My broken hip experience, part 3, Pre-surgery briefing

in #youtube5 years ago (edited)

More of my broken femur experience: After the ambulance ride I arrived to the emergency room, had X-ray done and this part is where i get my verdict and first information about my surgery.

Sorry for the partly bad sound, as I was too beaten up to realize that I had my finger over my gopro microphone for a few seconds here and there and too groggy to speak out clearly.

I always upvote every comment that people make on my posts, because I appreciate feedback and hearing what reflections people make from my posts and videos, what thoughts you get from my content.

Part 3, Pre-surgery briefing and ER trip.

Part 2, Ambulance ride.

Part 1, waiting for the ambulance and thinking through my situation.

Maybe sharing the journey with you will be able to motivate me a bit to get my leg back in shape and get back on that skateboard and maybe Steemit can find some form of motivation or entertainment in it as well.

Please feel free to be happy that it was me, not you. :)

Appreciate that you can walk, go to the bathroom and being more pain free. ;)

If my injury can remind you of that, then it would give my injury some more meaning than it already has had to me.

And of course, if you are indeed in pain or have health issues or injuries, then I hope that you will find something useful or comforting in my experiences and thoughts as well.

Sort:  

I love how the doctor answered every single question you had and really went into detail about the surgery (with diagram ready and all 📊). I felt like it was one of those Grey's Anatomy episodes where they explain to the newbies what it's all about. You can kinda tell UCLA is a teaching hospital because she can explain it well and in a concise manner we'd all understand (I'm geeking out again, somebody stop me 🎓).

She's incredibly nice too! One of the things that my best friend who's a nurse always talks about is that bedside manner sometimes goes out the drain with some of the healthcare professionals and they don't usually care about their patient as much.

Also, on the background, I feel like you're surrounded by Filipino nurses 😂 (13:57 I swear they were speaking in Tagalog omg)

I hope we get to see what happens next though. I'm curious to see what it's like to have metal inside your bone 👀

I agree, that is a really good attitude for a doctor and I also agree with your friend who says that this good attitude from doctors is often missing. I know this sounds crazy, but I have even had some doctors threatening me and two doctors trying to forcibly have me locked up just because I did not accept everything they made up about me and I have had to turn to my embassy and threaten back with suing them to get out of the situation. Maybe those will be future posts on steemit haha.

I even have one of them recorded, in order to be able to prove that I was not making this up, but I was scared to use the recording as long as I was in that same area.

Funny with your Filipino countrymen (if nurses can be called countrymen) in the background. :)

XOXO