Homestead Building Project Update ~ Shower Building and Cedar Floors 📷 [video inside]

in #video7 years ago

A Homestead Building Project


There are always projects going on at the homestead. We are a real working homestead meaning there is always something going on and projects underway. Today Tim is working on a future shower house for campers to use when they stay on our homestead in the fall. We usually get a pretty good crowd and we wanted to build a better showering facility for them when they are here.

Of course some of the building materials are those that we have harvested. Others are used materials that are reclaimed wood from old chicken barns in the area!

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


resteem.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

Hey Zac loved the video. I am new to Steemit because of you. I never did like interacting with people on youtube, you could say something nice to someone and 50 would nuts would come out and turn it all around and make sound like I was insulting them. I hope this place is different. As for the white Tshirts in the summer. I buy one size over, 4 pack pocket Ts in varying light colors at Wally World or as you say china mart. I usually get to wash them 3 times before they are completely ruined working in them. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for coming over. I think you will like the Steemit Community. Enjoy!

Steemit is better, period. I am already getting to the point where I see youtube as more of a place to just post my video so I can link them here. In under three weeks here, I have already earned more than twice what I do in a whole month on youtube - and I have been there for 10 months.

great video! that floor decking is beautiful - did you say it is cedar? i'm going to share this on my facebook page so my friends get to see what they are missing out on ;)

Its the best feeling keeping busy for no one but yourself!
I am currently building a cabin in Northern,MB CAN
You have alot of great posts, I am definitely gonna follow you :)
Have a great day sir.

I have an unrelated question. Where did you get the camera icon glyph for your titles? I've seen others using glyphs and am wondering if I'm missing some functionality here on Steemit or if that is coming from somewhere else?

I just found it online...I don't think its a feature here.

Thank you. It helps the title stand out.

Now that I've watched the video... Nice work! I like to wear white t-shirts too out when it's hot on the homestead. Which, in Texas, is pretty often :)

Excellent looking boards! What does Tim use to plane them?

I hate to keep repeating myself but your posts are great.

You mentioned cutting the Cedar with Your Sawmill so I thought I'd help your readers jump right to that post.

I think @papa-pepper had mentioned in one of his posts about his goats eating everything, including poison ivy.

Maybe a win-win?

There is a video on YouTube about a biodegradable formula that will kill Poison Ivy and Poison Oak, if I can find it I will shoot you the link.

Yes please share!

So what do you hate more goats or poison ivy? haha
Great work Tim!

Great video. As a beekeeper I wear white all the time. Well truth be told I wear whatever I have at the moment but I prefer the whites. As for the bees they tend only to be agitated by what the material is. knits for example you know the stuff on the back of the dipped glove. Is a guaranteed sting magnet. The white is for me way cooler on a hot day.

You need to have people out for a tour! I'd pay good money to see your place and learn from your experience. The only reason I got on steemit was to follow you and see what you don't put on the tube. Keep it up!

Love it. I built an outdoor shower that also had a dressing room with a bench. Didn't use cedar though and probably should have. Mine was very crude. I used 6 foot high fencing boards so it was open near the top. Painted 2- 55 gallon drums black for hot water. Worked pretty good for years. I'm sure yours will be awesome. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @mericanhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ticks also show up better on white, so you can pick them off if they are crawling on you before they bite. Of course you have guinea fowl so probably don't have ticks... beautiful cedar floor!

Nice post. It is nice to see what is going on there. But why no face guard when cutting wood?

I wear safety glasses and sometimes chaps. Just depends ehat the task is...but always safety glasses.

Finally made it over to steemit.......I can see youtube losing a lot of airtime.....:)

I'm spending way more time on here than facebook and youtube.

Very cool, I wish I lived close enough to you guys to come out an visit this fall. I have loved watching all of your vids over on youtube since your very first day and now i'm following you here!! Glad to see how well you all are doing out there. Keep it up!

Thanks for watching and stopping by to make a comment. Hope you will stick around a while and build up your account here. It's worth it.