Fact or Fiction? - 12

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I had a lot of fun reading some of the comments. You guys really do get me!

Yesterday's story -

All true!

Of course, I used to write in school, for lessons, homework (350 word essay on concentration) but I didn't really write for 'fun' or enjoyment. I didn't share my stories in written format. I started writing around 1999. I started slowly at first...

Actually, no, I didn't. I threw myself right into the fray and started writing Deadlier Than The Male my first novel. It took two years and I learned a LOT. I taught myself how to edit my work, how to tighten it up, make it more presentable and that led to becoming an Editor.


Source

Since arriving on Steemit, I've never written so much as I do these days. I think I'm improving all the time and I'm thankful for you, my audience, for reading, enjoying, and commenting on my stories.

Most of my ‘realistic’ stories, either truth or fabricated come from some experience or another. I’ve either directly encountered such events or they have been recounted to me.

Not all the stories are nice and pleasant.

So, today's story - Truth or Fiction?


On the way to the stables one Sunday morning, we were held up on the last stretch of road before the turn for the stable entrance. My grandmother took me there every Sunday and she paid for my riding ‘lesson’ – the lesson being a couple of circuits around the local park.

Across the road from the entrance to the stables, was a large field that was used for some of the grazing necessary for the horses.

Police cars with their lights flashing made it difficult to pass and an officer waved people through in turn.

A gap in the fence caught my eye, even though it was partially obstructed by one of the police vehicles.

I craned my neck to see, because I was a nosy teenager and I wanted to know everything!

I wish I’d not seen that.

One of the ponies stood in the field facing the road. His head was down, ears back – not in the frightening, annoyed manner horses and ponies have, warning you to get out of their space, the ears on this pony were back in a dejected display of acceptance of fate.

I knew that pony, he was a lovely, lively fellow and privately owned, not one of the stable’s ponies, so I’d never had chance to ride him.

He didn’t look lovely and lively that misty morning. He looked done-for.

We passed the scene and went to the stables. I remember getting out of the car, distractedly accepting the money my grandmother handed to me and waved to her and my siblings as they drove off.

People stood in the stable yard, doing nothing. That in itself was unusual, the stable yard was always a hive of activity.

No ponies stood waiting to be saddled or unsaddled. No one walked across the yard with an urgent errand, a bag of feed or a couple of hay nets. Everything was surreal and strange.

Then I saw a couple of parents. The mother hugged the girl tight and the girl sobbed as if her heart would break.

My heart flip-flopped in that horrible way it does when realisation hits you that some dreadful news is not a joke at all, it’s true and your life will never be the same again. It feels like your heart plummets into your stomach and is so heavy that it must surely punch its way out of your gut. But you feel so damn-terrible about it that you don’t care if it does, because it would at least stop the pain of comprehension.

In the short time we were waiting to be allowed through the police road-bock, my gaze dropped lower on that pony. I saw why that poor dear pony looked so utterly miserable.

His right foreleg stood at an angle, just below the knee. His leg was broken and you know what that means for a valuable race-horse, let alone a pony that was ‘just a pet’.

A drunk-driver had miss-judged the road and slammed through the hedge of the field.

The pony was hit and he’d suffered a broken leg. I don’t remember how long he’d been there before anyone realised he was injured.

I remember a few things quite clearly.

The girl sobbing her heart out.

The stable yard in shocked silence.

The police lights on the road.

The pony’s leg broken and at such an unbelievable angle.

The fact that a drunk-driver had caused a beautiful, friendly, lively pony’s death.

And the pony’s name.

Danny.

Sort:  

Oh dear ... I'm not even going to try to guess this one ... someone must be chopping onions again .... :(

Yeah, I've got tears as well, and so hoping it's not true.

After the sadness I felt for Danny, I was quite amused by @michelle.gent calling the trolls out. I'm brand new to steemit and was starting to wonder how actual creators felt about the robot comments. I guess now I know, and I'm not surprised.

I suspect this story is fiction. You remember the horse's name, yet write of the girl as if she was a stranger. I heard you were a great writer, but I swear I could hear your accent as I read this.

I hope it is a fiction! Because it is so sad.

just a pet

I'm crying.. Please change the and Don't leave Pony alone..

Thanks for the story.

I'm going full on false with this one.

In fact I will wager the only Danny you have known is an Irishman from the nineties who was a bit too fond of the bev :0)

what a sad story ..... I still hope that this is not true.
You write your stories so believably that it's hard for me to accurately guess the truth or not.
But today I'll bet that this is not true - fiction.

Recently I manage to guess.
this is really a sad story, I deep down I hope that it is not truthful. But min. to assume that it is true, but not completely. Will be present fictitious moments.
Whether I'm right or wrong, I'll find out tomorrow. Thank you

I wish it was fiction. but not at all. it is a truly​ sad story. save animals because​ animals are the beauty of this planet.

Oh, this CAN be true. It's so depressing how the careless and rash actions and choices of some people can affect someone else, through no fault of their own. The sad part is that in some ways, we all are Dannys, and in some other ways we all are the drunk driver as well.

I'd go with fact.

Cruel things happen. I am betting this one is true to some extent.

For me it is a true story.

Even if it is a false story the way you have written it makes it come alive as a true story. I felt as though I was there and that the narrator's eyes were my eyes.

When I go to sleep tonight, Danny is going to be in my thoughts...or my dreams!

Thank you for the story!

This is sad, i'm sorry about that pony and its owner. The little girl, i guess. And i think this is all true with all my heartbreake. Smooth telling by the way.

today's history has not left anyone indifferent, I'm no exception. Poor pony. I hope that this story is an invention, otherwise sadness will settle in my soul. Therefore, my answer is fiction.

Its like you had a big day. I think it is kinda awesome

I think you should read the post before making comments.

Amazing post, i like it
@michelle.gent

Really? And I thought it was one of the saddest things I've ever written.

I agree with you. This post is so sad. I love animals and I hate people who hurt them.

The storyline you write makes me wonder, for me it is very amazing

You've still not read it, have you?

I am so sorry for Danny. thank you for sharing

well wrote dear,keep it up,thanks for sharing

It's a shame you didn't read it.

Since arriving on Steemit, I've never written so much as I do these days. I think I'm improving all the time and I'm thankful for you, my audience, for reading, enjoying, and commenting on my stories.

Steemit offers amazing opportunities for self-improvement, including both writing and thinking.

Unfortunately, I believe that this story is true. :/

I'm confused to say is this a true story or fiction?
Express and blatant expressions and exaggerating the story but the last feelings in the story broke my heart
What happened with the girl's scenery (the girls sobbing her heart out) the pony's leg broken and at such an unbelievable angle.)
That part really
It makes me discover strong feelings that I wrote and I really liked it and at the same time I feel sorry for the girl and the pony
I hope to be a good critic comment
Thank you,michelle for this story :)

I hate horse race, hunting, etc. These are not sport. When it comes to the story, I think it is saddest story of you ever. I love all of animal and I'm so sorry for Pony!

This is a really sad true story. I am really sad to read the beautiful pony's death whose name was Danny.It's really very heart touching story. And I really appreciate your love for the pony.
Thanks for sharing your memory with us.
Your every story is a great lesson for us and we also learned a lot from your stories.
Your writing is very captivating. I love your novels and stories.

It is a shame a pony had to die because of a drunk driver, It broke a little girls heart. Sad story! It is also sad that people comment and do not even read the story.

in my opinion, it can be true to some extent, but animals are the beauty of nature as humans so we have to safe them and provide secure environment in my opinion. what do you think ?

It's a true story because at heart you are a true human with love and concern for animals too.

Danny had a bad luck, drunk driver should have been punished for his negligence.

Rather we are thankful to you for writing and providing us a chance to read, get pleasure and comment.

This story has the ring of truth to it. Sad but the reality is these things happen. I liked your story :)

I was reminded by the famous story of my area of ​​putroe neng, the story of putroe neng is like a fairy tale, but the story is a fact

Oh my dear God. Fiction. Please, be fiction.

Oh my God, i couldnt help but to let the tears go down, what a story, really sad though but i like it👍