You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of effort

in #effort8 months ago

Not trying to be (much of) a dick but... Whales are upvoting good posts at 100% and good comments at 0-1%. And then you wonder why there's no engagement? People won't write comments to a 100:1 ratio when they can shitpost and earn more just by being lucky

Sort:  

I don't disagree fully but I also like that whales aren't upvoting their comment section too much, as in spending their daily voting mana just on the comments. In general yes, it would be better to see more curation in comment sections and not just in your own posts.

People won't write comments to a 100:1 ratio when they can shitpost and earn more just by being lucky

By that logic, we wouldn't be seeing more people commenting especially on posts where they know the author doesn't have any stake to reward their comments with. And yet we do because there's a population of users on Hive who don't really care if you upvote their comments and just want to engage than hope some whale votes on them?

there's a population of users on Hive who don't really care if you upvote their comments

Not saying people don't want to engage without being rewarded. People do it all the time on Twitter or Facebook. Yet we are on Hive and people want rewards. The "population" you are talking about is probably at ease, financially.

Anyway, all I want to point out is that the comment section is empty on many posts I see - even when the post is earning a lot. And it's kind of sad to see.

I think the posts that generates the most engagement should be - oftentimes - the most rewarded. But that's not how it works.

Conclusion: Post earning is not correlated to post quality and/or the engagement it generates. I think that may cause a problem in the long run.

The "population" you are talking about is probably at ease, financially.

Dunno which communities you hang out but that's not what I see where I'm hanging out.

Anyway, all I want to point out is that the comment section is empty on many posts I see - even when the post is earning a lot. And it's kind of sad to see.

I think some form of content just needs tips that empty generic praises. I see good visual art content, I got no words but still in awe. I don't need to comment I'm in awe. I do it on socmed, do you do this too? just press like and leave even when it's decent content? I don't know, maybe I do it on youtube videos I like.

Post earning is not correlated to post quality and/or the engagement it generates. I think that may cause a problem in the long run.

I agree on the first sentence but I don't think there is inherently a problem with that. Some content are just consumed as ah, ok nice, move on. Nothing wrong with the quality and etc, it's just content that leaves less room for any meaningful discussions and taken as is on impression. Some content receiving nice votes can just be explained by the author being likable enough. If Taylor Swift just said Hi Hive on a post, hypothetically if the legit one ever did bother, people/fans are going to upvote it to a hundred dollars and I wouldn't really care about it, that's their opinion of content worth rewarding. It would probably drive more traffic to the blockchain than regular posts about how someone's day went.

Thanks for the talk, I don't want to debate this more than necessary. I'm not against anything you say. I think diverging opinions are important for any community. I just have a feeling that Hive is a touchy subject around here, and we can't say anything against it. I like Hive, else I wouldn't waste my time here. But nothing is perfect.

I just often see actually good comments @ 0 reward, and that makes me a tiny bit sad for those people.

I think the posts that generates the most engagement should be - oftentimes - the most rewarded. But that's not how it works.

yup.png

Who else has that badge?

I may have one, not sure how to check.

Nice badge there @nonameslefttouse 😉 One day when I'm big, I'll try have that badge too.

Careful what you wish for...

That sounds rather foreboding. I doubt I would ever write a post well enough for that to happen anyway 🤣

How are you?

I'm okay. Just noticed today means I've been here for seven years. So that's some news I guess. Good news? Fucked if I know...

That's something I kinda tried to bring up at the end of the post as well, curators ought to look out for this and not blindly reward those either not receiving comments which may indicate the content is being consumed or if the authors themselves aren't even bothering to engage at all either outside their posts or within their own posts, the former may affect the latter often.

If I wasn't busy with a lot of things on Hive I'd be all over many posts like I was in the early days of this chain, it's baffling to me how little time others spend consuming content here and engaging. It might be a cause to why we see so many "empty" posts as you describe but I'm pretty sure curators are partly to blame for that as well. At @ocd we take this and many other things into consideration when curating authors, as long as there's attempts by them to drive engagement it's okay with us.

Thanks for the reply, I'm glad some curators take this into consideration.

As for engagement, looking at the number of comments alone doesn't tell the whole picture either. If an author replies to every comment, that means that the engagement inbound is half of the comment number. Then how many of those comments are "Nice post boss" or "I found this very interesting" - these should be disregarded as there's a good probability that the person didn't even read the post. Just as there's (subjective) value in post quality, the same can be said for comments and engagement.

You get pretty good responses which shows that people actually read your content and take some time out to write a decent reply. It's not always the case though if you look around. Generic comments I think should just be muted, they aren't adding any value to the chain (but that's just my opinion).

Yeah for sure, a quick glance at the comment section usually helps with that though. For instance there's days I don't even read the full post of certain authors like tarazkp as I know he's not just shitposting or trying to take advantage of autovotes, etc, often times I find myself reading more of the comments rather than the full post. Just as an example as he's someone I've curated and supported with my votes for years manually.

Same can be said about ocd voting, we often get recommendations/nominations on what to curate, it's not necessary that we always re-read everything other curators/community curators have recommended for votes but a quick glance at the comments on the author's post or the comments of the author themselves usually paints the picture quickly and easily. You can tell if they've at least been trying to not just reply to comments on their own posts but attempted to build connections with others, even if they're too new to not receive a lot of engagement themselves, that's usually enough for us. The thing I don't like is when authors don't even try yet somehow get big and consistent votes landing on their content.