has been much harder after the stroke, typing on a phone even worse. But I manage.

Type on the phone can really be very challenging, I can get distracted with calls sometimes and when I get back on my note the whole thing is gone lol it can be so frustrating.

Aw, love the photos. Must be nice to be away. Like things back to normal. Would you believe I had a pet rat once? Can't believe that in three years I haven't written about her on HIVE. Hooe you get a cracking sleep.

You get used to typing on your phone... I did it for nearly a month in Tassie bar a few drafts and scheduled posts. Predictive text became my best mate and I did change my sentences a little if a word popped up that did the job 😂

Was thinking if they are a good pet and how hard they are to care for.

I have posted from the phone a bit before and used to sign off that it was from the phone to excuse the typos. Now it is much harder.

I was only 23 at the time so had lots of time to care for her. They are super smart and funny animals. They are pretty active at night so they need to be in a cage in the laundry or something if you want to sleep. Girl rats are better than boys I'm told. You spend a month keeping them close to your body and then they bond with you and always come back to you. I would keep Nimue under my clothes against my skin all the time and when she was out of the cage she'd run off, do her crazy gymnastics and run up to me again. She would sleep on my shoulder under my hair whilst I was driving. Loved her. She would compulsively collect things for her stash - receipts, apricot kernals, all kinds of things, and I'd see her dragging them across the floor, or find them when I was cleaning up. Often she would just run free over the house and when I came home she would be ECSTATIC,like a dog, to see me. She was one of a kind.

Stockholm is a very nice city.
I still remember spending a weekend there when I was 16 years old, sleeping at the boat youth hostel.
Have a great family weekend.

I like Sweden and swedes in general - they have unique way about them.

Ensure to have a good time...can't settle for less with the hefty price tags am seeing

Yeah, it is crazy! But she only turns older once, right?

Last-minute trips like this are always the best, because the experiences lived remain in the memory, an excellent trip and on a cruise, uff better. Happy birthday to your wife. Greetings 😊

Riitaa the Ratt...

That made me smile. ;-)

I never use anything except the Ecency mobile app. Started with it 5 years ago and probably wouldn't even be able to figure out how to do Hive without it!
When my MS is acting up I sometimes use speech to text. Although that gets me some crazy typos!

A cruise is on my bucket list. I hope you slept well. I am not as good writing on my phone as my tablet. You might try a smaller tablet which is easy to pack.