Afternoon walk at IconSiam, เดินเล่นที่ไอคอนสยาม

in #wednesdaywalk4 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #wednesdaywalk hosted by @tattoodjay. We had public holiday quite often this month so I invited an old friend for a walk at IconSiam one afternoon. We were lucky as the weather was bright and sunny for a change. It was the first blue sky day after four days of rainy grey outlook. My old friend tended to be quite house bound and needed a change of atmosphere and vibes. She reluctantly agreed to join me in this outing by the river.

img_1053.jpg

This was my little way of paying back her kindness towards me while I was at college overseas. I rarely forget acts of kindness my friends had shown me in the past. Time flew by and people changed; some of my old friends have become billionaires and high society VIPs. So, these people have all that money could buy and have no time for ordinary friends. That’s quite normal in our social setting.

img_1056.jpg

But I could not help feeling quite sad when I happened to encounter old friend who used to be rising social butterfly turning into rather helpless older looking person. The negative and unexpected transformation really took me by surprise. This reminded me of uncertainty and unexpected turns in our life’s journey. So, under limited resources and conditions, I tried to make my senior friend more realistic and more prepared about the harsh reality in the near future. There were a few scams which robbed my friend of a large sum of money in recent past.

img_1058.jpg

The free boat ride to IconSiam was very pleasant and the afternoon sunshine boosted our immune systems and gave us more energy. The rhythms of the waves and breezy wind began to soothe my mind. There were very few people at IconSiam, the biggest shopping complex in Thailand, as Chinese tourists could not yet enter our country. We reckoned it would be till next year before tourism would be allowed to start up again.

img_1059.jpg

I was glad to see my friend began to enjoy the open space and atmosphere of fresh air with blue sky. This afternoon walk turned out to be very engaging as my friend started to be interested in new surrounding. We could see nice views of skyscrapers from the fourth floor courtyard. The Chao Phraya River with her powerful water flows continued to quietly support people’s life and livelihood. But most people have lost their spiritual connection with the river; water is just another resource for consumption.

img_1063.jpg

We walked for almost two hours both outside and inside the enormous shopping complex. Finally we chose to stay on the fourth floor courtyard, watching the blue sky, the crazy tall buildings across the river and the flowing river. The wind was exceptionally strong and cleansing, blowing away our fuzzy vibes with the torrents of wind.

img_1064.jpg

img_1066.jpg

Our mind had some pause and a quiet respite. My friend took lots of photos and made comments about IconSiam, not knowing that there was such a place for relaxation in a shopping complex. I boasted about last year’s Christmas lighting which was spectacular at night. How things have changed suddenly by the pandemic! But there is hope on the horizon so long as those politicians could restrain themselves from making bad decisions or creating obstacles to individuals’ effort in improving their situations.

img_1157.jpg

img_1158.jpg

img_1160.jpg

img_1163.jpg

I have noticed ordinary people’s will to survive this crisis and effort to make things better. The inner drive to thrive against all difficulties has become palpable lately. The general vibes have changed from gloomy helpless lethargy to more hopeful and active participation in living more intensely. There is so much untapped potential out there, we just need to input more positive vibes into this compassionate approach to nourishing life with lots of encouragement.

img_1161.jpg

img_1164.jpg

img_1165.jpg

เดือนนี้มีวันหยุดราชการหลายวัน เราจึงชวนเพื่อนรุ่นพี่ไปเดินเล่นที่ ไอคอนสยามริมแม่น้ำเจ้าพระยา เขาไม่รู้ว่าที่นั่นมีที่เหมาะสำหรับการพักผ่อนหย่อนใจสบายๆ เราก็ดีใจมากที่เขายอมไปด้วย เราอยากพาเพื่อนรุ่นพี่ที่เคยดีกับเรามาในสมัยเรายังเรียนหนังสืออยู่ต่างประเทศ ไปเดินเล่นเปลี่ยนบรรยาการ รับอากาศดีๆริมแม่น้ำและเดินเล่นดูวิวโดยไม่ต้องสิ้นเปลืองเงินมากมาย เราพาเขาไปขึ้นเรือโดยสารฟรีที่ท่าน้ำสาทร แดดยามบ่ายช่วยทำให้เรามีภูมิคุ้มกันที่ดีขึ้น เรานั่งเรือชมวิว รับลมและพลังจากแม่น้ำเจ้าพระยา ทำให้มีพลังมากขึ้นตลอดบ่ายเลย

img_1172.jpg

img_1173.jpg

img_1171.jpg

ที่ลานหน้าห้างไอคอนสยามก็ดูเดียวดาย เหงาหงอยพอสมควรเพราะไม่มีกลุ่มนักท่องเที่ยวจากจีนหรือยุโรปเลย พวกเราคิดว่า กว่าที่รัฐบาลจะปล่อยให้คนต่างชาติเข้ามาได้ก็คงเป็นต้นปีหน้า เราก็ฉวยโอกาสตอนนี้ไปเดินเยี่ยมชมวัดวาอาราม และสถานที่ท่องเที่ยวก่อนที่จะมีคนมาเที่ยวเหมือนสมัยก่อน เราพาเพื่อนเดินเล่นรอบๆลานหน้าห้าง เพื่อถ่ายรูปและดูวิวตึกระฟ้าฝั่งตรงข้ามแม่น้ำ แล้วพาเจ้าไปเดินในห้างชั้นใต้ดิน เพื่อไปดูการออกร้านผ้าไทย แบ้วต่อไปที่ดาดฟ้าที่ชั้นสี่ เพื่อออกไปเที่ยวตรงลานกว้างๆ เพื่อดูวิวแม่น้ำและนั่งเล่นชมวิวสบายๆ เพื่อนเราไม่รู้ว่าที่นี่มีลานให้คนมานั่งเล่นแบบนี้ด้วย ลมพัดเย็นสบาย มองวิวเรือแล่นไปมาและแสงสีทองตอนพระอาทิตย์ใกล้ตกดิน

img_1174.jpg

img_1177.jpg

ชีวิตคนเราเปลี่ยนแปลงไปตามกาลเวลา และสถานการณ์ที่ไม่แน่นอน เราเองก็ได้ผลกระทบจากเรื่องการหยุดงานและเศรษฐกิจของประเทศ ทำให้แผนการต้องเปลี่ยนไปหมด แต่โชคดีที่พอมีอะไรไว้เพื่อให้อยู่รอดได้จนกว่า ทุกอย่างจะคลี่คลายในทางที่ดีขึ้น เพื่อนของเราก็โดนลดวันทำงานเช่นคนอื่นๆ เพื่อนรุ่นพี่บางคนกลายเป็นนักธุรกิจพันล้าน มีชื่อเสียงคนรู้จักมากมาย ส่วนเราเองก็สมถะเหมือนเดิม เพราะไม่ค่อยชอบแข่งขัน หรือเข้าหานักการเมืองเหมือนเพื่อนบางคน หลายคนหาว่าเราโง่ที่ไม่ฉวยโอกาสดีๆหลายครั้ง แต่เราคิดว่าได้ไม่คุ้มเสีย

img_1182.jpg

img_1183.jpg

ส่วนเพื่อนรุ่นพี่คนนี้ก็เคยเป็นไฮโซมี่มีคนรู้จักมากในสังคม แต่ปัจจุบันความไม่แน่นอนทำให้ชีวิตเปลี่ยนไป ซึ่งเขาต้องเรียนรู้ในการปรับตัวและทำใจ เราก็พยายามทำให้เขาตระหนักถึง ความเปลี่ยนแปลงที่รุนแรงในอนาคต เราไม่อยากเห็นเขาช็อกจนทำอะไรไม่ถูก เดี๋ยวจะโดนคนมาฉวยโอกาสหลอกลวงอีก เราก็คิดว่าเราไม่เอาเปรียบคนอื่น ไม่เบียดเบียนคนอื่นก็น่าจะมีชีวิตที่ร่มเย็นมากกว่าคนที่ชอบทำผิดศีลธรรมประจำจนเป็นนิสัย เราดีใจที่เพื่อนชอบการเที่ยวเดินเล่นดูทั้งธรรมชาติ และได้ดูผ้าทอโบราณในงานแสดงผ้าไทยทอมือด้วย เราก็หวังว่าสถานการณ์ทางการเงินและเศรษฐกิจจะค่อยๆดีขึ้นในเร็ววัน

img_1194.jpg

img_1195.jpg

img_1202.jpg

This afternoon walk was quite pleasant and we had a chance to briefly see an exhibition of old Thai silk cloth in the basement of the mall. We walked around till after sunset then we took the boat ride back to the pier. Luckily, my favorite seafood stall was opened so we had a big dinner at incredibly cheap price about 300 baht or 10 dollars. If you know all the relevant logistics, living cheaply in big city is possible.

img_1206.jpg

img_1207.jpg

img_1210.jpg

img_1214.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 13.722163 lat 100.511144 long IconSiam in Bangkok d3scr)[//]:# (!pinmapple 13.722163 lat 100.511144 long IconSiam in Bangkok d3scr)

Sort:  

such beautiful shots on your walk so sorry your friend got scammed i cannot understand people that would do that

Thank you so much! Yup! Those scammers really hurt my friend quite badly. I was quite angry too. Hope their bad karma got them in the end.

Have a nice day!

Ohh yeah OI hope karma bites them very badly

what a great post, I love the clarity of your photos. I was pleased to read your words...
"The general vibes have changed from gloomy helpless lethargy to more hopeful and active participation in living more intensely."

What a great observation. We must grow this feeling amongst everyone, everywhere!

Thank you very much! I hope more and more people will feel the positive vibes and carry on their own initiatives for survival and improving their own conditions.

Beautiful place! I'm sorry such misfortune happened to your friend. Please share the scam story one day so that we all can learn to be smarter.

Thank you very much for your sympathy. I hope you’ll have a very nice day and a relaxing weekend.

You too! Happy weekend! 😄

Super!

Thank you very much! You’ll like this place!

Beautiful city and very great post my dear!

Thank you very much. I hope you could visit Bangkok one day.

I used to go Thailand so much but Bangkok is one time, oh Bangkok is very big city and so many people. I like the countryside than more. I will go again for some days with my family 😊.

Oh! You had visited Bangkok!! But you should not go to places with too many people. Many places are okay and nice.

The countryside is nicer, you should go to the seaside or to mountains on the north!

สวยมาก, มีมุมถ่ายรูบเยอะเลย

Yeah! You will need two cameras!!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much for your support and cool map!

Have a nice weekend!

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Thank you so much for your support!

  1. I must say I still cannot type a whole sentence in the ‘title’ section.

So, my post title is reduced to three words only!!

  1. I could not publish my post via the first server on the list as usual.

I had to switch to the third server on the list, then I could publish it. But I have to change the sever back to the first on the list in order to work.

  1. The ‘publish’ button is too close to the preview button. This is very tricky as my fat finger oftener brushed on the wrong one!

Could you move it further down on the tab?

Or could you add another question:

“Are you sure you want to publish now?”
So, if I slipped my fingers or my phone fell off my hand, I could still correct the situation!

The title tab is really very difficult to work with on iPhone!

  1. It’s very difficult to try to post via community tab! And to save the post with the community tag and to edit it later. I could not find my first post easily! Blockchain was very slow, for done reason.

Thank you for your attention.

Thank you again for feedback, since your last report, we didn't push update for mobile app. We are expecting mobile app update to be available on Monday. Meanwhile, I would recommend you to use https://ecency.com from mobile Safari or Chrome browser. We are fixing above mentioned issues on mobile app with 3.0.3 version, which will likely be available on Monday. Please bear with us! 🙇

Okay! That’s a nice update!
Need to know why things mugged up!

So, I could chill out somewhere else for a while!

Cheers.

Yes we noted down and next release will fix it. Have you tried our website?

Thank you so much for your attention.
Look, many people didn’t know about your updating software and they are screaming about the Dapp and website as they could not post or work at all.

It would be very transparent and chivalrous to tell people that they were problems and difficulties instead of telling how great things are going to be! The anger is real!! They don’t want to use the dapp again!

I said yours the best in terms of cost and goodies! I have persuaded some friends to try your new Dapp on Monday!!! So, I hope all the big bugs are fixed! Don’t lose customers!

Cheers.

I don't understand your comment, "spyware"?! We mentioned that it is only mobile application and not a critical issue at all, I use app on my iPhone just fine, small inconvenience but you can still scroll in title field, it will be fixed soon. We are as transparent as one can be when it comes to development and keeping community updated about our progress. Website works fine, if you tried it out, open https://ecency.com on mobile browser and enjoy the experience. Stay tuned for other updates!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #941.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much for the good news.

Your support is much appreciated.

Cheers.