Chatter ...Part 25 ...Alien Artifact

in #writing2 years ago



Fact is, there exists in the world an order different from that in which we pass our days. If we reveal its existence people will think we are crazy.
― Andrei Codrescu




Alien Artifact.png



I had a restless night, in and out of sleep and in between my thoughts were racing as in a fever dream. I wasn't sure for whom the burden of angst weighed heavier, for Maine Blair or for me.

We were both in danger for sure and Elise was right in warning me―I had no way to adequately safeguard the artifact while it was under my roof.

But strangely I didn't regret meeting privately with Blair or his trusting me with the artifact and sealed file―I felt privileged he would confide in me and make me the repository of such precious items that could change the course of world history.

And they would change the world if full disclosure occurred, provided the cartel didn't silence us first.



I awoke to a sunny February morning with the temperature somewhere in the forties and decided on an early morning jog to settle my nerves.

I changed into my jogging gear and headed out onto a nearby trail, hoping the fresh air would clear my head and calm me enough so I could see things clearly.

I often went for a walk or jog when I was blocked in my writing―somehow the rhythm of moving large muscles allowed me to enter a state akin to dreaming and by the time I'd get home I'd have broken through the blockage and could see a solution.

I hoped the same exercise would enable me to find a way of helping Blair without putting us both in more danger.



At first, the early morning air was invigorating and I felt I could jog forever, but the further from my house I got, the more worried I became about security.

Leaving the file and artifact unguarded in the house suddenly struck me as being incredibly careless, and filled with anxiety, I quickened my pace from a jog to a run hoping to get back to prevent an intrusion.

How could I have been so stupid? I didn't even have a safe let alone cameras or security system. I shouldn't have left the items unguarded.

I panicked and pushed myself harder until I got to a part of the trail where I could see my house in the distance.



But when I saw my house, my heart was in my throat―I saw a figure on the verandah. If the items Blair entrusted to me were stolen, I'd never forgive myself.

I ran full out the last fifty yards only to discover to my relief the dark figure I saw from the trail was in fact Juliet Fields, a rival writer.

I collapsed on my lawn, totally winded and exhausted.



"Most people just go for an early morning jog, "she smiled sweetly, "Trying out for the Olympics?"

"Something like that," I gasped, "Didn't sleep well last night."

"Well, if you push yourself like this before breakfast you might end up in the big slee―do you have a death wish?"

"Nope, just want a runner's high, you know? It's all about brain endorphins."



She rolled her eyes and didn't believe me for a minute. "I prefer wine myself, but I'm not a junkie needing a fix of dopamine and serotonin."

"To each his own," I smiled. "just remember the last drop in the bottle is poison."

"Speaking of such," she drawled in a hurt little girl voice, "I drank my cab sav straight from the bottle last night. You shouldn't take a girl to dinner and then not see her for a week, Cole. It's not very gentlemanly on your part."

"Has it been a week?" I asked, genuinely surprised.

"I suppose time passes fast when you're having fun with Elise Crawford."

I stared at her, surprised she knew.

Juliet just shrugged. "I told you, I have my sources."



I coloured with embarrassment, chagrinned that time had gotten away from me.

"Okay, my bad. How about you let me make it up to you by fixing you a nice breakfast?"

"Hmm, that's good for starters, but I figure you owe me another dinner at a fine restaurant, especially when you hear what I have to tell you."

My ears pricked up at the mention of news―Juliet's sources were outstanding.

"Sounds like a deal," I smiled, "provided your news is as juicy as you suggest."

"I'd go as far as to say it's earth-shaking."



I could feel my heart beating fast in my chest and it had nothing to do with running. I tried to remain nonchalant, but inwardly was filled with dread and anxiety.

It took all my patience to proceed making a breakfast of bacon, eggs and home fries when I desperately wanted to know what information she possessed.

Finally, the meal was prepared and served. As I poured coffee I casually asked, "So what is this 'earth-shaking' news you uncovered?"

"Shannon Holmes is going to put out a news release that a whistleblower has come forward with evidence that the government has suppressed the truth about an alien presence on earth and has been withholding technology that could provide the entire world with virtually limitless, free energy."



My blood ran cold when she said it. I tried to conceal my emotions but she could plainly see the colour drain from my face.

"But, you already knew about this, didn't you, Cole? I know you met secretly here with Maine Blair the other day and he revealed everything to you, didn't he?"

I nodded mutely. There was no point in pretending otherwise. This was an outcome I honestly didn't anticipate and certainly didn't welcome.

Elise was right when she warned me. Blair and I were in grave danger.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners