You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 15: Funny or interesting

I have been always afraid of heights(and thousands of other things). So, in order to get over my fear, I tried trekking, parasailing, Bungy Jumping, and last year, paragliding.

But when I was trying paragliding for the first time, I kind of freaked out, lost control, and almost dropped down the hill. Got some bruises. My parachute got stuck in some bushes, otherwise I would have ended up with broken bones.

But I was high on adrenaline, so tried again, and enjoyed paragliding for almost 45 mins.

One of the best memories of my life.

It was kind of scary at the moment, but when I think about it now, it's kind of funny.😅

Para1.png

para2.png

para3.png

Sort:  

OMG that had to be scary! I don't think I would of had the nerve to go again after an ordeal like that!

lol, try bungy jumping and then think what's scary.😅

Good point! haha I'm not sure you could pay me to bungee jump or go gliding, my feet belong on dirt. Zipline is probably the most extreme I would be willing to try in that type of activities.

Zipline, okay👍

That looks insane and terrifying but fun all at the same time! We have a zipline in the Rockies I want to try but nowhere near this crazyness! These dudes are talented with their parachute tricks.

Yepp, they are extremely talented.

, I tried trekking, parasailing, Bungy Jumping, and last year, paragliding.

As many times as I've suffered injury I've always had a strange fondness for my body and the way the various pieces are attached. Therefor I've never, not ever once considered any of those. Well except maybe trekking and parasailing but only crazy people Bungy Jump and Paraglide. Really.

It's a great story. That which does not kill me can only make me stronger.

Lol, the only thing I am scared of getting injured is driving bike in my country(India).

There is a high chance of getting killed. I had two major accidents, in one, I almost lost two fingers.

A lot of people die driving bikes here. Travelling through bikes is the most common means of transport.

I think @firepower one of the oldest steemian/hive, was injured in a bike accident, and was bed ridden for multiple months.

So, while doing adventure sports, I am only concerned about heights. I am concerned about injuries only on road. LOL...

And btw, I was doing rafting in 2018, and my raft turned upside down. I could have died drowning. When I did bungy jumping, a month later an accident happened over there, and the site was closed for 3-4 months. The paragliding site in Assam is still closed, 2 years later, because someone died in an accident while paragliding.

Lol, I never thought about all these things until now. Good thing is I am done with all these things. Always wanted to go for hang gliding and sky diving, but these things were not available in my country.

Maybe in next life then.

I've watched some hang gliding guys. I've got two pictures to show you.

Hook in Now.JPG

Mingus Mountain View.JPG

Taken from the very same spot!

Looks like fun and incredibly scary at the very same time!

Yepp, it's really fun to fly🙂

Yeah, his accident was bad.. But he recovered quite fast and did more adventures.. Never stopped him..

That's really great. I had a severe accident on my bike in 2011, didn't ride again for 2-3 years.
I just used my bike when I had to, otherwise car or activa.

But then I bought Desert Storm in 2017, been riding and enjoying it. It's really a fun experience. Just a little worried, don't want to get hurt again.

yeah, that has to be worked on.. I have been in crazy accidents too.. But hasn't held me back.. In fact I was advised never to ride again because of my spinal injury.. But I still continue riding..

Woah, spinal injury, that sounds somewhat extreme!

Yeah.. kinda is.. but doesn't stop me..

This might surprise you, but I have some crazy friends. A couple of them have ridden motorcycles all over the world. I was always invited on their trips and always had work considerations...

One year they went to India, bought scooters locally and took off. They were at it a month when they decided they needed to check out the Hindu Kush. One buddy ticked a rock wall on the way down and ended up going down. He said he was probably OK until the bike ran over him and broke 3 ribs.

His wife helped him to decide that he was done riding, and in fact they have been living out of a motorhome since. But he now has a scooter on a rack behind. I KNEW he couldn't quit :)

Yeah, I know it is very hard to quit this riding thing. I haven't travelled much on my bike, but just some local places. But I enjoy going on solo 4-5 hours ride every now and then.

It's really a different experience.😅

There are a couple of the guys in the long distance motorcycle world that are also in the long distance bicycle world. We were camping at a remote place one weekend and these two guys showed up on bicycles. Had ridden about 130 miles to get there. We treated them like Rockstars!

I bungeed once...Felt pretty weird jumping off a perfectly good platform but it was quite enjoyable. The free fall is a rush, a little alarming, but once the cord catches and bounces you back...A pleasing experience. Nah, don't need to do it again. :)

My brother bungied once. In the Rockie Mountains in Canada, I think. He was telling me about it and said the rush was just insane.

I asked if he was going to start bungy jumping at various exotic locations. He just gave me a hearty 'Fuck You.'

Haha, yeah I'd double down on the fuck you...Not something I'd do again I think, unless someone dared me and it was worth my while. It was a good experience though, I'm glad I did it. Quite empowering.

You know? I don't like carnival rides. They are just way far out of my control for me to have any peace with the damn things.

I have taken my breath away plenty of times with mistakes on a MC or a car. I don't need artificial stimulation.

I don't go on carnival rides either...I'm not a fan of dizyness.

I get what you're saying though, we won't do such and such but will feel completely vindicated to do something infinitely more dangerous. Some of the stuff I've done...I'm surprised I'm alive. 🤣

Some of the stuff I've done...I'm surprised I'm alive

The honest to God truth. When I turned 30 we had a 4 day party and I announced to all comers that I was on bonus play for the rest of my life and that I would behave as if that were fact. In many ways I have.

lol, some of the stuff I have done, I am surprised I am alive, this could be a line in next Mission Impossible movie.😅

lol, same, I was quite excited that I was gonna bungy jump. I thought it was gonna be like the movies, I will enjoy it.

Just before I was going to jump, my legs started shaking. I was terrified before jumping, but I thought that I was never gonna get another chance. Plus there was no refund policy😂.
So, I thought, what the heck, I jumped. Coudln't think of anything or scream when I was falling, I just froze.

But once the cord catched me, I screamed a lot. Don't wanna try it again, lol. Paraglyding is good enough for me!😅

Lol yeah that no refund policy is a motivator for sure. I'm glad I jumped, felt quite empowering, but I'd only do it again if someone dared me to and there was something to gain.

3-4 years ago, I would have tried anything, I was a meek kid. So, I had this idea that the more I push myself, the more alive I will feel. It worked for a couple of years.

One more thing that I did, that I won't repeat is, jumping in the sea, with a life jacket on and having no idea how to swim.

Lol, I had to go down the boat slowly, but I kind of jumped from the boat, got under water for a couple of seconds(that was really scary) and when I was up, I was screaming to take me back. But after spending a min or two in the water, and holding the stairs of the boat, I calmed down, spent some time there.

boat stairs.png

water.png

It was kind of fun thing to do at the moment. Especially when my astrologer told me when I was 21 that I would die drowning in the water. I was there, and thought, this could not kill me, atleast not today. Lol. Was an amazing moment.

It's fun growing in life from being scared to everything to not easily being scared from getting hurt, physically or emotionally. And not being scared of dying.

I can't say I would strait up jump in the water but I can't swim and still go whitewater rafting, kayaking, canoeing and all that stuff. I just don't know what I would do if I ever fell in tho. Altho I am somewhat comfortable with my mortality that if I die doing something fun in the Rockies, I kicked the bucket happy.

I have done rafting, and tried to swim in a swimming pool, and river a bunch of times.

But deep sea dive is completely different stuff. If I had known it was so scary, I would not have jumped. I thought water is water, lol. I was wrong.

It's different when you can not see the bottom.

I understand perfectly. I am a strong swimmer, and love the water.

But I get it from my motorcycle riding. I've ridden over 50 years and know I am just a bad left turn from a car from dying. I'm ok with the risk AND the reward.

If a Buick does get me, don't mourn. Say instead "He had a hell of a run."

It's brave to jump into deep water whilst having the fear of it...Many would not do so. It's also good to hear that it was a positive experience.

I've never had a fear of dying, I don't want to just yet, but we're all going to so we may as well live life the best we can right?

So, you're older than 21 and haven't drowned yet...Have you called your astrologer to ask for your money back?

lol, he is a kind of family friend. I was 20-21 something, hormones doing their thing, I was behaving differently. Don't know.

So, mom asked him what's going on with him. He said a bunch of things. I remember the thing about water because I wanted to go to water park with friends, and mom didn't let me go. Said I was in danger. Lol.

My Dad didn't know how to swim, the nearest water to where he grew up was a long ways away.

He loved to fish, though and owned several boats. I don't know that he ever went in water over his waist, but he had some fear to overcome just to get on top of the water.

I have somewhere written a goal that I will learn to swim before I turn 30. Don't know. There aren't many swimming pool around here. And just one river.

The nearest beach must be thousands of Kms away. So, I have to be really commited if I want to learn. I think I am okay as of now, not knowing how to swim.🙂

Like the proverbial fall off the horse get right back on and try again. I think paragliding would be fun but I have never tried it, but may one day.

lol, I tried horse riding, it wasn't for me. When I almost fell off a cliff while paraglyding, I wasn't scared much. But when I was riding a horse, I was so much scared. If I had fallen off the damn horse, I would be terrified of that creature for my life.

I was happy that it was a good horse. Never gonna try horse riding again.

I was surprised at my first horse riding experience, I thought it was pretty fun, and somewhere back in time I must have been a cowboy or an Indian because I was pretty good, but it was most likely I had a very smart horse.

That's a cool story of personal triumph over one's fears! I've done some bloody stupid shit on my day, but I don't think paragliding will ever be one of them. I've heard it's amazing though and is a lot of fun once one is up there. I like things with engines on them though.

!ENGAGE 25

Yeah, its really a fun thing to do. You just glide...everything seems good from up there.

Everytime I travel through planes, I am little bit uneasy, but while paraglyding, I feel really comfortable.

Guess I trust parachutes more than engines😅

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It's funny now because you made it in one piece. I've never done that. Not sure I'd have the nerves to try. It must be a unique feeling.

Lol, I think if I was hurt, I would have definitely tried it again.

You are a daredevil. I admire that kind of determination

haha, I am no daredevil. Actually I was completely scared of everything most of my life.

I was mostly scared of:

  1. Talking to strangers
  2. Heights
  3. going out
  4. being on my own
  5. I was kind of bullied when I was a kid, so, standing up for myself whenever something wrong happened with me, scared me

There were thousands of other things I was scared of. Anyone, who hasn't met me in the last 6-8 years, who meets me now, will be shocked to see such changes in my personality.

If you open my profile, I am completely full of self development stuff. I have been doing that from last 3-4 years.

Changed myself a lot. So, pushing myself to things that I am scared of, is one the things that I have used to grow my personality.

Nothing big to it.🙂

Wow friend I imagine, this answer was perfect, I liked it... Good thing you improved and used self-development.

Nothing big to it.🙂

Yeah, there is. Big to all of it. That's a just remarkable story and I really appreciate your sharing it with us.

Thanks a lot. So many people were interested in my stories, and so many comments. It's the first time I have interacted so much in a single thread on hive.

Feeling wonderful about it.

Well, I'm glad you came! We do this every weekend! It's great fun every time.

It's good in overcoming your fear. You made something different but well, incidents as long not that bad can make it more fun. You faced your fears and at the same time I think you're enjoying it now.

It's not something I do regularly. I have just tried it a couple of times. I think, unless doing paraglyding is your passion, you get bored of it. The same landscaped you are flying over.

But yeah, I am little bit more comfortable looking down from my second floor balcony now than I was 4-5 years ago.

Its a kind of faling but Im sure it gave you lesson to learn on how make perfect for rhe second time around.
Keep safe all the time.

Yeah, the first time was shitty enough, I didn't want to repeat it. So, I didn't made the same mistake again.

What! I thought it made you stronger.

Lol, could say stronger enough to go for second try!😅

There will be a sweetest thing happen in the second time around.

You are braver than me - just the thought of it scares me :D

Lol, I am sure you have done enough crazy things in your life too.😅

Not at heights though - I was scared going up the stairs of the Eiffel Tower =D

Maybe, you should try this then😅

bungy jumping 3.png

bungy jumping 4.png

Excellent adventure, I recommend you also free skydiving is a fabulous feeling.

Very good experience, I imagine for you it was a real adventure🚀🚀

Yeah, will try someday. It's not available in my country. So, if I visit some other country, I will try it for sure!

How brave you are, this is no fun. For me it would be history of terrror haha.
I hate heights, and I wouldn't dare do something like this.

I used to hate heights too. 3-4 years ago, I wouldn't have tried something like that. But once you try it, you get over it.

Wow!
Good, you decided right away to try again. I am sure it was a breathtaking experience!

Loading...

Omg, I can't believe this, I also do these kinds of activities to overcome my fears, but it's good that everything went well at the end... I always thought that I was not afraid of heights until one day I decided to walk along the edge of the top of a building and fear paralyzed me just when I looked down, my body began to shake and I remember ordering my brain to move but could not then since that day I assumed that I am afraid of heights but still I dare to any adventure

lol, I think adventure sports is safer than walking on the edge of a building😅

Hahahahahahahahaha, It is, but I was .... Idk 😂😂😂😂 I was testing myself but I don't do that anymore, I love adventure

Testing yourself is good🙂