Adding 'More Evil' By Killing Everyone Doesn't Necessarily Make a Story Good, Writer Discovers

in #writing3 years ago (edited)

This whole town is my creation, I'll destroy it any way I please.


Screen Shot 2021-10-08 at 1.40.05 AM.png

I simply wasn't evil enough, that was my whole problem. I had tried to write a story based on real life; a tale about Hill Valley; an average town with basic mind-control and propaganda being piped into the culture through the television, day after day. Nothing extraordinary, but a mere glimpse into the cultural conditioning and mass hypnosis that we have become accustomed to. I had never imagined that I should end the story by exterminating the population of the town-- the thought just never occurred to me.

Had I been more wicked, my storyline would have naturally included some genocide, providing a handy bookend for my experimental civilization- repeat as needed.

Having taken a long break from writing the story, (the monotony of maintaining a world of fake news and illusion had become tedious to me) I'm now rested, and for the last few years I've been studying how the pros do it. Now I have some new, more evil ideas for the exciting conclusion.


Screen Shot 2021-10-07 at 10.31.55 PM.png

Create External Enemy

Next to Hill Valley, a mile or so away, is the town of Lakeland. We don't talk about Lakeland, but when we do, it is always with a negative smear. Therefore, what should happen next in the narrative is, I'll 'leak' stories into the Hill Valley media of a contagious virus that is spreading through nearby Lakeland's population, a deadly invisible enemy, killing people in the streets. (Not exactly an original idea I know, but I'm just copying the masters here)

I'll have the mayor institute a travel ban, so that nobody in Hill Valley will be able to go and see what's really going on in Lakeland. I'll introduce a new 'Health Expert' to advise the mayor on how to properly 'protect' the residents of Hill Valley.

I still need to think darker. There should be a toxin released, like at the Hill Valley farmer's market or something. Some kind of 'spike protein' that will get into the lungs, into the blood and cause some serious problems for a good handful of citizens. As an emergency precaution, the mayor should then offer to pay the hospital extra bonuses for every patient who has this new 'disease', plus another heaping pile of cash if that patient also dies in that hospital. Also, we'll have to shut down that farmer's market now.

The "Test"

The Health Expert will advise the mayor, and the mayor will dictate that everyone start by getting tested for the scary disease. Many of the frightened Hill Valley inhabitants-- always trusting the authorities and anyone with a white lab coat-- will begin lining up to have this test prod jammed into their sinuses. Every head cold, sniffle, every flu, and every broken bone will be listed as another 'case' of the deadly viral threat.

The test should be adjustable, like a trick coin that we flip for positive or negative, so that we can control the 'severity' of the contagion in our own calculated waves. Uh oh, looks like a lot of "positive cases" have turned up at the town library... shut it down! I'll probably go ahead and get DNA samples while we're all up in everybody's sinus cavities as well, so that we can clone specific ones of these subjects for the next Fictionarium town that I create.

Next, I think the mayor will 'follow the science' and demand that every business that isn't owned by one of his buddies will need to be shut down. A lockdown, of sorts. Nobody is to leave their house for any reason.


Screen Shot 2021-10-08 at 1.39.47 AM.png

(At some point in the story, it should be revealed that the mayor, his health experts and all administrators of the hospital are part of a satanic death cult, and so naturally it is agreed that they start ritualistically killing people in the hospitals, since they're now getting paid for it, and also the increased deaths help add to the hysteria that is sweeping the town's population.)

Don't Forget Your Mask!

It is already decided, using Science, that everyone, henceforth, shall exhibit a show of allegiance to the most virtuous and good citizens of Hill Valley by wearing a face mask at all times, as a way to protect those who have no masks. We're all in this together! Anyone without a mask will be shamed, and beaten if necessary, for the sake of public health. So says I, who is starting to get the hang of this 'evil' business.

What's next? Oh, a new vaccine! My own imaginary team of experts has read my mind, and have quickly created a rigorous vaccination schedule for the suffering masses. Miraculous!

I need to calm down and stay focused. Now, I'm being as bad as I can be, but I'm really not sure how to manage this part. In the Hill Valley subculture, the word is spreading about what's really been going on in the hospitals, and it seems like the normies are starting to toss in their sleep. All I know to do is keep repeating the fear narrative, just chanting and soaking the words and mantras of general compliance into the sponge that is the group mind of my little creation, Hill Valley. They are absolutely at my mercy now, at least as long as I can control the mayor and his spells and his words, and as long as I provide the authorities with plenty of fresh white lab coats.

The mayor of Hill Valley isn't really a sorcerer, he's an apprentice, at best. Sure, he might read a spell or two out loud and get his mops to carry water for him while he naps, but when things get out of control, it becomes obvious that he's not really in charge. He'll take all the blame though. It wouldn't surprise me if the mayor is dragged out of the barber shop by an angry mob on a Saturday afternoon in some later chapter of the story. As the author of this tale, it wouldn't surprise me at all.

I'm just going to eliminate them all. If my vaxxx doesn't kill enough of them, I'll simply recommend, and then implement, another hard lockdown. I'll ban cheese. Dividing and conquering, I'll persuade the vaxxxed to attack the UN-vaxxxed, and all riots will be encouraged by the City Council. The whole town is my creation, I'll destroy it any way I please. If the catastrophe is inspired by absurdity, then the whole thing takes on a comical element. It'll be like the whole world has put on a tinfoil hat, but anyone who notices it is the crazy one.

What am I thinking? Why isn't Hill Valley bristling with surveillance cameras and 5G transmitters? Let's get things cooking here. As writer of this story, I hereby proclaim that the town of Hill Valley suddenly has a ridiculous amount of cameras everywhere. On every corner there's six, every block has eight (some of those could be fake cameras; I'm mostly pushing to manifest a fearful visual atmosphere here, but yes the mayor also intends to actually surveil the whole damn town). There should be blatant cameras in your face on every road, all the way over to the Spooner Lake bridge. Things are just getting a little too complacent in this cute little town, says I.

This dark power that I've acquired here is starting to erode my morals, and I can now understand why CS Lewis said that writing from the viewpoint of the demonic Uncle Screwtape, on the destruction of the human soul, was exhausting work. Unfortunately, there's no stopping now. A lot of Hill Valley residents have already been scared and coerced into letting the needles into their arms, and when they start dropping, Experts will naturally blame the unvaccinated ones, but that won't last long. What have I done?

I think I'm going to just-ify this whole dark deed by telling myself and my readers that the town was becoming overpopulated anyway, and that if we didn't cull the herd on occasion, things would probably be a lot worse. Maybe something, something, climate change.

It's Become a Religion Now


The way it is in the story right now, is that the Science Experts of Hill Valley are regarded as high priests, presiding over what has absolutely become a religious cult. Many of the town's citizens have embraced the strict lockdown measures, and they feel righteous as they march around town being 'safer' than every other passer-by. These faithful followers are now barking commands at strangers in the marketplace, people that they wouldn't have dared look at before the cult became their livelihood. Many of those who haven't joined the medical cult still pretend to have joined, just to try to get down the street without being accosted by the cult's religious believers. What a mess. I'm afraid I'm just not evil enough to keep this madness going.


Screen Shot 2021-10-07 at 10.51.22 PM.png

I don't know what I'll do with neighboring Lakeland after this. I wrote the entire Fictionarium story so that there could be a Lakeland. I like it there. Their voluntary, decentralized society will be much harder to infiltrate and dismantle, if it can even be done. Their mayor is a cat, and the official currency of Lakeland is friendship. As an evil conquerer, what the hell does one do with that? Lakeland is totally independent of the controlling structures that I'm using to obliterate poor Hill Valley.

I'll just have to keep the two towns separated for a bit longer, but I have a feeling that the conspiracy subculture of Hill Valley is going to successfully spread the truth, and then the remaining normie culture of the town will forever be changed when they discover how they were being poisoned by their own mayor, his health experts, and a handful of mindless religious disciples.

As I write this, I realize that no matter how despicable I try to become, so that my story can seem more realistic, I'm still drawn away from all of the propaganda and mischief in Hill Valley. It's obviously Lakeland where I would want to live, if given the choice. Hill Valley is perfect for those who wish to live and work in an organized machine, each gear and bell serving a distant ruling class, but Lakeland is really the place you go if you want to live, and thrive, as a human autonomous device in a natural garden. That's actually more my speed.

I'm kinda wishing I hadn't taken this left-hand path to manage the town of Hill Valley. I actually tried to stop the massacre, telling my characters to stop with the vaccination madness, but it was much too late. The mayor, who had so greedily taken credit for all of the restrictions and absurd guidelines that had wrecked the town, is now denying that he had any control over his City Council and their votes. The owner of the Hill Valley Drug Store has acquired god-like powers over the town, while most don't even know his name. (I don't even know his name yet!) The owner of the hospital has been made insanely rich by intentionally killing so many of the patients, and the populace is horribly broken-- mentally shattered after two years of mass psychological torture.

The residents of Hill Valley still have a tough few months coming up, but I believe that when this all gets sorted out, they will create a much more habitable world for themselves. They might get some ideas from their neighbors over in Lakeland, like maybe fractal-ize, or decentralize the food supply. Lakeland is like a 24 hour buffet in a labyrinth of flowers, all created by the creative humans who live there. Of course, we don't talk about Lakeland, but that is liable to change as well.

As grim as this tale appears to be in the chapters that I've described here, I can see a twist in the story coming up. As a clue, there is a sign on the highway that connects Hill Valley with Lakeland, a sign that specifically states: No pedestrians, no bicycles, no scooters, and NO PARADES. Here's a little spoiler; there will be a parade.


the above is fiction, based on fiction. all photos above are mine. Thanks, as always, for looking in.


Screen Shot 2021-10-08 at 10.08.11 PM.png

Sort:  

Now if you could manifest Lakeland into reality, that would be nice...

I think we are all precipitating such a place into existence, but, like any childbirth, it's probably going to hurt a little.

You're doing a great job being an evil dictator, that's a nice little dystopia you have going on there :D

Lakeland sounds nice.

Since I discovered the religion of Science, I'm thinking of all sorts of ways to scientifically scientificate the science of health and population control through perception management. Except that I'm now an evil dictator, it's been fun and educational.

Well it's not like you have to be an evil dictator for the rest of your life. If it's not working out for you, you can always change it up and try something else, I'm sure those skills are transferable XD

Hmmm. I nearly voted for this. So glad I checked what year it was.

Hey! This is as good as any upvote; it's nice to hear from you. I recently read this one myself, after I sent a link to my page to an old friend who wondered what I've been up to. Don't know if they saw this post or anything, but I was amused as I imagined what they might have thought of me after reading it. Enough about me though...

Coolest thing about that seven day pay period is how it's a myth. I just voted for it. I saw you creeping around in my notifications, upvoting my nonsense comment lol. Eventually made my way here and there you weren't but here you are.

Reading old stuff feels weird. At least for me it does. Have to sit and figure out where my head was at that day and why. Don't even remember doing it so can't even call it memories. More like reminders...

I miss this zany shit though.

I'll have to try that post-7-day vote, good to know. I don't remember your comment I upvoted, but I admit to creeping around and upvoting some things that amused me. I miss this shit too, it's cool to finally catch up w you in real time again. Recently completed another book cover illustration, after dreemit reveals the image, I'll do a step-by-step post on how I painted it.

I'll most likely be around to see it this time. Planning to spend the winter connected online and all that. I was here near the start of summer, worked my ass off for a bit after dealing with a psycho, who's still not off the hook but that's a story for another day. Fizzled out and haven't done anything since. No writing, art, nothing. Not even other gigs I don't talk about here. Not a damn thing. But that's what I wanted.

I bet it's already winter up there, but yeah I'm about to be wintered up down in these subtropics, so I'll probably see you, here. (Man, that sentence is all over the place! Up, down, here, there, all that so I could type THIS.)

It's currently +6 Canadian. Can't remember what this is in Fn American degrees.

This is only fall. And shit's falling that's for sure. Everything got freezer burned and I didn't even put it in the freezer. They need to rename this season, Hurry!

Wow! Interesting little spot you got there! You do well acting as a dictator !!
Utopia not insight …..

My little experimental town, using large groups of human subjects in mass mind-control studies-- what could possibly go wrong?

Here's a little spoiler; there will be a parade

Lakeland must fall! Burn it to the ground!

Nice to see you back here :) !PIZZA

Not quite yet. If we burn Lakeland to the ground, then who will we blame for our next disaster? Besides, we don't want Hill Valley getting excited or enthusiastic about anything. I've got them on a strict diet of constant worry with daily rations of FEAR, for public health purposes, and the Science says this should last through Halloween.

Oh. I must have misunderstood. I thought the plan was to identify all the Hill Valley citizens who were showing signs of distrusting your dictatorship, then feed them lies about how Lakeland was the real enemy and incite them into plotting violence against the Lakeland populace. Then when they inevitably took action and began marching against Lakeland you and your troops would swoop in, crush them, and use their little rebellion to illustrate to the rest of Hill Valley that you are a worthy ruler who is only interested in peace. Or something like that.

Oh now damn that sounds like a good plan. Ok, but after this, I'm getting out of the dictator business for good, I swear.

And of course the evil dictator will also place digital signs on the highways, saying things like Wear a Mask, Do Your Part, Get Vaccinated, while the big department stores play recordings such as Stay Six Feet Apart at all times. This always adds so much to they dystopian feel.

Glad to see you back on!! ❤️

Six feet apart, wear six masks, and then six vaxxxes should do it. I've seen those signs! Wouldn't want the populace driving along, whistling, and forgetting to be tense and fearful.


Congratulations @therealpaul!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@brandt(1/10) tipped @therealpaul (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Hi how r u?

Hi dear, hope you are doing well.