❤️ How to deal with haters: Focus on yourself ❤️

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I've learned that there are all sorts of people in life. There are people who are loving and giving and want to help you succeed by supporting you. There are also people out there insecure about themselves and will try tear you down when they see you are rising. This weekend, I experience the ladder at a craft fair event. I was a vendor at a craft fair event, and another vendor rudely came up to me and accused me of copying her work because she too also sold hand painted cactus paintings. She continued to harass me online by having her friend leave rude comments on my Instagram. Then she went so far as to direct message some of my customers.

IMG_9075.JPG

This is the first time I have ever experienced someone make bold accusations about my work, which I take a lot of pride in. It really hurt to see that she would so far as to say that I "stole" her idea to paint cacti. The crazy part about this whole ordeal, is that my cactus paintings do not look anything like hers, aside from the fact that they are on mini canvas. AND, I didn't even know who she was until I met her that day.

Her words and that of her friends hurt me and, it made me cry, a lot. It was so hurtful to see that another artist would be willing to hurt another person's reputation out of hate and jealousy. Of course, my Sacramento community had my back, and other artists and makers came out to support me by letting her know that she was not the queen of cactus paintings.

At first, it hurt, and I couldn't stop crying, but after a good talk with @themilsedition, I realized that there will always be haters out there. The bigger I grow, there will be people out there trying to tear your house down, instead of working on their own house.

So what can I do? That was the question that I had to answer. I couldn't stop her from spreading rumors and lies about me, but I could continue to work on my business. I can continue to grow and expand on my ideas, and I decided that I'm going to challenge myself to just make my name Karen Sue Studios, a bigger better brand. So when she comes knocking on my door, trying to tear my house down, she will find that my house is to big to destroy.

Thanks for reading and listening. Steemit has always been a safe haven to express how I feel, and it's great to have the support from my community here. You guys keep me accountable to stay positive, push past my fears, and to keep on growing.


531240_10151282644437926_2007207090_n.jpg
love,
Karen

Sort:  

Haters are going to hate. The important thing is always to focus on your goals and keep moving forward!
You keep rocking it !!! 💖😊

thank you! Trying my best to stay positive. :)

They just hatin' to make themselves feel better, because they know they can't be where you are at ;)

hehe thanks @futurethinker for your kind words. :)

I don't deal with haters it is better to avoid completely :D

hahha... yea just ignore... That's all you can really do.

Not dealing hate,

@steeminator3000 is the Lovedealer

Aww yea. Lion's don't concern themselves with the opinions of sheep

Yeah thats really true. There is always haters. Maybe it is too much wish that I want to be loved n welcomed for everyone. Of course I also have someone hate sometimes theres reason sometimes dont. So...I just keep doing what im doing not to be disturbed by them. Then u luckily be a best friend or an enomy forever :)

yea. It's hard to not let people's words affect you, but at the end of the day, you win when you just keep pushing past the hate and just work harder.

I have learned that 99% of people are good and trust worthy and if you show that you trust them, they will help you and corporate with you. And I am not losing 99% for the fear of 1%.

:) this is true. There are so many good people out there.

I am sure you are one of those good people even that you forgot to up vote . just joking.

Keep your head up sugar, do your thing and do it well. If you are enjoying your work, it isn't work.
Never let negative, jealous losers bring you down.
I'm sure your work is way better than hers. You are also more than likely alot prettier than her(judging from your photo)
Keep up the great work!
Followed, upvoted, and resteemed just for you @karensuestudios
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @karensuestudios to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

thank you! :) hahah your comment made me smile :) Thanks for the sweet comment.

Awwww you're welcome. I also got you an upvote from OriginalWorks ;-)

Haters are every where, some do it as a way of life as a result stigmatizing other. But if you use discernment you come to acknowledge that haters only spur us on to do more, but if we try to fight back they may pull us down, is like throwing our blows on the air. I love your work. always@theheralds

thanks for the awesome uplifting words! hater's are out there... but just gotta keep going.

i will always remain your fan if you continue to share something like this
steemit Well done GIF.gif

How old is she? Like 5-year-old? Ugh!! Don't waste your tears on her @karensuestudios! She doesn't deserve it! Like you said, there is a lot of people who support and watching your back :) Cheers!❤️

awww thanks for the kind words! Much needed! :) See you at Steemfest... can you believe it one more WEEK! EEKKK!!!

Haters will always hate..keep up your positive attiture, optimism , great smile and hardwork...you are a great person and will always be a success. Keep steeming...... Posts visibility are low it affeced my latest post which outlined some solutions about the problem, feel free to see it and note the tips

aww thanks Charles. I'll check it out.

welcome , more success ...hope you have seen and learnt about the issue...it drowned my post haha

@karensuestudios

Hello Beautiful Soul

You are an uplifting positive and kind spirit. It radiates through your bright colored pieces. Do not cry over people whom are unhappy with themselves. This woman must be battling her own internal dialogue and lack of self worth. This does not have any reflection on you or your work. Keep your chin up and keep bringing smiles to all the faces and lives you touch each day. I love all your shares and appreciate all your post.

Keep Smiling!!
@theprettysoul

Pretty Soul Icon-01.png