Only the shirt on the back

in #travel5 years ago

See that bag he is carrying in the picture? That is pretty much me at the moment. Except, it looks like he is wearing business attire, whereas all I have to my name is pair of track pants and a stinky T-shirt. My luggage didn't make it through the connection and got stuck in Copenhagen and at 8am tomorrow, I have a customer delivery. Bastards.

LRM_EXPORT_420212101620728_20191003_000919900.jpeg

After doing all the paperwork at the airport I finally got to the hotel and tried to get out into the city to a shop to find something to wear for tomorrow, I managed, pants, shirt, belt, deodorant and a toothbrush - but I have no shoes. So unless they manage to get the bag to me tonight, it looks like I am going to look "pretty good" other than the dirty old pair of Nikes I wore on the plane. At least I have a bit of an icebreaker to open the day. '

Damn. I have no hair stuff.

The hotel seems relatively good (for Germany) and the staff helpful and even offered to help me with my luggage before remembering that I had none with me.

Bastards.

It is all part of the travel experience though, but normally I am able to avoid it because my trips are generally a day or so shorter. This time since I am here the entire week, I decided to take a slightly larger suitcase and check it in because normally it is very squeezy with my camera, the candy I buy for colleagues and of course, the gifts I take home to my wife and daughter. Carry on only fits so much and even though I pack light, there is still a fair bit to carry.

I also didn't have to worry about liquids at the security check and getting "randomly" searched for explosives or even better, the full check of the luggage. The rule of thumb is, don't stand behind me in the queue if you are in a rush. In all fairness though, the random searches that used to be randomly every time, are less frequent now.

The most annoying thing (other than having to buy a new set of clothes and still not find shoes) is that this was meant to be my "night off" here, which meant the plan was to go and have a meal, take some shots with my camera (it is in the suitcase) and write a little at a bar with a glass of wine or gin tonic. I still plan on doing most of that, at least the drinking part.

I don't drink much, especially alone, but it doesn't feel right to be in a new city and not enjoy a glass of something and some good food and since I haven't had a chance to eat for about 12 hours now, I think the food will have to go in before the drink.

So far, this is the only half decent photo I gave myself time to take:

LRM_EXPORT_435742468490735_20191021_195102618.jpeg

It was from the second floor and I just liked seeing all the books stacked up in the window. Not an overly practical bookshelf, but at least there is natural light. I am still pretty impressed with the quality of camera this phone has.

Now though, I am going to have a very quick shower and put back on the sweaty, T-shirt I have that will hopefully not get me kicked out of a restaurant due to the smell. I am guessing I will have to eat something like Schnitzel and drink some local rotwein and luckily, unlike Belgrade, the hotel is only a couple minute walk from the eateries so I won't have to worry about taxis.

Work trips are fun.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Sort:  

... and even offered to help me with my luggage before remembering that I had none with me.

Oh yes please, oh....

That is a pain in the arse but I think you have made a more than reasonable effort in getting all the attire bar footwear.

Enjoy your night off, go steady on the steins!

Almost 9pm and haven't eaten yet. Sitting in a restaurant though. This place (Duesseldorf) is packed with people for a Monday night. There are lines to restaurants... Weird. I am used to most things being closed on Monday :D

Well at least they let you in with the trainers and sweat(y) shirt :)

I think they are regretting it now as the place empties. It was a pretty good steak though.

Wine doesn't count as a drink so fire away! :0D

It does count as a drink. A lady's drink.

Then let's be ladies and drink them like there is no Nike tomorrow!

Then let's be ladies
And drink them like there is no
Nike tomorrow!

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Haiku that one!

Uh-oh! Well, you are certainly good at making do in a pinch. In other good news, you can reconnect with your resourceful side. Hopefully your luggage is only on a temporary side mission (not lost for good) so you can at least get your camera back!

I will be pretty happy if it gets lost, I could do with a new camera ;)

It definitely makes for an interesting lead in tfor the next three days of training though. I was joking with colleagues the other day that I seem to be cursed as a trainer as I get many strange and difficult cases with clients. All part of the fun though.

That’s good that you won’t mind if it’s lost! Well then I hope someone steals the camera but you get the bag and the clothes back! 😁

It will just mean that I have to shop more tomorrow evening. I don't mind shopping when someone else is footing the bill. I hope they are footing the bill.

Oh Memories.

I flew into Chicago landed at 12 Midnight. I had to be at a large hospital system's executive offices in the morning to give a lecture on the revenue cycle of a patient to Hospital CEOs. (Very formal Profession)

Since my luggage did not arrive and there was no chance to purchase any clothing, I had to deliver my big speech in a fushia sweatsuit and sandals. :)

Actually it worked out that it was great ice breaker and made the whole experience more fun.

After that though, I was much more careful about what I wore on the plane and carried in my over night bag.

I have a feeling you will also be great at accepting whatever life gives you and improvising.

It is pretty crazy that the only thing you could borrow from someone was a fuschia sweatsuit. ;D

I hope it was a Juicy Couture velour one.

Pity it was Chicago, If you had flown into Miami, you would have blended right in. Perhaps even been overdressed.

I used to be more careful and normally only have carry on, guess I will need to fly like a tight ass again.