Here's A Female Outlaw You've Never Heard Of

in #history5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas! Today I have a story about a little-known outlaw that I think you'll find interesting. Her name is Pearl Hart and she was a small time thief out West in the late 1800's.

She was born in Canada and came from a good, middle class family but she fell for a dirt-bag gambler named Fred and they eloped, she was 17 at the time. They went to Chicago where Fred worked as a barker for the Columbian Exposition and she worked side jobs.

There were two major influences in her life that hit her at that time. One was when she attended one of Wild West shows and saw Annie Oakley perform. The other was at the Chicago World Fair and listened to some women speakers who were activists talking about feminism.

She loved the idea of being out in the Old West, which by this time was disappearing, and she saw herself as a strong, independant woman. Which she wasn't but wanted to be.

Pearl married a real loser

Fred was a lousy husband. He was drinking heavily, he gambled all their money away and he was abusive so she left him and traveled West to Colorado and became a popular saloon singer. She also found out she was pregnant with Fred's baby so she went back home to Canada and had the child there.

She didn't stay there though, she liked her lifestyle in the West so she left the baby with her mom and went South again, this time to Arizona. She worked as a cook in a restaurant and Fred found her and convinced her to give him another shot at marriage. He promised to be more stable and get a steady job, which he did.

More bad choices

The problem is they started going to all the gambling halls and Pearl started smoking and drinking and even started smoking marijuana and taking morphine which was the drug of choice at the time.

They had a second baby but their marriage deteriorated. Fred was bored with married life and was tired of supporting a family. He knocked her unconscious in a big argument and ran off to join the army. Wow what a worthless pile of crap. Good riddance scumbag!

Pearl then goes back home to Canada but she couldn't stand it, the call of the West was still on her so she left to go South again, leaving her two kids behind!

This lady made more bad decisions than I can keep track of! She almost reminds me of a female Elmer from a couple of posts ago! lol. It's sad really, not funny, so I shouldn't be laughing.

Pearl chooses another idiot

Ok, so she goes back to Arizona and hooks up with a cat named Boot, he was a real winner also, trying to be a miner. It wasn't long before she got a letter from her brother in Canada saying that their mom was sick and they needed money for medical bills.

Well shoot, Pearl needs to come up with some money fast because that's not just her mom we're talking about but her babysitter! Pearl sure as heck doesn't want to have to go back to Cananda again and get stuck taking care of her own kids! Heaven forbid.

Well Boot comes to the rescue because see, he's been thinking about robbing a stagecoach! lol. There are very few left in the whole nation what with the proliferation of railroads everywhere but there is one that he knows about.

This is like Pearl's dream come true. She'll get to take part in a real Wild West event, ride a horse and carry a gun..just like she's fantasized for years.

The big heist

The day of the robbery came. Pearl had cut her hair short and dressed in men's clothes to diguise herself. The stage hadn't been robbed in so many years that they didn't have a shotgun guard, just the driver.

Pearl and Boot jumped out in front of the stage and stopped the driver. Boot held up the drive while Pearl had all the passengers get out and empty their pockets, purses and wallets. She collected a little over $450 which in today's money is about $14,000. She felt a little compassion however, and gaveback $1 to each of them. lol.

5u5swz3th8.jpg
source

So far so good. They rode off into the desert. The problem is, they didn't know the lay of the land and didn't know the desert. That means they got lost and basically rode around in circles.

The third night they were camped in a grove of trees with a nice fire going at night. When they woke up the next morning they were surrounded by the Sheriff's posse.

The trial

The trial went very well for Pearl. She was charming, it was her first offense, the jury felt compassion after hearing that she was just trying to get money for her mom's medical bills. She was very convincing on the stand and they acquitted her.

The judge was highly upset though and said that she had "flirted" with the jury. He put together a new jury and tried her for the illegal possession of a firearm.

This jury didn't buy her story and she was sentenced to 5 years in the Yuma, Arizona Territorial Prison.

The girl had spunk though. While she was waiting in jail to be transported to prison she dug through a wall and escaped. She was caught soon after but she was already getting lots of press coverage so this event only added to her fame as a "lady bandit."

Once she got to prison she was given some special treatment like and extra large cell and access to reporters who kept coming around for interviews. Of course the warden loved the press coverage so he was delighted so the perks continued.

This prison photo looks awful rough, I think it was staged by the press for dramatic affect:

zuh4huthxl.jpg
source

The press built her up saying that she was the only female bandit to ever hold up a stage, which wasn't true. Belle Starr held up a stage and there was one other female who held one up. They also said that this was the last stage coach robbery in the Old West and that wasn't true either but what can you say, does the press ever fail to exaggerate?

Pearl didn't serve her 5 years because she got pregnant again! The warden said she was paroled for good behavior but everyone knows that he didn't want to explain how she got pregnant while in his prison. lol.

She did give up on her criminal behavior though. She married an Arizona rancher and lived a quiet life until she passed in the 1950's.
eo119pzyj6.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

w2mancg7k6.gif

PS- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

You keep a fly swatter in the car so you can reach the kids in the back seat!

pa1lmrk9lf.png

sig9qtwq7b.png

Sort:  

Howddyyy @janton sir a great read ...though these are never been familiar to me...pretty odd stuff untill I came across your post

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy sir steemflow! yes sir there are some strange stories that I tell but they are all true which makes them even more strange! lol. Thanks so much for reading and commenting! I'm so far behind on steemit that I haven't made it over to the League results yet but I bet you did well!

Haha...do not say that sir. You have set a bar and it's getting impossible for anyone to breach through it. ...not even me. I was almost out last couple of weeks due to some festival and homely stuff. the best surprising thing, even though you are not considering yourself in still no one is dare to get closer to you......steem on...you got those robotic hands to comment so fastly and rapidly..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @janton!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.902 which ranks you at #4090 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 4095).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Howdy there steem-ua! Thank you for the upvote and for helping so many of us, God bless you!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

well howdy there esteemapp! Thank you for the upvote and for the fine platform!

The choices people make never cease to amaze me!
I'm nominating this to @c-squared!

ha! Ain't that the truth Melinda? It seems that some people don't learn from their mistakes very well. Thanks so much for the nomination!

My pleasure! I'm glad she found a rancher who wasn't an outlaw!

Yeah it's amazing that she finally made a good choice in men! It's a rare happy ending for one of my stories lol.

It is a good ending! Certainly better than old Edgar what happened to Asher today. Have you heard what's up?

If I remember right last week he wrote that this week's contest results would be delayed but I don't remember for how long. I'm sure someone knows.

Oh, I missed that. I did know he is traveling. Pretty sure I was down last week and I am not at all motivated today, either. I think it's time to take a break

These stories never seam to have a very happy ending do they @janton?
😂
/FF

Howdy there friendly-fenix! Well most of them don't but this one did because she got married, settled down and apparently lived by the law the rest of her life. I guess that makes it boring compared to alot of the people I write about though!

Oh, oops I just missed that last part after prison, I guess that was probably happy...

/FF

howdy back sir friendly-fenix! Well, for one of my stories it's surprisingly happy! lol.

I guess I skimmed through it too fast, stopped at the warden being happy with all the media attention at the prison, and then missed that part about her being happy ever after on a ranch somewhere... =)

Well sir friendly-fenix people tell me that I need to make my posts shorter and most of them are but I wanted to fit the whole story in this one because it wasn't that long of a story but it did make the post longer so I assume that most people skim through. But I appreciate your reading and commenting!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much c-squared and thank you for helping so many people!

Another fun story. You really have a nack for taking us there.
This gal has spunk!

Howdy tonight rebeccabe! Thanks for the kind words, yeah I admired her spunky spirit too! She should have come to Texas and she would have fit right in!

@janton,

Great story, great write!

Lousy subject, though. Call me judgmental, but I've never been impressed by the adventures of shitty people, male or female. Someone had to pay the price for her excitements ... her children and her mother for starters. She's lucky I wasn't on the jury ... I'm a very convincing fellow and I possess a healthy respect for karma. :-)

Quill

Howdy sir quillfire! haha! I know what you mean, about half of my stories have been about criminals because people like action stories so that's good and bad. They usually get what's coming to them but their adventures are about them being bad and causing trouble! But they do have some entertaining tales.thanks so much for reading and commenting!

She looks really tough I those pictures. It's kind of remarkable how she just settled down after all that! I wonder whatever became of her kids. Great post, and very informative! :)

Howdy snowpea! Thanks for the kind words. Yes I think she finally picked the right man who wasn't a thief, that helps!

A happy enough ending. :-)

haha! yes sir Vincent, for a story of mine it's a "lived happily ever after" story! lol. But I keep asking people what kind of stories they want to hear and they say the want action! But most action stories of the Wild West involve death. lol. But hopefully they're not boring.

So far, all your stories are interesting. :-)

thanks, I'll try to keep them that way but no guarantees! lol it's hard to hit a good one every single day.

Wow, interesting lady. She must have been charismatic. I'm glad this one has a good ending.

Howdy ginnyannette! what, you're saying my stories don't have good endings? lol. I know, well I ask people what kind of stories they want and they say ACTION! But most action stories from the Old West involve people getting killed! But at least they aren't boring, hopefully. This is a good story for a Sunday. She lived happily ever after. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Ha, I meant "happy" ending, not "good" ending. Your stories are good even when they aren't happy.

I like your stories. When I have free time in the evening I like to stop and read them. A good bit of history that I am not familiar with.

Thank you so much ginnyannette! I should write about Florida's history when there were still Indians and how all that went down but I wonder what people refer to that as? I mean over here we had the Old West but over in your part we had the Old East I guess but I've never heard it called that before have you? Or do you know what they called it when it was being settled? Or are they still trying to settle it? lol.

Hmm...that's a good question. I don't think we have a name. I don't believe much was going on in south Florida until much later. St. Augustine was the only happening place for a long time. The Florida crackers were trotting around here, cracking their whips and so forth, for quite a while though :)

My immediate area has a lot of historical landmarks involving the Seminole Wars and Osceola. Interesting stuff.

So the Seminole wars were to drive those tribes out of Florida? What are the Florida crackers? The only crackers I've heard of are the slave drivers or foremen who would crack their whips.

It's been a while, but from what I remember there were treaties set up that were not in the favor of the Indians, but they had little choice. I believe it was the Treaty of Moutrie that agreed the Indians would take land west of the Mississippi and hit the road. Osceola didn't like this, and skirmishes began. By that time the natives from my region, the Timucuans, had long since died out. The Seminoles had become one squished together group of many different native cultures.

I don't know much about the Florida crackers. I think they are mysterious figures in history. The "cracker" comes from them cracking their whips on their cattle I believe. They were outcast white people that kept their own company. They existed on cornmeal, which I think has something to do with another theory as to how they got their name "cracker", but I don't recall that story.

Very interesting story. I wonder what happened to her kids while she was in prison?

Good question sir Keith. I assume they were in Canada with her mom. I read several articles and wikipedia about her but no one mentioned her kids and what happened to them. I'm hoping when she settled down on that ranch she gathered her kids there but who knows?

Sometimes I don't know what is funnier, the story or the way you write them, lol. Well, I thought I was stupid back in the day, lol. At least she learned her lesson and got herself a good guy after all.

Yes Miss Lena it was a very happy ending for one of my stories wasn't it? Perfect one for a Sunday. Just don't get used to it. lol. I guess you never drove so you didn't keep a fly swatter in the front seat! lol

Well the joke is hilarious anyway, lol.

Oh, happy ending indeed and I will not take it for granted, lol.

Good afternoon janton, I love these old names, I haven't heard of a modern girl called Pearl. For a girl who made dumb decisions, she did not end up dead which is a blessing. Living a quiet married life must have suited her in the end. I wonder what happened to her children?

ps: Using a flying squat to reach the back seat sounds a little painful for the kids, lol.

haha! howdy angiemitchell! I haven't heard the name Pearl either, it's a nice name. It's good that she gave up on crime and lived peacefully. I think she finally found a good man. I never saw anything about her kids or what happened to them though.

Those fly swatters sting! Have you ever been hit by one? lol.

Yes, and they do sting.

Bad choices is a bit of an understatement! How a mother can abandon her children is beyond me

howdy buckaroo! Very true and especially back in that day it was unheard of but at least she left them with her mom and probably knew they were better off than with her. I think she got them back later in life when she settled down though. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy there steemitboard! thanks for keeping track of all this stuff for me!

Congratulations @janton! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Howdy steemitbloggers! Thanks so much and God bless you for helping so many people!

Wow Pearl's life is dramatic! What a female outlaw but I have to say her guts is unusual and the twist of her life in the end took a turn. Thanks for sharing this story with us @janton!

#steemitbloggers

Howdy happycrazycon! She was pretty unusual and she did finally make some good decisions so it was a rare happy ending for one of my stories! lol. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, I hope you're doing great and are as happy as ever!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 82000 replies. Your next target is to reach 82500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well howdy there steemitboard, thank you for keeping track of these numbers for me!

Why is it always a "Fred"? Worst life choice my daughter had was "Fred"!

What a colorful gal! I was thrilled to see that she finally figured out that the Wild West was not what it was cracked up to be. She ended up living the true Western life though. That is good.

Thanks for a great post. Really enjoy your stories.
Ren

Howdy this fine Monday Ren! Yes this is a rare happy ending for one of my stories, lol. I was glad that she finally found a good man and I hope she got her kids down to Arizona with her, I couldn't find out anything about her kids and she kind of dropped off the map, most researchers think she changed her name and that's why they lose track, then getting married to a rancher and being out of the city would help too. Thanks so much for the kind words and for reading and commenting, you've been on my list to visit for days now but I've been offline quite a bit and I'm very behind sorry!

No worries. I have been a bit behind with the creation of the @heyhaveyamet account and the discord server. I need to go back and see what wonderful adventures you have for us.

I was also wondering about her children. I know I regret man things that I did and didn't do towards my kids. I just can't imagine she would have just left them. Makes you think, huh?

Ren

Howdy again Ren! Yes Ma'am well I tried to find out what happened to her kids but none of the accounts mentioned them. I have my own theory though, I think when she got her life straight and married that rancher she got her kids down from Canada to be with her. The researchers think she changed her name so they lose track when they go back and try to find out more.

Yeah, that would be easy enough to do; especially back then. I hope her kids came down.

Howdy this fine Tuesday Ren..I assume! lol. I guess sometimes people don't know which one they're talking to! Well I think she got her kids back when she matured a little and settled down but then people think I'm an unrealistic dreamer. lol.

Nothing wrong with that.

Jeez! That woman was a disaster!

haha! She should have been married to Elmer, what a couple they would have made. lol. I couldn't find anything out about her kids but hopefully she got them down to Arizona and that ranch.

There is PEARL again you know I love her snd want to be like her 😉😉💪

lol! But she was an outlaw brittandjosie! We wouldn't want you to get thrown in prison! lol. I know what you mean though as far as her having spirit and spunk! And she did finally make a good decision as far as marrying a good man. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Except for the jail part I feel her in me 😉

I agree brittandjosie, you would have been a force to be reckoned with in the Wild West!

Am I allowed a sabal and say MAY THIS FORCE BE WITH YOU I would love to do that like in the movies 😉😉

haha! Howdy brittandjosie! And you would be excellent at that, movies or real life! lol.

You are right, I hadn't heard of her but I have now. That warden would have some explaining to do for sure, but if he did some guard would have gotten the blame.

Howdy sir sultnpapper! Yes sir, I thought it was really funny that the warden was enjoying all the attention for his prison until she got pregnant and then all of a sudden she gets a miracle pardon to get rid of her! lol. Thank you sir for commenting!

A miracle pardon to go along with that miracle pregnancy I guess. It may be have been the second coming of Jesus...

lol! good one sir!

Where do you learn all these things?

Great story - have you considered writing a novel?

#steemitbloggers

Howdy today mattifer! I do a ton of research and spend way too much time doing it. lol. I like to find interesting characters that no one has heard about but I also like to write about the famous ones and set the story straight on some of them like Doc Holliday and Wyatt Earp.

Usually I find a story like this by accident while researching someone or something else and that's what happened here when I was researching about favorite weapons in the Old West then I got sidetracked to stagecoach robberies which led to women stagecoach robberies which led to Pearl Hart. lol.

Thanks for your kind words!

That's awesome! I'm picturing a compendium of short character sketches for your book. That way you don't have to write a storyline per se, but you can still tell all the stories. :-)

Howdy back mattifer! That would certainly be a way to do it, I'll have to think about that!

What a great story! I would have never found this in the haystack that is the internet and stories.

Pretty good tale of bad decisions, and a rough life turning out alright. Damn Canadians! ;)

Yeah thanks Canada! lol. I'm sure some of our worst criminals went to Canada and infected them so I guess we're even. Thanks for your comments sir zekepickleman, this story is unusual for me because most of mine don't have happy endings at all so this was refreshing!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 14.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

thank you so much steem-plus and thanks for helping so many us!

Outlaws always make for good stories! This is yet another funny one.
She does seem attractive in the first photo; and what spunk!

howdy sir deepwaters! yes sir she was full of spunk and spirit and unlike most outlaws she changed her ways thankfully. Thanks so much for commenting!

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @Appreciator. Just keep up the good work.

Howdy there appreciator! Thank you so much and God bless you for helping so many!

Congratulations @janton!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 6 with 66 comments

Well howdy there arcange! Thank you so much for this mention!

Leaving kids with grandma and then running off to make some more. Some things never change. At least she stopped before she was killed or disabled. That camp fire is probably what got them caught. Good points about the press. Even back then eh?

Howdy squirrelbait! yes the campfire was dumb, the posse just followed the smoke signal, good point! They were pitiful in their planning. But that other guy she was with, Boot, he got the book thrown at him because he didn't have a sad story to tell, he was sentenced to 30 years!

BUT, he escaped, and they never caught him, they're sure he went to Mexico. Thanks so much for your perceptive observations and comments!

Wow, that really was a Wild West Life she lived hey Lord Janton! If only she could look after the children she brought in to this world then it may have worked out better for her but the itchy feet of the adventure grabbed her... sounds familiar...

Naughty Sheriff I'd say for "allowing" her to get pregnant again. Thanks for sharing the misfortunes of poor decision making of this young and badly influenced young lady!

Howdy again sir nickyhavey! I know she made many dumb mistakes and I left out a few of them just so the post wouldn't be too long! lol. But anyway, at least she settled down after she married the rancher and I think she got her children down here from Canada but I can't prove it. Researchers think she changed her name so they lose track of her when the trace back in time to find out about her. Thank you for the kind words and for commenting sir nickyhavey!

Haha maybe you could have done a series on her mistakes, like a trilogy! Sounds like she was pretty elusive in more ways than one!

Posted using Partiko Android

ha! yes sir nickyhavey, well sir...I did leave alot of stuff out but I was told by several people that readers have a short attention span. Like about 1,500 words so I try to make mine short. Do you have a theory about that or you don't have to worry about it because your popularity is so great that it overwhelms any length issues? lol.

I don't know about a special number of words. I think if you just keep it entertaining and break up the text and make it flow, it's all fair game.

You may have misjudged my popularity there Lord Janton Haha! I just write whatever I feel I would like to read in a way I would like to read it, which seems is not the same as the next person, which is fine as we are all different 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! I think you might be underestimating your massive popularity sir nickyhavey! lol. But on the other subject, I bet we could find out how many words on average a person pays attention to when reading before they start skimming. Of course I hope the number would be higher for steemit users. I might do that if I have time tonight.

Lol, well I appreciate the sentiment Lord Janton, even if it may be a gross exaggeration of reality 😀

I don't know how you would be able to uncover how many words people will read but I think on a blogging platform it would probably be a bit more than on other non-blogging ones. Let me know how your tests go young beaver!

Posted using Partiko Android

The press reporting the "truth" even back then too...nice!

ha! yes sir that's pretty funny to expect them to do any different back then. And back then people didn't have access to fact checker sites and things like that so they just believed what they read. At least we have different sources now. thanks for your comment sir simms50!

Darn Canadian women! :)

I love love love this one @janton! She did have spunk, but the whole leaving your kids behind doesn't sit well at all, does it! Sometimes it's so crazy, you can't help but laugh a little though :)

I guess the warden got some perks too out of the whole thing hey? ;)

These stories seem so long ago, but the fact that she died in the 50's makes it fairly recent ... or I'm just old LOL

I submitted this baby to c-squared too :) Nice one!

oh thank you Lynn! If I'd known you were going to like it I'd have spent more time on it because I rushed through it like crazy and left some things out! I thought it was getting too long. But about her kids, that's unthinkable and even more so back then! But my theory is that when she married the rancher and settled down she got her kids with her. Researchers think she changed her name because no one can find her after a few years, like she disappeared. I tried to find out what happened to her kids but no luck. I think my theory is right though. lol.

But yeah, thanks Canada! we'll take some more criminals please. lol.

You're welcome @janton :) I know there's always the fear that if our posts get too long, the short attention spans here won't make it to the end :) I hope you're right about her kids, but man, she would have had some making up to do to them at that point!!

We kick the criminals out of Canada :)

howdy Lynn! yeah I'm right about Pearl and her kids, I can feel it! lol. Yeah thanks Canada, like we don't have enough of our own criminals!
Hey you know alot about formatting posts right? Or do you just give off that impression? lol. Whenever I center a picture for my posts then anything I type in after that gets centered, the paragraphs. But I'm not crazy about that look, what do you think? Like the post I did today is like that. I haven't read how to have it not center what I write after I center a photo or image. Any ideas?

Hey sorry, just saw this today. I'll go over and have a look, see if I can help :)

Very impressed with thieves? I see

p.s the joke is very much relevant in our place too :D

Howdy again hananali! Who is very impressed with thieves? you?
The joke: you guys use a fly swatter to swat the kids with too? lol. some people would call that abuse. lol.

haha that is just to reach out to them because mostly when kids are in their mood they won't notice early to your call and this makes you all mad over them :D

I am impressed with you and you are impressed with thieves so I am pretty much impressed with thieves ( in other words) :D

Cool story. It has some great educational benefit for people today. Whenever you hear old people complaining about how lazy and irresponsible young people are today, show them this blog post. Whenever you hear people talk about how immoral and nutty the ladies are today, intending not to raise their own children and expecting their parents to do it for them, show them this blog post. When you hear people talk about the drug culture and yada yada yada, show them this blog post. These kinds of things have been happening all through history. Even Plato complained about the youth of his day.

Secondly, when you hear people talk about how tigers can't change their stripes and there's no such thing as redemption, show them this blog post. The lady finally settled down. Too bad it wasn't Canada.

haha! howdy sir blockurator! Thank you so much for the excellent comment and yes sir you are so right about those points! She made so many dumb mistakes but finally settled down and became a fine law abiding citizen. She finally got a good man too, that was probably the key. I couldn't find out about her kids but my theory is that she brought them to Arizona after she straightened her life out and got married to that rancher.

Circumstances made for some strange choices but also she seemed to enjoy them...
Heya @janton
Merry Christmas :D

Howdy there kaerpediem! so good to see you..yes she made terrible choices until later when she matured and found a good man. I think finding a good man was a key turning point for her. Thanks so much for reading and commenting and Merry Christmas to you too!

It is the company you keep ...:)
So I am glad I met you on this Steemit journey :D

Well howdy again kaerpediem and thank you for the very kind words, I can say the same to you!

Pregnant in prison ?
How in the world could that have happened !

Howdy there ireenchew! Well back then they didn't have all the camera's everywhere watching everyone like they do now. My wife is a jailer and everything is monitored and controlled nowdays but back then they could do whatever they wanted to the prisoners. I'm sure she used her sex appeal to get special treatment and favors which was common because all the guards were men back then.

Nowdays in our county jail at least, the women are only guarded by women guards so the temptations and attractions of the opposite sex are not there. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

With her taste in men, I sort of wonder what that rancher she finally settled on got up to...

howdy again sir fotosdenada! that's a good question. Researchers haven't found out much about her later, a few years down the road because they think she changed her name so they lose track of her. I chose to believe it all worked out well for her and she got her kids down here from Canada, that's my optimistic view!

Fascinating story @janton, I wonder what happened to her children. Let's hope they had a better future:)

howdy lizelle! I couldn't find anything about the kids but I choose to believe that since she married a good man that she got her children down here from Canada to be with her. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

That warden was definitely the father

Posted using Partiko iOS