Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Silly Me' (Part #252)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

'Silly me'

crta.png

I am about to sit on the bike and ride off, as I hear sounds coming from the other side of the road. I take my helmet off to take a closer look. The wooden stable is full of sheep. They are wearing their thick wool and slowly chewing hay.

There are younglings among them. They observe my moves carefully, as I silently come as close as I can. The older sheep don't mind me much. They continue eating their lunch and let me take a few photographs. I find these bunch really friendly.

I don't know almost anything about sheep, except that they are being shaved for wool. Looking at them up close, they are anything but cold in that thick sweaters they're wearing. Wonder if they feel cold when completely shaved in the summers. They must be used to wearing all this wool. Removing it must come off as a shock, at least.

As I watch them eat peacefully, somehow I doubt that 'they are too hot and we need to cut their fur' is really true. If they are really overheating in the summers, why did nature make it so? Would they survive this long as species if they were dying of heat every summer? It's probably just another 'rational' excuse for making money on animals.

People are good at finding excuses for doing whatever they want to do. Cutting sheep is not the worst thing, of course. Killing whales, elephants, rhinos, bears and everything else, under some false pretence, is what defines the part of humanity that never evolved. Trophy kills are the worst. I really disapprove beautiful animals being slaughtered for some moron's facebook ego trip.

But, such are the ways of the world. We could change that if we really wanted. But wait... I forgot that there are parts of the world where we are still discussing if teachers should carry guns and if lunatics are allowed to buy weapons whenever they please. Silly me...

Hay anyone, perhaps? :D



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great thought! I wonder if there's a way to half-shave or trim sheeps' wool in order to reduce shock.

Well done, beautiful story
For more creative guys
Great post

I've been spending my childhood among goats, buffaloes, hens and sheep. So, I can relate how good it feels. Thank You! Great post!

so am I.. I spending my chilhood with goats. every afternoon I have to find banana skin for goat food

they are beautiful, and the tiny one was cuter :p
AS far as their wool concern?
God never made anything useless,
I don't why people cut that wool.
Maybe for their own sake,
Their wool is just a blessing for them,
it protects them from the cold winter.

you are right, it a very beautiful creature of God <3

I enjoyed scrolling down and seeing each new part of your adventure...almost like I went on the walk with you! Keep up the great work! Beautiful travel photos!!@resteemed

Man your travel diaries are amazing. Literally loved it. Following you since i joined steemit.Nicely described with awesome photos.@upvoted

Yes, shaving is more human excuse than need of sheeps. But like you said, shaving was once of use to humans, today is for the profit, still use of it but that is arguable today...nice story btw 😁

Awww! Such a beautiful creature of God.
do you know The birth weight for lambs may range from 5 to 8 pounds. ...
How small they are when they born.

Really this is awesome photography . Day by day i am fascinating seeing your creativity . Your travel by motor bike is touching for me.
Because i thought some memory in my heart with motor bike.

SHow me your bike

Sometimes people are really amazing. Have you ever heard of a sacrificial feast? religious holidays in Turkey. people are cutting the sheep so that you will be devoted to God. And almost everybody is killing the sheep that day. It's a terrible belief. unfortunately I want to leave the country in such a time. it is very optimistic to cut the wool of the sheep :)

lucky gods... if they need a dead sheep to be happy...

ah this is really, absurd: D

cute sheep and your bike.

those simple animals. you turned it into art. nice.

The motorcycle travel sounds a little interesting to me.

Aww the animals are so cute! Aww really made me smile. Thanks

I've been spending my childhood among goats, buffaloes, hens and sheep. So, I can relate how good it feels. Thank You!


4869059_thumb.jpg

Very nice goats and I thing you have a very nice trip

oww beautiful photography
nice place

U5dtqipBA5aYBGoo26fkY1igJDW51nf_1680x8400.jpg

nowadays humans have loss the importance who will care about animals!
with your travel diaries you highlight different issues and challanges all over the world

I appreciate your traveling .
Best of luck .

Hi @velimir, You did a great job by bringing these clicks of sheep. However, what I really missed is a panoramic photo. Do you have one?

This is a great one! Thank you :)

Their Milk is one of the best and healthiest, highly recommended though, cool that you being different aspects of life with your motor diaries :)

From where I stand the sheep stand still
As stones against the stony hill.

The stones are gray
And so are they.

And both are weatherworn and round,
Leading the eye back to the ground.

Two mingled flocks -
The sheep, the rocks.

And still no sheep stirs from its place
Or lifts its Babylonian face.
(Robert Francis)


Great post!

Indeed, shaving is more human reason than need of sheeps. However, similar to you stated, shaving was once of utilization to people, today is for the benefit, still utilization of it yet that is questionable today. Their Milk is truly outstanding and most advantageous, profoundly prescribed however, cool that you being distinctive parts of existence with your engine journals

I share your beliefs when you said it is probably another way to justify us making money. What proof is there that they are actually suffering from heat.

We, humans, are always trying to have our ways but then again the wool away from the sheeps doesn't really cause harm to them. Or does it?

The meaning of travel is that you can see a lot of different scenery

I shot this on my way this morningIMG_20180227_093140.jpg

I remembered when I visited a village. My granny has goats and not sheeps thia time. I love to get foos for them and watch them eat. The process would amuse you and you'd smile. Those genuine smile nothing can beats.

Awwwww this is so cute! It reminds me of my little village. Spending my days there was so quiet and peacefull.

I totally agree about the trophy hunters.. They all should be banned.. As for the sheep.. I bet more then anything, they feel very light when they are shaved. That wool must weigh a lot. Thanks for sharing your journey .. Looked like fun day riding

Milagro de Dios, recuerdo mi niñez, cuando alimentaba a esos animales tan tiernos, adoro todas esas cosas, exelente post.

@velimir awesome post and very nice click sheeps.i love bike riding and some time when i was go on bike in my village side i see like that cow goats and bafflaos.thanks for sharing you ride story.after read and see sheep picture i remember my old days .

Silly but open insight :)
thank you, the trip that made me think how the sheep can survive in the summer. hehehe think of himself, in summer wearing sweater clothes in summer.
Yea, my brother. we can not imagine how teachers should carry guns and if lunatics are allowed to buy weapons whenever they please.
thanks

I can relate how good it feels........ Thank You! Great post !!!!

1431916755395.jpg

Goods Your photo@velimir

This post has received a 100% upvote from @zerotoherobot thanks to @zerotoherobot!

@zerotoherobot strives to climb from the bottom to the top, hence zero to hero. Just send the specified amount on the bot's profile page and receive an instant 100% upvote.


Current steem power of the bot
15.689 SP

Current specified amount to send
0.001 STEEM/SBD

If you're interested click here.

Lol i enjoyed ur post a lot.keep posting.happy steemit

very good traveling and wondarful photography....i love this post....
thanks for share...
dear lovely friend @velimir...
i just #Resteem your post....

Man has a thousand ways to achieve what he wants. though it sacrifices the other. but there are also human beings in a polite way. they extinct the animals well for example when slaughtering animals with a sharp knife.

If we talk about the sheep, surely we will not be separated from the component parts of the body of this one sheep, the feathers. Do you know, is it a union for you sheep breeders to shave your sheep. Why should be shaved? What is in the fleece? It may sometimes cross your mind to such questions.

Therefore this time we will give 5 steps to shear sheep good and true, but before there is what it is and also dear affection you have to shave your sheep, there is also reason.

Sheep who have never shaved their feathers, bulletins that are never bathed, in addition to fur coats are also sticky, dirty and moist. Fur conditions like this is a good place to nest germs, parasites and fungi that can interfere with the health of livestock. Shaved sheep, clean fur, not dirty, fur no tack, livestock, livestock will not experience stress, livestock will be healthy because there is nothing to nest the seeds of disease.

Feather on sheep is an insulation that can inhibit body heat through the skin, shaving feathers can reduce insulation, thereby facilitating the body heat through the evaporation of water and surface radiation of the skin easier to do, it will reduce stress. Stressful cattle will experience energy shortages due to decreased consumption of food, therefore with periodic feather shrimp will be able to avoid the stress.

The featherweight is done 3-6 months once. Shaving can be done seasonally 1 to 2 times in females, whereas males are done every 3 to 4 months because the males should always mate and if the hair is long will interfere with marital activity, also reduce the beauty. The first measuring was done when sheep were more than 6 months old to keep the sheep from stress.

I just love the lambs. Only thing cuter is little pigs.

Trophy kills make me crazy. I hunted and ate what I killed as a young man. I loved the 'being out' part of it. But one day I quit. My dog never forgave me...

I can't even rationally discuss our gun policy. I own a couple of guns, and am very well schooled in their use and abuse. I can't believe you can sell something that deadly to just anybody. Sigh. It will change one day, but I don't think I'll live to see it. It just stinks. All of it.

@velimir I love the way you travel and you want to explore everything by your photography. Keep this up. Becuase we want to hear from you. Your experience and your passion.

You traveling Scotland or what?

Nice traveling..go go go go go

If i wana ride one your bi? @velimir what you think

wow too fun

Hello @velimir
You are right, there are people who, for the sake of satisfying their EGO, are ready to kill those who are weaker than them. They justify it that for a very long time people have been hunters. But it was a long time ago and now there is no need to behave like a caveman.
But nevertheless there are worse things. Yes, those recent events that occurred in the US are simply terrible. People with a sick head freely receive weapons and shoot peaceful people. Any offended schoolboy can get weapons and shoot his classmates. It is unacceptable. I hope that they will solve this problem.,
Did you read about the sheep that ran away? In Australia (2015 if I'm not mistaken) the sheep fled. It was found by chance and on it was 47 centimeters of wool. She was not sheared for 5 years. She was cut off 40 kilograms of wool.
24094306.jpg

Have a nice day

This is indeed awesome

There are 2 pages
Pages