The Human Kindness Project – Canada – Is anything really for free these days?

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

FUD

a term I had never heard of before I started making my way through the crypto-sphere. Fear. Uncertainty. Doubt. Now that I know the term, it comes up in my head quite a lot lately, especially when I look at the news on TV or hear it on the radio. Most of the times it seems like the whole world is falling apart and everything is going wrong. Or at least that’s what the media is making you see and listen to, over and over again. It isn’t that weird that most people start taking this so called truth for reality and are becoming so brainwashed that they turn this into their own truth, into how they think the world operates.

Today’s story is all about the complete opposite and about trying to change that narrow viewpoint.

antifudcampaign.png

As some of you might know, at the moment we are traveling around BC in Canada for a month in a van that has been converted to a small RV. That in itself might not seem so special, but wait until you hear how we got this vehicle.

canada.jpg

It all started with a post on Instagram (also known as that prehistoric social media channel) a couple of months ago. My girlfriend Val wanted to take me to Canada for a while now and we just never seemed to have the right budget to do it properly, so I told her why don’t we put a post on our Instagram account and ask our followers if anyone knows anyone that might know someone who is willing to rent out their RV for a not-so-crazy amount of money. The same day we got a reply from the account thislifetothenext saying that he could probably miss his van for a month, no problem. We asked him, ok and what do you want for it? He replied by saying he did not want anything at all in return. That’s right! He was willing to lend his van out to complete strangers just because it felt right to him.

But wait, the story gets even better; Alexander, the owner of the van, told us he would drive from Seattle to Vancouver (an almost 3 hour drive) to come and pick us up at the airport and hand the van over to us in person. How do you get back then, we asked. Ah don’t worry; I’ll take the train back, he said. Wait a minute? What?? Is he serious? This guy is even going to personally hand over his van and will take care of his own transport back and still wants nothing in return?

Well, that was the ultimate sign for us to go online and find the cheapest possible flights from Europe to Canada.

I never really doubted the whole thing, but once we were in the air flying to Canada a couple of weeks ago we did ask each other; what if this is a hoax and he is not there when we land? We both said: oh, it will be ok… And if he is not there we’ll find another solution. Luckily it didn’t come that far and what’s even better, is that he is going to be at the airport next Friday when we fly back!

canada2.jpg

So crazy and we can’t thank him enough for letting us use his van for this amazing 6000km roadtrip! It has allowed us to see beautiful spots and meet many amazing people. Your karma point have been maxed out I am sure! I will write a separate post soon about the whole trip :)

The Human kindness project

I have traveled to over more than 40 countries worldwide and talked to people from at least 50 different countries these past ten years. Each and every one of them had more than one story to tell that always came down to a random act of human kindness #RAK. For me, in every day life this is the exact opposite of FUD.

canada3.jpg

And now it is up to you!

Let the world know that no matter where you come from, you can come up with a story that shows how kind a human can be. Write a post about something kind that you experienced in your life lately. Tag it with #RAK (Random Acts of Kindness) and I will upvote it personally and hopefully a lot of others will follow.

To spread the word and qualify:

Start your title of the post with: The Human Kindness Project – Country (where did it happen?) – Title (short description). Please document with a couple of photos (they don’t have to be professional at all) and if you really can’t, that’s fine as well.

Lets make the #RAK tag a trending tag on Steemit.

Imagine this as the biggest anti-FUD campaign ever and show what we are capable of as humans!

All the best!

PS: As a test and to see how many people read the end of a post I’ll be giving away 5 booster packs from @steemmonsters to the first five people who comment on this post with a link to their #RAK post on their Steemit/steempeak/busy account. If you don't what the monsters are all about, just check out their account. It is going to be insane!

Sort:  

Giving away and not asking for anything in return is so generous act and I admit that I rarely seen that kind of act lately.

#RAK is really anti- FUD campaign and if we can bring this to trending it will be great and your bringing positive vibes to the community. Humanity is still not losing in this world and hopefully this page will be full of random act of kindness! great read, I follow you from now on

What a nice cause!

Thanks, now we need some people posting RAKs on steemit :)

I make the start today with a resteem ;-)

Hey glad to see your posting and am looking forward to more about your trip @toocurious,
Oh the memories I'm still trying to let go of.
FISH ON ohhhhhhhhh FISH OFF, LOL
FishSlap-gifmaker.gif
CHEERS #RAK
YOU GET AN UPVOTE
Cliff balloon pic.jpg

Beautiful .. wonderful pictures of you
Nice good experience for you, well done
Thanks for the post..

This is a great idea and campaign, I will support #RAK and use the hashtag

I love the amazing adventurous spirit, keep spreading the word :)

Wow! This is so inspiring. I’m sure there have been some small cases of #RAK in my life... I’ve noticed that recently waiters and shop assistants here in Thailand had been giving me small discounts, just randomly for no reason 😁
Anyway, your story inspires me not just to look for acts of kindness from other people but to perform them myself. What if each of us performed one, however small or big, #RAK every single day? Because why not?! 😊🙌🏽
Thank you for sharing this, I’ll definitely follow you! 🙏🏼

I sincerely needed to read this. I just went on a rant about some very disturbing realities we are all facing. Only... the way to fight hate is through love. Not ranting. Thank you for reminding me!

What an awesome guy, letting you use his van! I agree that the media makes everyone think the world is falling apart at the seams because things are horrific. The reality is much the opposite for so many people. Thanks for sharing your experience and the beautiful photos! I might put something together for the RAK but I will try to promote the tag!

Thanks man, really appreciate that comment. And I hope you come up with a good RAK to share :)

I'm not even entirely sure how I ended up on your page, but it's a beautiful story and proof positive that "goodness" still exists in the world.

As I read this, something came to mind... and it pokes at the edges of how the world works. Perhaps. Consider that FUD really occurs as a type of "groupthink." We hear about it because it's a "collective" energy. It's like a bucket of sand. RAK, on the other hand, is a bunch of individual acts. It's each individual grain of sand, uniquely described.

I understand why I was to see this post... I just finished writing my own post about a random kindness in which someone I don't even know or follow delegated me Steempower. For no reason. Just a RAK. Whether my post is the first five or not isn't important; I didn't even know about this when I wrote it, and I didn't use #rak as a tag. What matters is the synchronicity of these kindnesses happening.

Hope that makes sense!

Have a beautiful day!

=^..^=

Well that is nicely put! Maybe if we get enough single sand grains we can get to fill a bucket and change the mind of the group ;)

That sounds awesome - perhaps times are changing? Everywhere? Let's go for it - i like your post! I like synchronicity and happening - that's the (new) way! Have a nice day too.

Great post! I also feel that the media these days spreads so much negativity and bad vibes! It's not just the news that is usually so very depressive and negative, even the soap operas (at least in India) are so very negative that I usually find them very repulsive! They almost make you feel as if there is no goodness and kindness left in the world - too much of FUD! So, I definitely like the idea of #RAK. Hope to hear more such stories of kindness and positivity!

This is an awesome development and it deserves a great boost. I'm glad I read to the end. Someone said to me, that no one does things which wouldn't benefit them, I believe arguments wouldn't convince that class of persons but an experience of Random acts of Kindness (RAK). I'm a supporter of this movement,
Kudos to the initiators of it!

Thank you @toocurious ! Wish my husband would have proposed me to me nomads too an year ago when we had nowhere to stay and separate.. I hope RAK will go long way!

https://steemit.com/esteem/@sunnyali/the-human-kindness-project-romania-happy-day-of-my-son-s-birthday-but-missing-our-daughter-and-sister-c626ae2405e92

Hi Sunnyali, thank you for your kindness towards me. I really appreciate that!

I can smell a positive vibration through your post. Lets spread kindness among mankind with love and purity.

It is a good step for doing the best campaign. I do support you and i will use the hastag #RAK
May God always gives easiness for this campaign :) :)

The Human Kindness Project is very important and helpful...

Get a discount on flights here ! http://www.dpbolvw.net/click-8752244-12880767

If you want to learn about Digital marketing or cryptocurrency trading check out my website http://satoshipapi.io

Friends who like Chinese food look here, there are Chinese most authentic local snacks and homemade recipes tutorials, selfless sharing, Come and see!
6bb34605gy1fsbnn99leej20cd0dmjur.jpg

Beautiful photos, canada is wonderful

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I will write a seperate post soon about the whole trip :).
It should be separate instead of seperate.

This is the first post of yours im reading. Best. thanks.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 2 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

This post received 7.13 SBD upvote from @tipU funded by @sunnyali | @toocurious now has a chance to win free @steembasicincome share :) | @tipU voting service quick guide.

The tip was by mistake because I put only the title in memo..not the whole link..can it be re-done or voted with 14 sbd or something the true link to the post? I mean this one https://steemit.com/esteem/@sunnyali/happy-day-of-my-son-s-birthday-but-missing-our-daughter-and-sister-c626ae2405e92

Please try to send 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: withdraw

I just want upvotes of 14 sbd on my post as I wanted to bring more exposure for my son's birthday and friends who contributed..that's why I send 7 sbd to @tipu ..

Will handle this, need to check if the post is not too old :)

Thank you:), is not. In 2-3 hours will have 24 hours since it was posted.

What went wrong here? You wanted to upvote your post and by accident upvote mine? How much was it, I can sent it to your wallet :)

It doesn.t work because if you see up, tipu thought I'm giving to this post 7 sbd for upvote because I had put only the title in memo....not the entire link

Hi @sunnyali - can you show me the transfer you are referring to? I'm checking your wallet but can't find the transfer to @tipU. The last one was upvote to:
https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@toocurious/the-human-kindness-project-canada-is-anything-really-for-free-these-days

Yes, that one I did by mistake and @toocurious was so great to transfer back 4 sbd I first sended, even with a hand of help of adding till 4 steem transfer they did :)!

Really enjoying away from the city life

@toocurious , please be kind to verify your wallet and message, thank you!

tulisan yang sangat bagus, saya suka ini

I think this is a great idea!!!

Stumbled on this post and its so making sense, a world without kindness would be worse than the Hobbesian state of nature, kindness encompasses all bitterness, it saves life and elevates spirit. For a better world, be kind!
#RAK

You are a lucky man jajaja wow was a amazing adventure for you congrats friend and good luck in the next trip jejeje

Congratulations @toocurious!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 3 with $ 625,92

True. We're too worried about not making enough money we'll need to buy crap we don't really need.

I will use the hashtag on Instagram also to help

Got stuck on the road one day, night gradually coming, no hope of getting to my destination, suddenly a military guy showed up in his hilux van, he beckoned on us to get in, we got in and he drove us to our destination, he didn't take a dime from us. What an act of kindness.
#RAK

Definitely the kind of story I am looking for. Great RAK!!!

You got a 15.15% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @toocurious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Nice. BC is the best province, keep an eye out for bigfoot

These type of cause should be prompted to get awareness globally # RAK

This is great idea my friend.I am reading your post my friend but I loved it. I am going to support your idea and also will go to your account and read each and every post. Thanks for sharing this.

Wow what an adventure Canada must have been!
I can tell you even on the other side of the planet in New Zealand they have the same kind of kindness. You call it #RAK I call it unbelievable 😉

I wrote about our airbnb hostess that didn't want to have any money from us and the same evening the guy that arranged I could go surfing the other day!: https://steemit.com/travel/@guchtere/5k7788vl

Last week with the #7daypositivitychallenge I wrote about two people one with his hands full the other one walked by and returned and did press for the elevator on the button. Such a small gesture, but oh what a big pleasure for the other person! You can read it here: https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@guchtere/7-day-positivity-challenge-or-day-6-or-wear-a-smile-and-have-friends

Oh don't you just love all these positive stories about people? 😍

Now do I need to create a new post (as you mentioned) about these stories or can i simply react here by linking them? It's your call! 😀

Thanks for sharing, this is exactly what I mean! I feel to make it really take of you should write a separate post with the title being The human kindness project and posting it on #rak.
The more posts out there with this title, the more people will start thinking about it!

👌 Ok, gonna write a new post about it and post it with the #rak.
I'm gonna create a backlog with all those things I want to write about hehe 🤣

Wow - i like that idea very much!!!! We can make a difference and many people do so yet. At the moment i have not much time for writing a post - but i will - hopefully next week. Meanwhile i resteem your post on steemit - especially in the german section for i usually write in German ;-)

Good luck for #RAK

The whole concept of #RAK is flawless in today's scenario. Noone want to show kindness they just want to rule so what you are taking is a best message in mankind throughout your post
I really like your post and 100% support your post.
keep posting Act of RAK