Anyx, Cheetah, and Steemcleaners: witness update -- 2017-06-14

in #witness-category7 years ago


Aboard a ferry, from Gibsons to Vancouver. Photo by me.

If I had a nickel for every time I said "been a while since my last update", I'd have.. well, a couple nickels. Yet, once again, it's true -- I've been a busy bee, in real life and on Steemit, so I figured an update was in order.

In real life, a lot has happened recently. Namely three big ticket things: I completed my qualifying exam at university to advance to a PhD candidate, I moved from Vancouver to the SF Bay area for an internship, and, of course, started that internship!

So what about Steemit? Well, I've been posting with some spare time (my Chicago series seemed to be quite popular!), and hit some cool milestones (>1600 followers, >1000 posts). But the real magic has been happening with everyone else around me: the serious price rise, and rise in user activity. (Which, surprise-surprise, is correlated, as many old friends started reaching out!)

So how about that activity rise? Big changes, and huge signups! Furion says over 1000%, and we had our first day of 10,000 posts in 24 hours.. Nuts. This update will thus be about how this has affected me as a witness!


Steemcleaners

In response to this amazing rise, the Steemcleaners logs have also grown in size. New and old, the spammers, scammers and plagiarists are once again cropping up in all corners of the site. We even had to partition a daily log due to being too long.

@fubar-bdhr, a seriously un-sung-steemit-hero, has been our top Steemcleaner for months now. He seriously deserves some praise for the amount of effort he puts in to this. So go wish him a happy birthday today! :)


Cheetah

Then I checked the API I'm using for Cheetah.. and..

oh god.

oh dear god.

Well, as you can imagine (another surprise-surprise) the posting rate is totally tied to how hard Cheetah has to work. With engagement up over 1000%, so was my bill.

In response to the crazy rise in activity, and cost, I accomplished a few things:

  • Created the FAQ. As many people sign up and see Cheetah for the first time, it's important they have a place to get answers to the most commonly asked questions I hear.
  • I optimized some of the algorithm, to favour fewer API calls. This incurred a slight penalty to catch accuracy, unfortunately, but was necessary.
  • I started splicing and formatting the Cheetah logs I keep. I then built an automated posting service, which aggregates a daily log, and submits it. You can now follow @cheetah and check out everything she's done in a day, and should you choose, upvote her logs to support directly her (and me)!

While Cheetah has been a quiet kitty, dutifully performing for a year with over 20,000 comments, this recent rise in activity has forced me to seek an alternative funding method for her in the form of the logs. It took all of one day before I got my first person calling me a "reward pool rapist", so it may not be the best option. I genuinely am not interested in profiteering (I mean come on, I didn't post logs for a year, when I totally could have), so let me know in the comments below what you think of this new strategy.


Hardfork 19

With linear rewards coming up, I am quite excited to see how much an impact this will have on newcomers. With the current price, even a minnow will have a tangible influence on rewards, and I can't wait to see the excitement that that will bring!

With the official date set to the 20th, I have set up a backup server on the newest release already, and will be swapping over my main soon.


Other cool stuff!

Peerplays launched!

Check out some info about setting up, voting for witnesses, and claiming ICO funds here. If you haven't heard of Peerplays yet, now's a great time to go check out the project, while it's still in its infancy! Many awesome Steemians are already on board.

P.S.: I am also running a witness on Peerplays (same name -- @anyx. On my TO-DO list is a formal post declaring my offical witness proposal) I appreciate those who already vote for me there!

Steemfest 2 announced!

I couldn't be more excited for this! Last year I had a blast with all you fellow Steemians who made it to Amsterdam, and I can't wait to do it again in Lisbon. And a special shoutout to @roelandp for the amazing success in the first fest, and the @firepower crew: @sjennon @foxxycat @razvanelulmarin @anduweb, I can't wait to see you all again!

I'll be buying my tickets soon! :)

Sort:  

In real life, a lot has happened recently. Namely three big ticket things: I completed my qualifying exam at university to advance to a PhD candidate, I moved from Vancouver to the SF Bay area for an internship, and, of course, started that internship!

Wow, in addition to all you do here on Steemit, you are certainly a busy 🐝.

I personally have no problem with Cheetah posts making money. Folks like you offer an incredible service to us, and I cannot understand why that should not be rewarded.

Amazing post ,real deal . Thank you for your gift to me ,really appreciate it,respect 🙂❤

@fubar-bdhr, a seriously un-sung-steemit-hero

Couldn't agree more!

With engagement up over 1000%, so was my bill.

Fortunately, so is Steem price :) Either way, you've got to simply ignore when there are one or two miscreants.

Yep! If it goes like last summer, we could see some serious adoption and price action. :D

I am almost sure we will. These initiatives are really the heart and soul of the platform.

You do have a lot going on in your life @anyx :D

Haha, yep. I need a vacation. I hear Portugal is nice. :D

India is even better :) I'll take you biking to some of the most pristine beaches, high mountain ranges, the dessert or the salt flats :D

India is definitely a place I'd love to go see! An unrivaled and unique culture, with diverse landscapes. My usual travel duration is only a week or so (conferences..), but I'd love to just spend a month or two freely travelling around India. :)

Oh cool. looking forward to seeing you here in the future :)

Thanks for the update, and appreciate all the hard work you do!

And whoever called "reward pool rape" on you for raising funds to keep cheetah happy needs to have their head examined. But at least it reminded me to give her an upvote whenever I come across one of her posts...

As a new member, I am glad that am following you @anyx because of the quality information you provide . You are doing a good job and steem is great because of people like you and your team. I am bullish about team, fired up and ready to go. Good post

Best of luck for your new journey in Vancouver!
And a big LOL to,

If I had a nickel for every time I said "been a while since my last update", I'd have.. well, a couple nickels.

Haha, other way around, I left Vancouver to go to the SF Bay area :)

This site and all users owe you and Fubar both a huge debt of gratitude. Upvoted and resteemed.

You doing a great job. Hope you going to make another travel series, like Chicago which was awesome.

Thanks! :D

SF Bay is a gorgeous area. It is expensive to live there, they don't lie when they tell you that, but if you can afford it, it's amazing.

I spent a month there a couple of years ago, the the city itself is very pretty, but surprisingly small. It only takes a couple of weekends to see pretty much all of the major sites. But south or north along the coast is just site after site for hours in either direction. I can't recommend strongly enough heading south into the Big Sur area, breathtaking scenery.

Oh wow Awesom post :D
And i hope you will vote my post too, Thank's :D

Couldn't agree more!!! Thanks for the update all the same.

Good point, me too. Upvoted.

Its pretty good work by you...the bad thing is we don't go in detail and deep...

@anyx me and my are planning to go in canada by mid nxt year if we got visa to travel to canada.
Upvote and follow you

awesome thank you for the dollar much appreciated

good post voted and followed

Amazing article! You are really blessed! Followed you!

Congratulations @anyx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

As newbie, what do we expect from Hard Fork 19?

Cheers,
@yehey
https://QUE.com - I follow all who followed me. I think it's fair :)

Yeah...nice one

How interesting. A wonderful post.

Thanks for the update!

thanks for sharing

Wow so beautiful! One day I will visit this place :D

See you at Lisbon dude! :)

Thank you for keeping us up to date!

It was very informative, for as long as it was translated by my translator. Thank you.

Howdy @anyx,

Cheetah must be doing a fairly decent job. I have seen the odd one or two copy paste jobs but on a platform this size, that small number is a good indication that what you are doing is working.

Hello)) You have done a hard job here and in life)) I congratulate you on your achievements and rejoice for you!)) Continue in the same spirit)) Respect you))

Great post. Keep up all the good work you are doing. Well written article thanks.

Nice post! I voted for you.
Please follow me, I will follow you back! :)

Congratulations @anyx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really appreciate your work! Thank you @anyx for your support! I give you a piece of Ukraine!

Great post check out mine if you can :)

great for all :D

I always wanted to go to Canada, great picture you took up there. Thanks for sharing.

Can you create a tool that will allow me to match the people I follow with cheeta logs? I think it would be beneficial for many people to know (by simple and quick means) whether the content on their feed may be stolen.

hi, I voted you as my witness, wish you help increase my rank , thank you .

SteemCleaners has been downvoting my own original content.

Can you put your bots to work for me sheesh lol looks nice

mind blowing bro......i just upvored you for your amazing post. i am totally impressed for your beautiful hard work.......i think one day you will be the top of the steemit blogger......go ahead bro.....

mind blowing bro.....i am totally impressed for your beautiful hard work.......i think one day you will be the top of the steemit blogger......go ahead bro.....

Hello @anyx I want ask you about my post at Dtube https://steemit.com/dtube/@deniandepa/gvcyjc7v
Before I upload my video in Dtube, I already make post by writing and foto in my steemit room https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@deniandepa/marriage-of-two-distinct-cultural-nations-aceh-and-australia-bilingual
But robot Cheetah visit to my blog Dtube and give warning to mee "that is similar content" can you give explanation to me, why Cheetah dont know that is my post too. Is the similar content same meaning with plagiat?. Thanks .

These guys are just a bunch of bullies... they literally have set out to destroy users blogs for calling them out on their actions.
There needs to be regulation on them.