My VERY last comment about Hive (probably)...A rant...No, I'm not leaving.

in OCD4 years ago

I mean this, I really do.
Honest.
I cannot keep going around in circles (and circling the drain).

lllp  Copy.jpg

This is a flawed system, and nothing I say will change that.
I'm not going to even bother trying anymore.

It does me no favors and it wastes my time.
Some people get off on hitting their heads against a brick wall, but it ain't my gig.

The only way I can stay not involved in this place, is to extract myself from it.
Hitting your head against a brick wall, and caring about the wall to, is definitely a recipe for disaster.
I can only be involved with something that I care about, and as time goes on, I'm caring less and less.

I might still throw in my 'two penneth' now and again, but it wil be rare..(honest).
My posts will be no longer be hive related (with the possible exception of piss taking videos at the current insane asylum).

If you see this as a negative take on hive (steem), then you are part of the problem that I'm talking about.
For the purposes of this post, I will just use the term Hive, although much of it refers to the time when 'we' were 'steem'.

This is a critical look at things.
If you're unable to see facts for what they are, and 'feel all negative' about others pointing them out, then that is your problem.
It's a problem that runs throughout the ecosystem. ( I'll come to that later).
Hating the messenger for the message that's being delivered, is about as childish as it comes.
'Childish' is a term that comes to mind far too often, for me, in regards to this 'blockchain' world.

Lets call this social media 'blockchain world', four years old.
That's around the time that the 'social media blockchain' has been up and running.

I was looking at the stats on @arcange 's post the other day, and something really struck me.
How tiny the user base of hive is. (I think the current hive system has taken many from steem, but lets be generous to steem - and for the sake of argument - lets call it 50%.)
So, 50% of users are here.

lllp  Copy.jpg
Hive is hovering on the 4000 posts per day

And what is the average number of posts per day, per person?

I don't know for sure, but I recon that a lot of people here post more than one time a day.
Lets say they post twice (for the sake of argument).

That then means the user numbers - based on posts and posting two times per day - is only around 2000!!....FFS.
So being generous (again), lets call that 4000 active accounts per day, on both platforms, posting.

After 4 friggin' years??????????!!!!!!!!!!

People keep 'launching initiatives' to onboard more people,to improve retention rates, etc, but to fail to see this glaring reality in front of our faces.
To not understand that there 'something else' going on here, is being willfully ignorant in my opinion.
People are not coming to the platform. (or staying)
Period.
While positive actions can be laudable, enthusiastically painting a house that's riddled with woodworm just ain't gonna do the trick..and is not laudable.

SO....

Inflation of the token (more supply) reduces the unit value of the token, all things being equal. This is math.
The 'reward pool' is inflation (of the token).
This is the system.

llll  Copy  Copy 3  Copy.jpg

So increasing the value of the token is dependent on what?
More users?
More investors?

After the recent and ongoing debacle highlighted by the fork from steem, I can't imagine one serious investor on the planet seeing the current 'product' being a worth while risk (long term, not speculating on price).

Anyone with a brain in their head that's not the color of emerald, can clearly see the fragility of the ecosystem.

Trustless? lololol...yeah, right...

After the recent events with the HF, it goes to show the fact that you are not in control of your own crypto account.
That is a harsh – but very real - fact.
The rest is wishful thinking and hopium.
This is one of the reason I'm powering down.

...Throw in the 13 week 'lock in' time as well, and you get a time frame that's too long to allow for an investor to react to crypto market conditions.
So we also have a product that is not attractive from that perspective.
As the system stands right now, lets discount investors to raise the price/value.
I see nothing to attract a long term investor, not one that owns any working synapses, anyway.

Ok, so now it leaves the problem of users, and growth...

'Build it and they will come', as they say....

But here's the thing – It has been built – for four years.
And they are not coming.

The question 'why not' is the next one....

llll  Copy  Copy 3  Copy.jpg

There is something far deeper involved in this structure, and one that makes it an unattractive place to be, for many people.

'the average user doesn't understand crypto'

Truth bomb ...'They' don't care. It's not their problem.
It is yours, though, if you are looking to grow the base.
The faux intellectual superiority expressed, and calling the rest of the world 'average' or 'stupid' for not giving a shit about crypto, ain't gonna onboard many other people, now is it?

I was talking to @edicted the other day, and he said something that really struck me.
(I'm 90% sure it was him, anyways - I've scrolled back through the comments, and I can't find it to confirm)

It was along the lines of how he 'didn't care' about an account worth only a few hundred dollars and who 'claims the rewards 10 times a day.
(I have nothing else to do but switch around pages while I'm thinking, and if there is a reward claim, I claim it).
He also mentioned my concern about losing small amounts of money, to which I stated, that whether its $20 or $20,000 its the same principle, and I do not like my property being taken off me. I 've also never been rich enough to not look after my assets carefully. )

I'm not having a go at @edicted, btw, but it is a perfect example of the 'wrong attitude' running throughout hive, in my opinion.

This is another one of the reason that I'm powering down.
(So thanks to @edicted. Seriously. I like being made to think!).

And that's another thing while I'm at it... powering down.

What is it with the the negative attitude and morale superiority expressed in these parts, when it comes down to other people doing what they want with there own assets?

Do you think that attitude makes for an attractive user experience, an inclusive platform?

The attitude goes something like this...

'You can come and post and make crypto, and be all happy clappy, but if you dare to power down with your own assets, we will see you as a pariah, and a traitor to the hive ecosystem'

And P.S....and if you do power down, you can kiss my up votes goodbye.

llll  Copy  Copy 3  Copy.jpg

That's nothing short of dark shades of an authoritarian communist mindset, if you ask me...
'you do it like I say, as I wish, or you will be punished'.

Yeah, that'll work out just fine and dandy as a strategy to bring more people into the ecosystem and stay...
That's about as an attractive a proposition as contracting herpes.

Most people are not lefty communists, and they like to be in charge of their own affairs - without the hive morality police looking over their shoulders, and without some kind of 'condemnation' from a community that is only amicable to them if they tow the 'hive' party line.

(And, when you also have the childish behaviors of idiots like the poison dwarf running around the place, it becomes more and more authoritarian in nature).
'I don't approve of you, I will take away your rewards.'. lmao....DPOS? It's fundamentally fucking flawed!

I ain't going anywhere, btw - I'm here because I'm doing what I want, and I never get on my knees to suck cock (no matter how small they are).

If this place doesn't change - and I mean fundamentally- I see it heading in one direction only...

So I will be powering down for now, and profiting from hive elsewhere, to then try and give back to the community that follows and supports me.
Have you seen any commies doing this? spreading their own wealth, voluntarily?
No, thought not..funny that.

Ok, rant over.

Well, no it's not actually, there is more to say - I just can't be bothered...

Sort:  

This place will never make it big because:

  1. It’s so damn boring and the quality is very low
  2. Way too complicated for people who don’t invest so won’t care about using their time to understand what’s going on here
  3. Seeing shitty posts getting a lot of money is very frustrating

This place won't make it because it will always be some shitty overcomplicated blogging platform?
Hm. If you say so.

At its core Hive is just a string of blocks that devs can embed JavaScript into.
Have a little imagination.

I say so. Keep living in your bubble dude. What do Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok and all the most popular app have in common? They are SUPER EASY to use...Why Reddit never made it that big? Because it’s slightly more complicated. Hive(steem) is way more complicated than Reddit so yes that’s a big reason why it won’t make it. 3 years ago I used to tell people about Steemit and also taught them how to use it, out of about 100 people do you know how many people decided to use it? The number is a sad 5 and of these 5 wanna know how many people actually kept using it? ZERO...

Seeing shitty posts getting a lot of money is very frustrating

...don't look at the 'selfie' payouts happening right now - you'll have cardiac arrest!lol

"People are not coming to the platform. (or staying)"

That's certainly true, but I won't write this place off just yet. True I had the same hopes with steemit but it didn't quite work out so well.

I think this platform remains one of the simplest ways to learn about crypto...it certainly worked for me so there's an advantage.

I also think the general crypto space affects the platform but I'm certainly quite hopeful of some turnaround (am an idiot, I know). It also would help if people set realistic expectations of this place before onboarding

...and if the vast majority have no interest in crypto, and just want a social media platform...?

What if they just want to post selfies?

https://peakd.com/@nicollefiallo

btw- do you have any steem you're powering down in someway?

blocktrades and ionomy aren't doing it, and my exchange doesn't have steem listed.
(if so, could I send you my steem, and give it back to me in hive -or ltc,....or something?)

Only 50 or so at a time?

yes each week i have about 80 steem and i have a keen buyer who gives me NZ$ for it - i have no frigging idea why but he wants it...

Nice rant! Im using huobi, no kyc and has hive and steem 😃

lol - rants seem to be my forte, periodically.

Nearly finished power down, no worries. Cheers.

So...is that a yes? lol
(and if so, when are you selling your next lot?)

Do you know how many girls I could get to sign up and do selfies for a few dollars? llolololol

Two months, and what has changed? Is the HF to finalize the airdrop done? I saw on discord that the HF is going to have other things in it, not just the airdrop settlement.

Do people still whine and complain about small accounts taking money out and not powering up? Yeah they do, they do not understand that commerce is a two way street.

Did all the 15 delegated down vote bots over on steem get airdropped over? I don't know, I do know the army leader of that group did. So no change in that.

Anyone that joins Hive needs to understand right off the bat what plagiarism is. The down vote patrols need to understand that an individual reposting their own stuff is not plagiarism. They want people to post their Hive post and links to facebook, twitter and yourtube, but by the Lord of Hive Almighty they best not post any of their Youtube, facebook, twitter crap on Hive.

Retention will only change when the down vote system and the witness retention selection system is fixed.

In the meantime, I will continue as I do, post on occasion, vote, and leave comments both neutral and opinionated, to let my opinion be known. I don't care if people like my opinion or not, having an opinion liked or disliked does not change my opinion. If a person thinks my opinion is wrong, then try to educate me, if they do not want to see, read or hear my opinion then don't post.

I still hold out for real change, but the people have lost their moral rudder, if they even had one.

Post a selfie of your rudder!

I am not into the selfie movement, I don't think I have posted a selfie of myself. If people want to contribute to the AI machine what they look like that is fine. I think the government has enough photos of myself for tracking purposes.

People rage against the machine, while the feed it what it wants.

Just kidding, I can't stand selftards really, but rudders are a creative frontier

I'm actually having a good time with Hive - I like it!

Your posts crack me up - be a funny cunt again.

image.png

I'll be 'doing funny' again, don't worry - it's the only way to cope with the insane asylum!
.... just as soon as my frustration dissipates...

Confirmed, that was me.

Personally, I think we should expect people to be people. If 60% of the world lives paycheck to paycheck, I think that's what we should continue to expect. Hive can still build value even if 60% of the worker bees are selling everything. That's how corporations do it, right? They pay employees a wage that is less than the value they generate. Sorted.

Long live wage slavery!

New boss, same as the old boss.

There's way too much focus on blogging IMO. We only have one "proof-of-brain" activity so a lot of people wrongly assume that will be the case forever. Hopefully more will see the value of this place when more meaningful work is being done and the wages are rightfully higher and more competitive. Hard to offer a competitive wage on content being offered for free. I'm still surprised people make as much as they do here.

Here's the example I like to give:

Imagine a puzzle game starts gaining some popularity. Players who like the puzzle game want more puzzles. They want more quantity and they want more quality. Normally in this situation the company that created the puzzle game now needs to hire people to create said puzzles because they need to retain ownership and keep everything closed source. With Hive, ownership can be delegated to the puzzle-makers themselves. Puzzles can be owned by the person that created them, and they can get paid, not by the time worked, but by the actual quality and demand of their work, just like an actual business. The return of work ethic is coming.

I'll use this comment as a basis for another blog - as it addresses much, and touch's on the other the things I was gonna rant about, but couldn't be bothered to, right now...
cheers

Yeah lets create a social media platform where one has to suck up to the wealthy accounts ,..

Steemit ... Hive ... Facebook .... It's all about who owns the place , and to get big the owners have to get on other media to promote the fuck out of it .... like Fuckerberg did ....

If Hive was perfect it would be destroyed fast by Fuckerberg's uncle Rothshit . Cause whoooo ... we might get rich or even wealthy from it .... Muhahaha .

So i say Amen to your post ... Hive sucks .. ;-)

I try to stay positive because IG and Facebook is so inundated with stupid biased stories that I actually try to find non censored information about the world and mostly politics over here. I don't understand why the people who are always complaining about getting deplatformed on Youtube don't make the jump over to 3Speak. I've tried to reach out to them but i am small potatoes and those deplatformed stars still post to YouTube anyway and just beg for Patreon donations.