Random Movies From 2008

in THE 2000s2 years ago

WALL-E has a powerful message personified through the fat President, "I don't want to survive, I want to live." That is a mantra in my life. Take off your mask and live life. WALL-E is part of my DNA. WALL-E is not the Matrix in the sense that it doesn't deal with virtual reality. Well, actually, it deals with something even worse than VR. It deals with augmented reality (AR) which runs parallel with smart phones, Facebook Meta, etc. The Dark Knight blew me away as a fan of Batman. Joker was really well done in that movie. I was anticipating that film for so long and it was exciting to watch it.


Wanted is a crazy cool Angelina Jolie action film which premiered in 2008. Kung Fu Panda is a funny animated Jack Black movie which is fun to watch. Hancock was a surprising Will Smith anti-hero like movie. Smith plays this drunkard version of Superman.


Random Movies

The 2000s | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009


The Two-Thousands

Decade-Hub | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | The History Channel


MY NAME IS OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ABOUT | CONTACT | FIND | GROUPS | SUPPORT | AUDIO | ARTICLES | PHOTOS | MUSIC | STORE | VIDEOS | WEBSITES | ETC




WALL-E 2008 walle---blogroll-1604651447059.jpg


WALL-E is an awesome animated movie all about a future where we are stuck in a spaceship.


Random Movies From 2008
Oatmeal Daily - 2022-01-01 - Saturday | Published in January of 2022


BY OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ACCOUNTS | GROUPS | LIBRARY | PEOPLE | PRINCIPLES | PLACES | ARCHIVE | FILES | GAMES | LINKS | MAPS | NEWS | TIMELINE | ETC


MEA OMNIA MEANS EVERYTHING

SEARCH | TOPICS | DIRECTORY | HISTORY | ARTS | EDUCATION | ENTERTAINMENT | GEOGRAPHY | HEALTH | LANGUAGE | LAW | LIFE | PLAY | POLITICS | RELIGION | SCIENCE | TECH | WORK | ETC




Random Movies

Here is a list of some random movies I saw that year. I may have seen some movies that year or after that. I may have seen older movies (from previous years) that year as well. I may have seen some of these films in theater or elsewhere. This list may not be complete or entirely accurate. Most of the dates on this list are of when these movies premiered in U.S. theaters. I may not always know exactly when I saw some of these movies.


The Fight Club

I first saw The Fight Club movie starring Brad Pitt in 2007 or 2008 during the summer at Camp Kuratli via like a VHS tape. Probably not a DVD disk. It was in the movie room on the side of the gym there where I would also watch other movies by myself or sometimes with friends those two summers of 2007 and 2008. I sort of remember some of the movies and everything we watched those two years but I don't always remember which movies and when and everything. The ending of Fight Club blew me away. The fact he is one person is revealed at the end. The end blew me away because a building or buildings blew up. Not sure if he dies or is somewhere else. I would write and talk about the movie with people many times for years since then. The movie premiered in 1999.


Rambo

2008-01-25 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I saw this movie in theaters in California or Hawaii in January or February of 2008 with Lincoln Hawk. I'm trying to remember where and when I saw it exactly. It had a lot of blood. Rambo is played by Sylvester Stallone who was also directing the movie. He was a Vietnam veteran. I love this movie. I thought it was cool. Perhaps I saw it in Honolulu for my 23rd birthday which fell on Monday, the 11th day of February of 2008. So, I probably saw it that exact day in Hawaii. That is my best guess.


Jumper

2008-02-14 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I probably saw this movie before 2013 at Matt Kurtz's. This movie stars Hayden Christensen who played Anakin Skywalker, AKA Darth Vader in Star Wars. His character here is a jumper, a person who can jump or teleport.


Iron Man

2008-05-02 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I'm not sure when I saw this movie but I love Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man and I've seen some of his Iron Man movies or at least bits and pieces of them over the years. I like them. I like the character. I didn't think too much about the Iron Man character before this movie. The character reminds me of a fancy technological Power Ranger version of Batman.


The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

2008-05-16 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I probably watched this in theaters since I was a big fan of the talking lion Aslan. Almost 1,300 years has passed. This is the third movie of that reboot series. I was a big fan since seeing the UK version of films in the 1990s. I'm think more time should have passed because if 100 years or a very long period can happen in a few seconds worth of time outside of Narnia, then how much time can pass after a few years outside the Matrix or I mean Narnia? If there are millions of seconds in a year and each second is worth a year, then you can do the math. But these are only rough estimates and it is just a silly story meaning it doesn't matter. But that is just the nerd in me looking for plot-holes. The story within Narnia itself is pretty amazing. I enjoyed watching this third film. It might be the best of those three films. Wait, this was the second film.


Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

2008-05-22 - Thursday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've been a fan of the Indiana Jones movies since I started watching them in the 1990s and this one was interesting. I probably saw this one in theaters or at least before 2013 at the latest. Probably in theaters I think. This may not be the best entry in the series but it was unique with the aliens aspect to it. It may have bad execution like the Star Wars Prequels did. Well, the story plot of this movie may have some potential to it.


Kung Fu Panda

2008-06-06 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


Not sure when or where I first saw the first of the Kung Fu Panda movies but probably before 2013 and probably not in theaters. I love this animated comedy Jack Black movie and the entire series in general is exciting and funny and I recommend them.


The Incredible Hulk

2008-06-13 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I probably saw bits and pieces of this before 2013. I like the general story and character of the Hulk growing up in the 1990s. This movie is interesting and a little cool.


Wanted

2008-06-27 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


This Angelina Jolie movie came out in June. I saw it in July in theaters in Oregon with Mike Kurtz. I thought the movie was awesome. It was action packed. Part of me saw just because Angelina Jolie was in it, I had a crush on her, I had a thing for her. So, the same teenage boy inside me that went to see her in Tomb Raider in 2001 went to see her again in Wanted in 2008 just seven years later.


WALL-E

2008-06-27 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I saw Wall-E in theaters with Mike Kurtz and friends in June or July of 2008 in Oregon. It is a cartoon science fiction movie set in 29th century earth. Humans are in a spaceship over earth which is now a big dump of trash. WALL-E is a robot who falls in love with female robot EVE. Like Adam and Eve but with robots. The human President said, "I don't want to survive, I want to live." I think that is the exact quote the fat man said. I would quote him many times in things I wrote and I would say it too sometimes for years since then. I love this movie. It is one of my favorite movies of all time.


Hancock

2008-07-02 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I probably saw this in theaters in July of 2008. Will Smith plays a drunk Superman-like character. So, it is kind of like The Boys in the sense that Hancock is flawed like Dexter Morgan as opposed to be totally perfect and without sin. I enjoyed this 2008 movie that Will Smith movie which contrasts the 2007 movie Will was in called Seven Pounds. This movie was fun to watch. I probably saw this movie the summer of 2008 and probably in July. I think I recommend this movie for what it is. A pretty simple story but it is interesting still.


The Dark Knight

2008-07-18 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I believe I saw this Christian Bale as Batman movie in July of 2008 while I was working at Camp Kuratli that summer. I probably saw the movie with friends. Well, I am not exactly sure of the details of when and where I saw the movie but I was a big fan. The Joker character in this movie is amazing. One lady at camp was a big fan and we even watched one or both of those 2 Batman movies that summer one day. I was there with her and friends at camp in that room near the cafeteria watching it with them. It was fun and I enjoyed watching it and I enjoyed being with those people. I don't know if I was being introduced for the very first time to the Christian Bale version of films at Kuratli. My guess was no. My guess was that I already knew about it and may have seen some of it before the summer of 2008. I am a big fan of Batman and especially of this Christopher Nolan trilogy version of Batman. I recommend it. It might be that Bat Girl hooked me on Dark Knight the summer of 2008. Perhaps I didn't see Batman Begins before that or maybe I kind of did but was not addicted until that summer.


The X-Files: I Want to Believe

2008-07-25 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't see this movie until like years later, probably before 2021 and yet I can't say exactly when or where. I would watch the TV show in the 1990s and then later on saw the newer seasons that came out in the 2010s. I love X-Files. This particular movie was ok but not as good as the last several seasons which came after that.


The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

2008-08-01 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've seen like bits and pieces of this movie over the years and later on too. I find the Mummy movies as exciting and interesting in some ways. This one has to do an ancient Chinese king. He comes back to life. That is really cool.


Tropic Thunder

2008-08-13 - Wednesday - U.S. theatrical premiere


If I didn't see it in theaters, then I eventually saw it before 2013 at the latest. I think I saw it as funny and cool and interesting as a movie starring Ben Stiller, Jack Black, Robert Downey Jr. Oh, it was also directed by Ben Stiller too.


Star Wars: The Clone Wars

2008-08-15 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't see this movie until years later. Maybe before 2013 but I can't say exactly when. But it was after I started watching the TV series which started after that in 2008. This movie was a pilot for the series which I started watching maybe around 2010 or at least before 2013 at the latest is my guess. I was religiously watching the entire series each season and each episode as soon as I did start getting hooked on it and eventually went back to watch this movie. As a big fan of Star Wars, I was all in.


City of Ember

2008-10-10 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


2021-05-26 - Wednesday - 10:30 PM - 12:29 AM. I saw this movie in May of 2021 at clams via DVD and a big TV.


I saw this Bill Murray movie in 2021. Humans live in a city underground. Kids find a way out. Bill plays a mayor who is stealing all the food and knows that but doesn't want people to know. It's a kids movie but I enjoyed watching it. Produced by Tom Hanks.


Changeling

2008-10-24 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I probably saw this before 2013 or I don't know when but probably not in theaters. This movie was direct by Clint Eastwood. Angelina Jolie plays a mother in 1928 Los Angeles. She comes home and her son is missing. The plot continues through from 1928 to 1935 meaning the nine year old son would have been like 16 in 1935. I think she eventually finds her son in the end. I think the movie was amazing as a historical window into the 1920s and 1930s. I enjoyed watching it.


Quantum of Solace

2008-11-14 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


Not sure exactly when or if I saw this particular James Bond movie starring Daniel Craig but I've seen the 007 films since the 1990s. I've been a fan since then. I'm a big fan of the character and I sometimes would watch the movies. I love the music and it reminds me of Mission Impossible starring Tom Cruz. I love secret agents and their license to kill. I love the memes. I love how he loves women. I love the need for speed to quote Top Gun. I love action. I love drama. It is part of my DNA at a very core level to my nature.


Twilight

2008-11-21 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I saw this at somebody's house in March, April, or May of 2009. I found interesting. I was curious. A little funny. I like vampires as I watched a little bit of Buffy in the 1990s. Not my favorite kind of movie but I knew it was popular and so wanted to see it to see what the buzz was about. I wanted to study the film. It was interesting to see how he played the vampire. The love story is interesting and I liked it. The movie was well made. I saw it within like a month of seeing Lincoln Hawk in 2009 in Long Beach, California. Therefore, most likely in April 2009.


Seven Pounds

2008-12-19 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't go see this Will Smith movie but the trailers were on my mind a few times. But I was not interested in seeing this movie and therefore didn't bother. The plot is all about how you should be an organ donor which is insane because if you go to the hospital and you're an organ donor, then they will cut out your heart or liver or whatever they want while you are still alive and run off with your body parts. In many countries around the world, including the United States of America, the USA as of 2021 and for too many years now, they do this. Abortion is bad. Give your baby up for abortion and stop having sex until you are ready to have a baby. Don't be an organ donor. I am against this movie because sex trafficking is bad and stealing organs is bad.


Valkyrie

2008-12-25 - Thursday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I saw this in theaters around Christmas in December of 2008. I believe it was before January of 2009. I saw it in Portland, Oregon. I probably saw it with Dennis Tipton or whatever his last name was, he lived in the apartments building, Alder or Alders Housing Apartments. I would watch movies and shows at his apartment a few time around 2008-2010. I think I went and saw this movie with him or I went by myself. I think I went with him. The movie was a little interesting and a little boring. I like history and was curious. The plot is set in 1944 Germany or Tunisia.


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

2008-12-25 - Thursday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't see it in theaters. So, I probably saw it in theaters or before 2013 at the latest. It is a crazy cool story of a character played by Brad Pitt who gets younger as he gets older and he is a baby when he is an old man.


U.S. Theatrical Premiere

The dates I've provided here for U.S. theater premieres are from Wikipedia. I've listed these dates to help me know a general ballpark as to when I might have seen some of these movies in the big screen. Movies would play in the cinema for three months or less, generally speaking. A lot of movies stay in theaters for no more than a month. Many of the movies would come out on VHS video or DVD within a year after their theatrical release. Some of them come out on video within as little as three to six months sometimes. Some movies are released direct to video and are not shown in theaters.


Random

I included random movies, some which I may have seen and some which I may not have seen that year or any year to date. Not every movie may be listed. I may have watched older movies from previous years during this year as well. This is basically a rough draft outline of a few movies from this year. I've included notes to reminded myself of when I may have seen some of these films. So, some of these movies I may have seen not that year but in following years after that.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joeyarnoldvn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 4400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 4500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!