Travel Pro Health #9: Lemon Grass from the Markets in Chiang Mai Thailand

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my steemit friends! If you've been following my blog you already know that while in Chiang Mai I made a major score on natural health supplements. While wandering through the markets I found all sorts of great powdered herbs and spices all with their own special health benefit. Here's a few photos of the markets to give you an idea of where I found this stuff in Chiang Mai Thailand.

!

This package here only cost me about sixty cents. I also got 2,000 empty capsules to fill with my supplements for about eight dollars. After purchasing this I spent a couple hours listening to some crypto currency podcasts while filling capsules. You can see below it's a bit of a process. Fortunately I had some tweezers to help me get the job done, grabbing the capsules and scooping up the lemon grass powder with them.

This is the last post on what I put in these capsules. In total I filled capsules with turmeric, ginger, kaffir lime leaf power, Thai ginseng, butterfly pea flower, saffron, and cinnamon. Along with vitamin C, I've been taking these supplements every morning since my time in Chiang Mai and I feel my health is in tip-top condition!

What are the benefits of Lemongrass?

It helps digestion by killing off bad bacteria and parasites allowing for good bacteria to repopulate the digestive tract and colon. This makes it great for those suffering from Candida overgrowth; studies have shown that includes about 90% of United States population and most don't even know it!

Lemon Grass is good for your cholesterol and help prevent atherosclerotic plaque buildup which leads to heart attack. It cleanses and detoxifies the entire body, especially the liver, kidneys, bladder, and pancreas.

Lemongrass is great for preventing and treating cold and flue. Since taking this stuff I've had neither. Not only does it naturally break down mucus and phlegm build up it also is loaded with vitamin C.

Lemongrass is anti-cancer and contains a cancer killing compound called citral. In scientific studies citral has actually been proven that it causes cancer cell "apoptosis" or in normal English is causes them to commit suicide!

No wonder the cancer rate in Thailand is about 25% of that in the United States. Their diet is full of this stuff. I'd go as far as to bet it's even much less than that statistic. Almost everyone here simply looks thin, healthy, and live active lives.

Lemongrass is also anti-inflammatory aiding in a host of inflammation related illness from brain fog to arthritis. I'm sure there are many other benefits from this super herb, but you're gonna have to do your own research to find out more! Until next time- Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #41: New Year's Eve in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two (15 photos)

Travel Pro Gear #2: Five Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro! Part One

Real Life Captured #37: Santa Clara Market Quito Ecuador! Part Two (10 photos)

Real Life Captured #40: Buddhist Temples of Chiang Mai Thailand and Historic Summary of the City! (14 photos)

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 18.790211 lat 99.000463 long d3scr

Sort:  

Wow ! another great post from the markets @world-travel-pro ! I never tire of seeing how cool they look in Thialand and the things they eat !! Thanks for the info on the Lemon Grass , I could use some of that stuff , and those awesome capsules you make and take lol! Like i said before , you have start selling these some how lol and make the whole world healthy !! Steem On my friend !! Upped and resteemed !👍👍👍😊

Karn you are simply Awesome. Yes I'm not sure what is bigger trip...these markets with the pig heads or the fact that I'm an American wandering around there with empty capsules to fill! So glad you have been enjoying my work, and thing enough of it resteem often. What a compliment! And you just wait. I've got some incredible photos of the open air market right down the street from where I'm now in Guayaquil Ecuador. Including men hauling around 100 lb slabs of meat, like half a cow or more. That's a real trip too! I'll be in touch! -Dan

Hahah sounds pretty good ! ooking forward to it ! and thanks for your kind reply !😀👍👍👍✌

Im back to Also up vote and resteem to share with my foodie followers in my @momskitchen blog !! 👍👍👍😊

very nice and very informative post. i followed you because u always share valuable content,keep sharing such posts.very good

Thank you! So happy you have found my blog interesting, valuable, and informative. Thank you so much for the nice compliments. Have a great weekend! -Dan

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-health-9-lemon-grass-from-the-markets-in-chiang-mai-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

good and useful information, hopefully your holiday is fun and good work, greeting friendship

It's not a holiday. It's my life :) Been traveling for over 11 years now. Thanks for following along and so glad you enjoy my work. Have a great day! -Dan

Excelente. Siempre es bueno aprender algo y sobre todo si es para la salud. Interesante las propiedades del lemon grass. Keep up the good work!!

Gracias Jose. Me hace felice para saber q te gusta que estoy haciendo aqui en steemit. Que Bueno y que tengas un buen fin de semana! Chow :) - Daniel

Oh goodness, is that a pig's head?

For sale! Interested? I was also stunned by this view. Why do they sell heads?

I does shocked me a little but since my curiosity is stronger I've did some research... Seems that there are recipes where you can use it! For your own sake please do not google images yourself :/

Thanks for warning. As long as I don't prepare magical elixir with mice's moustache and these things, I won't need it.

yes it is ! xD most asian countries cook the head and they even sell the tails internal organs and feet so nothing is wasted.

Interesting conversation I see here on my post. So happy I sparked some interest. Yes like @nessyquel stated they don't let anything go to waste in Asian. If prepared correctly pigs face is quite delicious. My favorite part is the meat in the Jowel area. It's fatty and tender. Yum. Looks much better prepared than attached to the head on the table! lol.

Funny I've got used to seeing such things over my 11+ years of travel it no longer phases me. When I go back the US, I get a feeling of disconnectedness from my food as everything is perfectly prepared and put under plastic. No pig heads for sale at the local Walmart! lol That's for sure. Thanks for starting such a great conversation on my post, and glad to see you enjoying my blog! -Dan

Indeed thank you for sharing your experiences with us! And yes, to be honest it is much easier to eat something when it is aesthetically prepared and you do not think to who is was attached to.

I like especially the first part of the post, which is basically introduction to Thailand open markets. Listing benefits is useful, but most natural and similar products share the same benefits, so only people suffering from something will use it.

Thanks for your great comments and participation in my post. In it's own right, this is a very good compliment and motivation to keep up my blog and continue producing interesting posts like this one. I agree with your statements as well. Hope you are having a great start to your new year! -Dan

Very cool post)
Thank you for that you give a chance to know something new))

Never stop learning! This philosophy has had me traveling for over 11 years now. Greatest gift in life is knowledge, and maybe a huge pile of cash! lol

So glad you are enjoying my blog. Hope to see you again soon! -Dan

yeyyyy! as always learned another useful health benefits from you, im gonna surely pay more attention to the lemon grass we have outside but i wish i could get it in powder form

Thank you so much. And your comment in the conversation regarding the pigs head is spot on. Thank you so much for following a long and enjoy the info I share. Have a great weekend! -Dan