Smokey eggplant bharta - Hive top chef

DSC_7228.jpg

This week on Hive top chef the theme is "smoky".

Although as someone who lives on a plant based diet, the first thing that comes to mind is smoked meat. I live in Montreal which is famous for it's smoked meat.

The vegetable I think of when the word "smoky", comes to mind is aubergine or eggplant.

I have been wanting to make this dish ever since I had it for the first time last year, in a vegan restaurant that I had once worked in. They have a general variety of dishes, not specific to any one culture.

When I saw eggplant bartha on the menu, I had to try it. It was an Indian dish done by a Canadian chef in a restaurant owned by people from France.

It was pleasant enough, however, it didn't leave me with a longing for more anytime soon. Why? It just lacked depth and it was on the watery side. The spices were too subtle for my liking and it just wasn't wow. It also was absent of smokiness, which to me is what this dish is all about.

The smoky theme provoked me to recreate the dish to my liking. This is a very simple recipe with not too many crazy ingredients.

DSC_6990.jpg

The spices used can be found anywhere.

Eggplant bharta
Eggplant 600 grams
Tomato 400 grams
Onion 150 grams
Garlic 50 grams
Ginger 12 grams or whatever you like optional
Chilies 50 grams
Cilantro 10 grams of roots and a small handful of leaves for garnish
Cumin seeds 1 teaspoon
Dried chilies to your liking optional
Coriander powder 1/2 teaspoon
Turmeric 1 teaspoon
Chili powder 1 teaspoon
Garam masala 1 teaspoon
Salt to your liking

The amounts I used were weighed out but random. I don't follow a recipe. This was based on researching many recipes then doing my own thing. You could adjust all of these ingredients based on what you like.

The chilies don't need to be added if you can't handle it.

DSC_7003.jpg

The cooking of the eggplant on a flame is what gives it the boost.

I live in a small downtown apartment with no balcony so I decided to grill the eggplant on a butane camping stove inside. This is probably a bad idea but I did it. I like to live on the edge.

Before putting it on the grill, it needs a bit of preparation.

DSC_7008.jpg

I cut away the leaves so there was less chance of coming face to face with firefighters. It's happened before when I burnt some toast in the oven. Embarrassing.

DSC_7020.jpg

I put five slits lengthwise in the eggplant. This was a random number. I suppose four or six would be fine as well. I go by feel.

DSC_7023.jpg

I used chilies that were fairly big so I sliced them in half.

DSC_7068.jpg

You ask, where was I going with all of this right? Well some of you know, so I will be preaching to the choir. For those who wonder, I would insert the pepper, and garlic into the slits.

DSC_7061.jpg

This is a common way to grill the eggplant for this dish.

DSC_7075.jpg

If you don't like spice don't add the chili of course. Marc and I have a high spice tolerance.

I should have added more pieces of garlic but I only added one in each slit, on a few slits.

DSC_7075.jpg

Making the slits also helps to get the heat inside to cook the eggplant through. I suppose a larger fire outdoors would not require this.

Brush the eggplant with oil to help char the skin.

DSC_7082.jpg

Now for the fun part!

DSC_7090.jpg

I used a grill from my barbecue to sit on top of the burner. I kept the flame on medium high.

DSC_7100.jpg

It was turned around and flipped to ensure an even roasting.

DSC_7105.jpg

A success!

What I mean by that is that the fire department was not involved. Yes the smoke alarm went on and off throughout this entire process. I have to admit it was quite intense but fun at the same time.

DSC_7115.jpg

I decided to stick the tomatoes on the fire for some extra fun. Why not? I got away with the eggplant.

DSC_7117.jpg

After removing the eggplant and tomatoes from the fire, I covered them in a bowl while I did some other preparation.

DSC_7123.jpg

This made it easy to remove the skin on both items.

DSC_7134.jpg

The eggplant can be smashed but I just chopped it into a kind of mash.

DSC_7137.jpg

The tomatoes were diced and had the seeds removed. I didn't get the tomatoes that I wanted which were Roma tomatoes. These were quite watery so I strained out the seeds and put the juice aside in case I needed it.

DSC_7141.jpg

I wanted to make sure the eggplant wasn't too watery so I placed it in a sieve. It didn't have much moisture left so I was happy about that.

DSC_7148.jpg

I started by frying the cumin and chilies first until the cumin was fragrant and starting to pop.

DSC_7151.jpg

The onions were added and cooked until tender and translucent. After that I added the ginger, garlic, chili and coriander stems.

DSC_7157.jpg

I had the heat on medium at this point to cook thoroughly without burning.

DSC_7159.jpg

The ground spices were added. I suppose they could have been added sooner, but it was fine.

DSC_7161.jpg

The tomatoes were added and cooked through.

DSC_7162.jpg

I added the eggplant last. Surprisingly the whole thing was well concentrated. I wanted it to be thick and it was.

DSC_7166.jpg

After cooking for a while I realized I could add the tomato juice that I had strained out earlier. It worked out perfectly. If I didn't keep it, I would have added water but this was better.

DSC_7176.jpg

I made rice but I also wanted a flatbread. I like to make my own and have it fresh. It's really quite quick to do.

I used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, a pinch of salt then adding enough water to form a dough. I also added a tablespoon of oil and kneaded until smooth. After resting for 10 minutes I formed balls and rolled out flat. They were put on a griddle and flipped back and forth until golden. I'm no expert at these things but they always turn out pretty good. Anyway this is about the eggplant

DSC_7210.jpg

I added a salad to this to cool things down.

DSC_7229.jpg

We like our spice and often add hot sauce to already spicy dishes, but this time we met our match.

DSC_7223.jpg

This dish is also known as baingan bartha. It was much better than the first one that I had, if I do say so myself. Then again I aim to please myself and that's usually how it gets there. There were no leftovers, except for the rice.

DSC_7238.jpg

Thank you for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 and are of my ownership

Sort:  

As always dear @carolynstahl your recipes are spectacular and we can see how you enjoy what you do, your happy face is very significant of how tasty your food is, I would love to try it personally. I congratulate you from Venezuela and I take this opportunity to thank you for your visits to my publications, yesterday I made a very typical meal from the coasts of Venezuela, prawns with garlic. I wish you always the most beautiful in life.

It's always a pleasure to receive your blessing of a lovely compliment. I thank you with all my heart. I wish you the best my friend!

Your message is very beautiful and hopeful, my dear @carolynstahl . Mine will always be very sincere, wishing that everything is very beautiful for you. Greetings from Venezuela

Your version looks amazing! I bet it taste great tpo. I usually am disappointed too when dinning out. So many chefs under season their plant based dishes. We love spices at our home. Have a beautiful day 💚

It's true they think all vegans like plain food haha.💚

Cook with a delicious and perfect dish, you prepared it very well, I love this dish☺️ thank you so much @carolynstahl for sharing the best recipe here☺️

Aww thank you so much!😊

Mission Impossible, ha ha ha ha. I'm glad you could cook the eggplant on a flame. That changes everything! As usual, your dish looks amazing and tempting; I must say, I don't know if I can handle chilies like you do, though I love a little in my food. Your table looks lovely, dear friend. I could have it oil painted on a large canvas and hang it on my kitchen wall. Big hug!

You're too kind my friend. I think without the chilies this would still be good. We just like to punish our tongues sometimes. I may be ready for a break though.

Thanks for the nice comment. Hugs!

Hi, I was thinking the same but my style. Before I come home my husband Chopped aubergine in very small bites. And I had only one aubergine. But you made it very traditional some different than I made it. I love this this is my fav. that is the real smoky recipe.
Thanks for sharing and this is the winning recipe I am sure. A big hug💖

Oh it means a lot to me that you approve. You are the master of these dishes. Thank you for your support. Hugs.😊❤️

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

Thank you very much

what a delicious dish, I think that will be the one for this weekend, I liked that recipe and the provocative photographs helped much more, thanks for your post

Thanks my friend. Have a good weekend!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 180000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 190000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

Awesome thank you!

That's great @carolynstahl! We're thrilled with your commitment to Hive! Let's go for this new goal!

This eggplant bartha recipe looks delicious! I love the smoky flavor that you get from grilling the eggplant and tomatoes over an open flame. And the addition of the chilies and spices really gives it a kick. I'm definitely going to have to try making this dish myself.

Thank you my friend. Smoky eggplant is my favorite way to have it but I don't always want to use fire indoors haha.

So healthy and rich @carolynstahl. This dish is so extra ordinary by cooking it on a flame. Its looks so traditional. Thanks for sharing with us. Blessings of the new week.

Very tasty your recipe, before I didn't like eggplant, but now I have found a very versatile vegetable in the kitchen with many nutrients and I have managed to prepare amazing recipes. Thanks for sharing this delicious version of vegan smoked meat. Greetings.

I am truly very thankful for your nice comment! Have a great day!!