The final experiment - Chapter 8 - Fiction

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Image source

“I’m glad to see you awake Lila. You had a nasty fall.” 

“What’s going on Jeff? What did you do to me? Why am I tied up? I want to leave now!”

“Oh, Lila…Lila…you’re not going anywhere. You literally begged to be part of this experiment and that is exactly where you are now. 

“I never gave permission for anything, I demand to be released immediately.”

“You played right into my hand Lila. I have been searching for a willing Aayala for months.  If I’d known that you wanted to be part of this I would’ve come to you months ago. It was absolute destiny that I left that document in your office by accident.” 

 “But I never gave my permission for you to do anything to me.” 

“You are so naïve Lila….of course you did.”  

Jeff took a seat next to the bed and asked the other doctors to leave.  He played the recording of their earlier conversation.

“Definitely. I would love to be part of whatever it is you are doing…..”

“You’re using that completely out of context."

Jack ignored her totally.   

“Would you mind if we did a proper examination now or do you need some more rest?”

“You are keeping me here against my will. This will be your biggest regret ever.”

Jeff smiled. 

"Let's rather call it an achievement.  Regret is not part of my vocabulary." 

“We’ll see Lila. You’ll be monitored very closely so you won’t have a chance to escape, and your good behavior will count a lot for how you will be treated here."

Lila felt totally helpless for the first time in her life. She was stuck in this situation and she had no clue how to get out of it.  She knew Jack would be worried sick but she had no way to contact him. 

Lila had always thought of humans as selfish and stubborn and could never really understood the exact reason why the Aayala had to come and save the human race, and today she saw the cruel side of the human race and it confirmed what she felt all these years.   

Lila closed her eyes and focused all her energy on Jack while Jeff and the other doctors did their examination.  

She shuddered when they first touched her but they were gentle and professional.  

“I’m sorry that it had to happen like this Lila. I truly am. I was just so excited when I realized that you were the perfect candidate. I should have handled it differently, but I knew you would not agree willingly, so this was my only option. It’s only for a few months Lila. We only want the baby.”

Jeff left her feeling anxious and alone. She had to get a message to Jack because he was the only one that could save her.    

Jack phoned Lila again as soon as he woke up. It went straight to voicemail and he knew something was terribly wrong.  Her phone was never switched off.  

 To be continued

 

Sort:  

I have not got around to read this whole story, will have to start from the beginning.

Visiting from #teamsouthafrica ~ making a move to #steemsa please visit https://steemit.com/steemsa/@jaynie/proudly-introducing-steem-south-africa

Hello @giantbear, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.304 which ranks you at #786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 103 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server