Can I Reconcile Anarchism/Voluntaryism with My Faith? Wrestling with Romans 13

in #anarchy7 years ago

This by no means is a scholarly paper on anarchism, voluntaryism or anarcho-capitalism. It is, instead a reflection on how my political stances have changed over the years as well as it is an exploration of whether my being an anarchist is in harmony with my faith in YHWH. The results may be inconclusive. Perhaps there will be a part 2 to this post?

Freedom. Liberty. The ability to govern ones self. These concepts are incredibly important to me. But as a human being, I struggle with the desire to be lead by someone or something that is greater than myself. I say that I have this urge as a human because I do not believe that this is a condition that is unique to myself or others who might be "weak." If we only look throughout history, it is easy to see how people have always worshiped, exalted and submitted to others who they deemed to be greater, wiser, more powerful or more deserving then themselves.

But what happens when the authorities do not have our best interest in mind? What if govenernments never truly have the good of the people as their primary goal? What if it is impossible for fair, just and righteous governments to exist?

I am beginning to believe that this is true. I am beginning to think that no matter how noble a small governing body begins, in the end, this group will be corrupted by power and the pursuit of monetary gain for the few.

I happen to live in a country in which, if recorded history is true, was built on the premise that all men are created equal. That we had inalienable rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness (notice it does not say property!). And I know, in many ways that compared to other countries around the world, ours has benefited and grown fat from operating on such principles. No matter how much I complain about this place, I am still in a position of privilege compared to others, especially other women, around the world.

No, I am not trying to romanticize the U.S. or its past. Trust me, I am aware of some of the horrors of this country's history - the colonists vs. natives, Blacks and slavery, the unequal treatment of women, and all of the unjustified wars to name a few. Still, this imperfect union has been a beacon of light for so many.

Sadly, I do see these privileges and freedoms being eroded! And it is happening fast. State sponsored extortion and theft (i.e taxation), civil asset forfeiture, corruption within every level and entity of government, filthy scandals and the turning of a blind eye by our justice department to obvious criminal behavior by the elite tells me that this country is not and will never be the way that it began.

Ok. Fine. Now what?

We move on!

voluntaryism.jpg

My husband would describe himself as an anarchist. Now, I confess that in the past I shied away from this term because of the negative connotations that it carries. Tell someone you're an anarchist and they might respond, "So, what, you're like a terrorist or something? Are you wearing a bomb?" (By the way, no and no!)

However, I am disillusioned by the political experiences I have had thus far. There seems to be no one in government who is truly good. No one in government seems to believe that smaller government is better or even, that people can be left to govern themselves without complete chaos and violence ensuing. Perhaps they DO know that we would be just fine without them. But they need us. Otherwise, who would they oppress?

I Wasn't always Awake

I'll never forget the day I brought my future husband home to the Big City to visit my family during an election year. I'd recently finished my undergraduate degree and was working for the regional newspaper. As a general assignment reporter during a major election year, I was assigned to cover local political rallies and to interview major political figures. It was wild!

The exposure also challenged my long standing political stances. All of my life, I'd been taught to pay attention to the two-party system. I was taught that understanding each party was simple: Republicans were for the "Haves" and Democrats were for the "Have Nots". I was always taught that one political group was mostly full of rich, old, Caucasian men who cared nothing about the little guy and that any of their proposed legislation would undoubtedly hurt the middle and lower-class citizens. It was as if these and any similar political parties were to be considered "evil" and that others could do no wrong. So, vote, I was told, but vote straight party Democrat.

But in college, I became aware that leading Democrats are just as rich, just as power hungry and just as corrupt as the other politicians. I learned about the party's' sordid past. Suddenly, no one one looked good politically.

And then I met many people who were kind and down to earth. They were fiscally conservative but they weren't racist. They were honest and hardworking. They were Christians, like myself. But they also happened to belong to that "evil party".

Needless to say, after 4 years of hanging out with this crowd, my political stance changed dramatically. I think I've always been conservative, even as a teenager. So, it didn't take long for me to begin to tow the Republican line.

Which brings me to that day with Matthew in the Big City. I arrived through the door and was greeted with warm hugs and kisses from my family. And then, in walked Matthew. Now, by this time Matthew was no stranger. And my family liked and do love him. But on this particular visit, he was wearing a sticker on his jacket that he'd gotten a few weeks earlier from a rally that we'd attended. It said, Bush for President. Let's just say that the atmosphere turned a bit cold.

Well, we've come a long way since then. I began as a non-committed Democrat. Morphed into a Republican. Took the red pill and began to identify with Libertarians.

Now, labels aside, I care most about what it means to be truly free. How do we shake off oppressive governments? How do I teach my children to provide for themselves? How do we live within a country that is becoming more and more oppressive without having our livelihood choked out of us? How do we keep ourselves and children from being brainwashed by those who would lull us to sleep so that they can feed on our energy (metaphorically speaking, of course)? How do we protect ourselves and yet maintain non-violence so far as we're able?

And so, I've landed here. In this space. Brushing shoulders (or blogs) with people from around the world who could care less about the two-party system or how to reform the current government, who are opting out of the broken systems and building those that are (hopefully) incorruptible, people who believe in peaceful and voluntary interactions, those who believe in consent.

Just as I am a Steemit Newbie, I'm also just getting my footing when it comes to Anarchism and Voluntaryism. I am researching and reading core writings to see if my philosophy and beliefs do align.

So What's the Struggle?

And now for the issue that has driven the title of this post. While researching I ran into a small sticking point. Small, but worth exploring, I think.

As I stated in my introduce yourself post, our family is Torah-Observant. We read the Scriptures. We try to obey Elohim. We also understand the book to be not only divinely-inspired but a historical text as well.

Looking at the history of the Israelites in scripture, it is not difficult for me to grasp that people were not meant to establish governments. After all, when God's chosen people asked for a king, He grudgingly gave it to them, despite the glaring fact that they had rejected Him.

The concept that I am struggling with lies in Romans 13. Now, if you are not a believer then I'm sure this is not a problem for you at all. But for our family, as we fast forward to the writings of Paul, it appears that he was telling the believers in Rome to obey the governing body. What? Obey the Romans? Was this a culture, an authority put in place by God? Would Paul say that believers in say, North Korea, should obey/worship Kim Jong-Un today because his authority has been established by God?

holy-2598222_1920.jpg

In most churches that I've attended, pastors tend to teach that Romans 13 is evidence that Christians should be good little citizens and obey the laws and respect all authority. I've heard that we shouldn't even speed on the road because it's against the law!!!

But where do we draw the line? Would these same teachers preach that we should submit to leaders who openly execute political dissenters, people who speak out about the wrongs that have been committed, silence or incarcerate those who may disagree? Would these same people teach that we should hand over our property, our belongings, even our children to be under their complete control?

I'll just pause and let that sink in.

But lately, I feel like Paul was urging us to read between the lines:

"Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God." Romans 13:1

On the surface, it really does look like God would have us to obey the laws and authority of man. However, if I read between the lines, I can see how it could be interpreted as God establishes authority, there is none except what he puts in place. Therefore, I must ask, who is my authority?

Well, if scripture verses should be held against scripture itself, I ask myself, where else is it found that God bids his people obey the laws of man?

On the contrary I see more instances of the Creator declaring that He is a jealous God and that His people should obey His Torah.

Some might also ask, "But Chanel, aren't you being inconsistent? How can you identify as an anarchist if you do indeed consider yourself to be under an authority?"

That's a fair question. And one that I am wrestling with as well.

My only answer thus far is this:

  1. Within the Creators plan, everyone has free will. I choose to believe that his Word is true. I can also choose not to believe. In my opinion, this seems to be voluntaryism in practice more so than any other form of government. It is an image of the non-aggression principal as God does not force me (or anyone else) to submit. We have a choice.
  2. The kingdom of God is yet to come. And it will not be run by people, whom we know are easily corrupted. I try to reject/resist the oppressive systems in place. I do not participate in, aid or support, so far as I am able, this system of institutionalized violence as I wait in earnest for these things to come to pass.
  3. I do not believe that the Kingdom to come will be one of oppression, but of joy and true freedom under the only good, true and just leader.

Maybe I'm wrong and the Scriptures are simply man-made fairy tales. Perhaps there is no Kingdom to come that will be governed by the only Righteous One. No one knows for sure. One can only hope.

But I do know this. Every man-made government that has ever existed has failed. If anarchism/voluntaryism is a way for people to accomplish the impossible - to live in a more peaceful, more free society, one in which he or she is able to govern themselves, then I'm on board - at least until YHWH returns.

This was a long post! Thanks for hanging in there with me. Your thoughts? Would love to hear from you!

Steem On Steem Strong!

Chanel

Sort:  

I was raised in a church. I condemn the indoctrination and religion. Both are methods of government control. (See: Niacin council commissioned by Alexander the "great." There is a real esoteric truth to God.

You might remember or can envision a pastor saying. "God IS. He IS" This is very true God is the very synapses between each atom. Light or Energy. God is in everything. God is everywhere and nowhere at the same time. You don't need a church other people or any part of religion. You need to form a real connection. A relationship with the tangible energy that is the Great I AM. Once you feel it you can see it everywhere. In the people we meet. The decisions we make. The food you eat and the thoughts you have. I see God everywhere and I feel God's presence. Something I can say never happened to me in my 25 some odd years of indoctrination or church. I feel like your asking the best questions. Do my earthly views (anarchy) jive with my spiritual views. Gods laws are written in our hearts. If you have a soul you know not to kill, lie, steal, covet. I feel like my quest for truth and freedom aren't hampered by religious constraints. More so that they align. The great awakening is happening now. Stay vigilant. Remain skeptical! Forge that personal relationship with the creator. This is a battle between good and evil. God Bless.

While reading your post, I perceive you to be a Messianic Christian:

...Christians, like myself.
...our family is Torah-Observant
.

My spiritual journey has been one long list of belonging to a number of faiths. I was raised Episcopalian, converted to Roman Catholicism, joined the Pentecostal charismatic movement, attended a Southern Baptist Bible College, became a Messianic Christian. I now identify as a Noahide.

The TANAKH gives the following instruction:

Seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf; for in its welfare you will have welfare.
Jeremiah 29:7 (New American Standard Bible)

My take on this passage is that people of faith should be involved in the political process and address all injustices perpetrated by governmental institutions. Additionally; people of faith should do everything they can to improve conditions for their society.


I wish you a great week and thank you so much for your informative article.

May you have a joyous Rosh Hashana and may your family and loved ones always be blessed with peace and good fortune!

Thanks for sharing. Love it. Followed...

I think it depend on your faith, and on your way of anarchism. Anarchism is deny authority, to be the one who drives his own life, with his own valor and principes. A famous sentence is "Nor god. Nor chief"... So It should be difficult to concile the two. But in the way to deny government autority, sure it is possible. Being voluntar too...