Peace, Sunflowers and Kindergarten

in ThoughtfulDailyPost10 months ago (edited)


Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Reinhold Niebuhr, Lutheran theologian


signal-2023-07-09-230106_002.jpeg


Driven by the storm, a blanket of mist lay down to sleep, allowing my soul to close its eyes to the world and sleep, sleep. sleep. Acknowledge the peace, accept the gift, and let it go with the wind.


signal-2023-07-09-233135_002.jpeg


I'd like to make the world a better place, for you, for me, and for the rest of the world. I have to wonder what makes peace so difficult to achieve. Can anybody possibly like living in turmoil, or amongst hate? Some days, the work is harder, challenging myself with positive thoughts, and tossing the negatives behind. I will begin again, all over again. Do your thoughts run wild, do you keep them in line? Are you with me or do you go it alone? What is one thing you can do to turn this world around again?


Your kindness allows the warmth of friendship to shine through. Have you ever noticed? Kindness has a ripple effect, everytime. I think we have to keep spreading it around. Compassion is the cure and love is the answer to it all.


image.png


You can go it alone, but, I find that there is power in numbers, a friend in need is a friend indeed, everything like that. All weekend all I could think about were ways to work together to build a better world, one that I would be happy to leave my children and their children when that day comes. Somehow, we managed to sling enough mud that nobody can see the beauty because of the mud in their eyes. I would say we need to clean up our act.


signal-2023-07-09-233048.jpeg


Life is better with friends. Friends don't let friends do stupid things. It isn't complicated and I don't want to get deep. Being a good human isn't that difficult nor does it take rocket science. Sometimes when you are feeling like the grass is greener in the other pasture, rarely is it. Be happy with what you have got and don't try to steal another's grass. Basic kindness. If you are not familiar with how to be nice, ask any kindergartner. Everything you ever needed to know about life, you learned in kindergarten.


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten
By Robert Fulghum

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.
All I really need to know about how to live
and what to do and how to be I learned in kindergarten.
Wisdom was not at the top of the graduate-school mountain,
but there in the sandpile at Sunday School.
These are the things I learned:
Share everything.
Play fair.
Don’t hit people.
Put things back where you found them.
Clean up your own mess.
Don’t take things that aren’t yours.
Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody.
Wash your hands before you eat.
Flush.
Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you.
Live a balanced life—learn some and think some and draw
and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day
some.
Take a nap every afternoon.
When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic,
hold hands, and stick together.
Wonder. Remember the little seed in the Styrofoam cup:
The roots go down and the plant goes up and
nobody really knows how or why,
but we are all like that.
Goldfish and hamsters and white mice and even the little
seed in the Styrofoam cup—they all die. So do we.
And then remember the Dick-and-Jane books and the first
word you learned—the biggest word of all—LOOK.
Everything you need to know is in there somewhere.
The Golden Rule and love and basic sanitation.
Ecology and politics and equality and sane living.
Take any one of those items and extrapolate it into
sophisticated adult terms and apply it to your family life
or your work or your government or your world and it holds
true and clear and firm. Think what a better world it would be
if we all—the whole world—had cookies and milk about three
o’clock every afternoon and then lay down with our blankies
for a nap. Or if all governments had as a basic policy
to always put things back where they found them
and to clean up their own mess.
And it is still true, no matter how old you are—when you go
out into the world, it is best to hold hands and stick together.


image.png


The beauty is obvious. However, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Just as flowers always color my world. Flowers. Always. #alwaysaflower For me, for you. Nothing compares. For you people out there, you know who you are: Thank you for being the very example of "kindness" You inspire me. ❤️ And just like that, this post is over. Come back tomorrow and we will do it again! The end!


turtle the end.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces, and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


Denise photo.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, just how amazing it really is. Me, I try to do my part. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.



Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg


Sort:  

Oh but sometimes the grass is greener in the other pasture. I like to look and see. It can bring about good changes, I believe.

I suspect you are right! I'm sure you have looked/ accessed and gathered the best changes for you.

I hope all is going well and keep cool! This heat is ridiculous!

Poetry, poetry again. With rhyme and without, but still poetry, Denise, you're back to poetry.
What a pity that poetry is made for those who speak the same language... the others, like me or others who know the language much better, I, at least, can't understand the deeper meaning, which most of the time isn't even written. It must be understood, and intuited... otherwise, it is very beautiful and true. We must make a better world to leave to our children. A dream! A utopia, unfortunately. Not a second goes by without seeing how bad the human race has become.

You mentioned friendship. That's right, something beautiful that can save this world we live in. Once again it happens, @dswigle, my most recent post was about friendship!

You know, Denise and you'll forgive me, that I have a problem with poetry, though I love it. In fact, I have a problem with myself, that I haven't been able to get as close to poetry as I should...

I'm glad you're getting back into the rhythm of posting, I hope whatever was holding you back is no more and we'll have the pleasure of seeing you more often.
This week be good for us and splendid for you!

It was mainly time, Dan. Time was not on my side and I kept having to go away for different things. I always have less time when I go away, or no internet or no computer (I have never been able to post well from the phone, in fact, I don't even try anymore) So, I bought a smaller computer. We will see how that works out.

You should not worry about not getting close to poetry. You have a gift for spinning stories, taking a subject, and explaining it well. I do neither very well, being in a hurry, no time and poetry sometimes doesn't even work. I am trying to get back to posting more, the only thing I give up is a little more sleep. :)

You posted about friendship also?? We are once again synched up. :)

Thanks for dropping in on my post, Dan. I really need to fix my notifications, I never know when anyone drops a post anymore. I need to fix my settings somehow.

Have a great Wednesday!

Oh, time! I suffer from lack of it too, although I don't do much, I don't even go to work anymore. But I've chosen to be a servant in this life... I try to serve, help and make those around me feel good, Magda, son, granddaughter, friends, and other relatives. It always happens that someone needs me.
Of course, I also receive from them... appreciation, affection, and esteem. But generally, the servant doesn't have much time for himself!

I can't post from my phone either and, like you, I don't even try.

For different reasons, we both make quite an effort to be active in Hive. You, who take so much time to reply and comment. Sometimes I read your comments to other colleagues, maybe it's not nice, but because they are visible to everyone I think it's not a crime. It helps to get to know people that way.
I struggle with English, translating, and correcting mistakes. Then editing photos, drafting the story, and sometimes looking for information. It's all time-consuming.

Good thing we can still do it, we're still here. I hope and wish you and me to be here as long as possible. If we take it from close to close then I must wish you another good week!

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

!LUV

Thanks @wesphilbin! Much appreciated!

Loading...

@dswigle, @thoughtfulposts(1/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Positive words to start the week, only thing I totally forgot is to take an afternoon nap!

Thanks for lovely photography, wishing you a wonderful day from a cold Durban with snow on the ground in most high lying regions throughout the land!

!LUV
!LADY

Snow in July! Now that one puts a new twist on my thoughts. No matter how many times I have seen snow in the middle of my summer, I cannot put my head around the world not spinning on my time. Kidding of course, but even having crossed Africa in summer, my mind tells me that it must be so wrong.

Never give up a nap when your body says yes to the mess it wants to correct.

Good morning from here to your afternoon!

Happy Monday!

Love the winter months, possibility of snow always gets everyone super excited down here, many stream up inland to catch a glimpse or show the youth what snow looks like!

This is an unusual event as they have snow arriving all the way across from the West to East including Johannesburg where work will stop for everyone to frolic a little in the white stuff. Needless to say many will be a lot colder too...

If I sleep during the day or even lie down it disrupts my night, I push through by taking walks around the garden.

Afternoon shoutout now, have a wonderful day!

I have never napped, for the exact reason. A wonderful day is surrounding me! Thank you and you do the same! XO

Enough time to rest one day, for now too much exciting happening around us when we look. ❤️

@dswigle, @joanstewart(1/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dswigle and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

When I left Calgary a friend of mine gave me a book titled "All I Ever Need to Know I Learned from Watching Star Trek." It was less a book on morals and more one on how to react to certain situations. It was a fun read. I need to hunt that down to read it again. Perhaps surprisingly, considering that the primary focus of the book was Captain Kirk and his actions/reactions, there was less of "punch him in the face" as suggested actions and more of "what would Kirk do first in an uncomfortable situation". It was fun.

Brilliant! I used to be less thinking it through and more acting on instinct, but over time I have worked on the action/reaction.

That would be a fun read, I am sure. What would Kirk do with the world today?

Good morning, Victor!

What would Kirk do with the world today?

Well, in this case, he actually just might start by punching people in the face!

Oh, Kirk! Have you learned nothing? :)

Some days it's hard to digest the world hey Denise? I know the feeling, but you hit the nail on the head - every day is an opportunity to do it again, only better. I try every day to do something kind to someone in my life. Whether it is sharing a joke to lighten the load, a word of sympathy, a pretty photo or a smile, it starts with things that take no real effort, just a bit of thought and radiate from there.

Here is one from my garden just for you 🌺

Edibles (1 of 1).jpg

Yes! That is it, Emma... do one nice thing for a person in your life and let the love radiate out. I have never understood someone that doesn't get joy out of life. If there is no joy, then what? Living in a world that is full of hate or even a joyless world? It just doesn't appeal to me.

You are a lovely person, just trying to make the world a better place. I get that and wish more people thought like that. I feel that if I do it enough, even the most curmudgeonly one, will flip to the good side if bothered enough by happy people.

Thank you for the flowers, the words you left, and for being you!❤️

I really enjoyed reading your post. It was full of beautiful imagery and thoughtful insights. I especially resonated with your message about the importance of kindness and compassion. I think you're right that we all have a responsibility to make the world a better place, and that kindness is a powerful force for good.

In a perfect world, that would be the way it should happen, but it seems as if people would love peace and expect to go out to their mailbox and get some.

We need to work on it together. I hope we can achieve that. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your words.!

Beautiful and such inspiring words to do good. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Indeed love is the answer.

Yes! Wouldn't it be beautiful if the world could see that same vision?

I myself like to visit such places very much because the way you can see in these pictures are the natural views and forget all the troubles of life.

Thank you. I am glad you like the pictures, but even happier that you like to visit places with natural views.

Most welcome

Making the world a better place is my aim too and I hope I get to achieve that
Your pictures are beautiful!

Now for the rest of the world to get on board! I hope you achieve it!
Thank yo for your kind words.
Have a wonderful day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 164 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

!PIZZA

@dswigle, @pixresteemer(4/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@dswigle(1/5) tipped @pixresteemer

 10 months ago  Reveal Comment