Master Banner Post

in #bannerpost2 years ago (edited)

It's been a long time since I last updated my HIVE master-banner post, 15 months right now, so it's about time for a new one. In this post I'll list all my main HIVE thingies, including an obituary part of discontinued stuff, mostly from the time the chain was still called STEEM.

But let's start off by painting the landscape a bit. Currently @pibara is my main account on HIVE. I have a few more accounts, some I stopped using, one I'm about to start using:

  • @pibara: My main account here right now. It's the account I use to post from.
  • @mattockfs: An old account I used to use for posting technical stuff when @pibara was just for fiction. No longer using that account.
  • @engineerdiet: Another old account that I discontinued using. This used to be my account for blogging about nutrition and the use of data-engineering for personalizing diet. I'm pretty much done with that subject right now.
  • @croupierbot : Used to be a bot account, now my primary stake-holding account
  • @silentbot : A bot I'll soon start using in my Silent Bob Curation initiative on #creativecoin
  • Some obituary-subject accounts that I used or was planning great things for. More on these later:

So much for my accounts, now for my different projects here.

coinZdense

coinzdense.png

This project is currently my highest priority of all my no-money-making projects. The project is a bit of a spin off of my largest fiction project so far: Ragnarok Conspiracy. In my HIVE-first novel Ragnarok Conspiracy, the world is hit by a quantum blockchain heist that ends up incepting a global war. With the research I did for Ragnarok Conspiracy, I learned about hash-based signatures and their use in QRL. After hive, when it was still called STEEM, got hit by an actual (though not quantum) blockchain heist, I started putting two and two together and started thinking: What would it take to make HIVE quantum resistant. I wrote a DHF proposal for taking the first steps towards making that a reality. Unfortunately, my proposal, like many proposals, didn't make it.

So the DHF idea fell through, so change of plans, I trimmed down the project idea a bit to only provide a set of libraries for different programming languages, and I've changed the set of programming languages to closer fit a wider range of blockchain projects plus my own interests. That means no Ruby, Typescript or PHP, but instead (next to the obvious C++, Python and JavaScript) Monte, Rust, Clojure, ClojureScript, Go and Elixir. The new project focuses on providing a usable post-quantum ready hash-based signatures API to utility chains like HIVE, DEX chains like Cosmos and ThorChain and blockchain infrastructure projects like FlureeDB. The project does NOT aim to be a good fit for projects with limited utility for key-reuse, such as most coin-only crypto projects.

Although coinZdense is my highest priority project, it's still an unfunded project, and as I have bills to pay and debts to pay off, the time I can allocate to it is still fairly limited. Good thing is, there is still time before quantum computers become a huge threat to ECDSA key-reusing blockchains, so there isn't that much of a hurry right now, but the time isn't endless, so I've created a tippingjar page so if any one or any project wants me to allocate more time to the project, donations could helm me to make that happen.

Silent Bob on CreativeCoin

5.png

When STEEM started to go down under the weight of all the vote-bots and mismanagement by Steemit Inc, I hid out in the amazing #creativecoin tribe, and in the end it was #creativecoin that had me choose to return to HIVE after the fork. Before I gave up on STEEM, a while before Sunyuchen's leveraged-consensus blockchain heist, I had a little curation project Silent Bob that was just starting to gain some traction. The project has been gone for quite a while, but next February I'm picking it up once more. The project, with the help of a little bot, @silentbot, will focus on vurating the following tags on #creativecoin

After 3 delegations expire, #silentbot should have about 500,000 CCC of voting power on creativecoin. Possibly more. I'm currently moving two modest support levels into the market. If these hold, they should help keep the price of CCC from falling too much. If they don't, I should more than double the voting power of @silentbot in terms of CCC, and I trust the price will eventualy bounce back up.

I'm currently on-and off testing the @silentbot bot, and I hope that before February it will be ready for me to once again do some curation of the above tags on #creativecoin.

Fiction

ragnarok.jpg

While it has been out for a while in it's original English edition, and is now free on most ebook channels, work on this project continues. Also slowly. I've decided to prioritize coinZdense and Silent Bob curation over my own writing for now, but sometimes I just need to do some writing. And other than my other projects, my fiction actually tends to make money, some money at least, so there are reasons to not prioritize the other ones all the time. There is also a newer project, Nutridiluvian, an omnibus of short stories I'm working on, but that one is on hold for now. I can only work on so many spare-time projects at a time.

Ragnarok Conspiracy

I wrote the English version of Ragnarok Conspiracy and published the novel as a whole on HIVE (then still called STEEM) first before publishing it on e-book channels like Amazon, Kobo, Play and Apple. The editing for the English version was crowd-sourced on HIVE using competitions with prices (that is where @croupierbot came into play first), and the illustrations (not the cover art) were done by the talented HIVE artist @marylucy.

Later, I contracted a translator to do the Spanish Translation, that also was posted on HIVE (then STEEM) first.

Move Spanish version to a web-novel on HIVE

There is still some work to be done for the Spanish edition after the fork that I so far haven't found time for yet. Part of the Spanish edition were posted by @marylucy, part of them by me, and the links between the chapters still often link to steemit. One remaining part for the project is to do a series of re-posts and create a web-novel on HIVE in the same way it exists for the English edition.

Complete world-building appendices for the English edition.

For the English HIVE web-novel, I've started writing a series of world-building appendices posts like this one about the Hylobo Sapiens species, exposing parts of the world-building I did for this novel. I will continue to occasionally post a world-building, adding them to my web-novel.

A Dutch edition

Finally, next to the English and Spanish edition, I've started on a Dutch version a while ago, and recently posted a second chapter. This sub-project is likely to take a long while, as it's way down on my priorities list and writing in Dutch, although it's supposed to be my native language, is turning out to be quite a challenge for me.

Nutridiluvian (paused)

As you might have guessed, I'm a bit short in hours with all the projects I try to keep alive, and now that I've prioritized coinZdense as my primary projects, I had to draw a line somewhere. So my other writing project, Nutridiluvian is now on-hold until I reach a major milestone with my coinZdense project.

Orussian Quarantine : the novel (paused)

Orussian Quarantine was my first jab at writing fiction. It was meant as a novellette and has the right size for that, but many readers commenteded that it was just too dense and had enough world building to be a novel. I listened to that and started making serious plans and doing additional world building and some actual character development (that I hardly did when I published the novelette), and started at what is basically a complete rewrite. As I'm swamped with other projects that really deserve my time, this project is currently on hold as well.

My STEEM obituary

download.jpeg

My life on HIVE didn't start with the fork. I've had a quite bumpy history on the platform prior to the fork as well. Ragnarok Conspiracy and Nutridiluvian survived the fork. Silent Bob is about to get resurected, but there are also some projects that I was working on, some quite succesfully, that didn't get resurected and likely never will, that I feel I still need to mention in my banner post.

async python libraries for STEEM + tutorials

asyncsteem.png

When STEEM was still an amazing place to be, but the official python library was as flakky as fuck (and didn't support asynchonous operations), I wrote a Python-2 asynchounous library for STEEM on top of the Twisted framework. Somone else created a port of my asyncsteem library for Python3, and after a while, I started working on a complete rewrite that was supposed to be a Python version and async framework agnostic STEEM library. This project died as a result of Steemit Inc implementing a very naive and client unfriendly version of rate-limiting in their main API node. It is a bit sad it died and that I don't have time to create a new HIVE version of the project, because while for example hivelight by @emrebeyler is a great HIVE library, (not so sure about beempy) I'm really missing my old asynchonous library when doing something like @silentbot. Maybe one day if I complete coinZdense and I magically find more time, I might revisit something like this. For now though, my async Python efforts for the platform are 100% death.

croupierbot (as actual croupierbot)

croupierbot.jpeg

While my @croupierbot account is still very much alive as my primary stake holding account, the bot that I used to run on it in STEEM days isn not. It was a little bot that could aid in providing randomness in competition-like situation. The @croupierbot would use the HIVE blockchain as a source of randomness. Basically the bot would anounce that it would use the signature of a block that didn't exist yet as a large number, and then it would take the modulus for the number of contestants for that number to draw a winner. A simple enough concept, but a bot that was very usefull in crowd-sourcing my editing for Ragnarok Conspiracy.

flag-war reports

drama.png

There used to be a lot of downvote drama on STEEM. My @pibarabot account used to make reports regarding that drama. A project that together with my Python library efforts was killed by the Steemit Inc rate limiting implementation.

steemsense / HIVE-ads

THFDNOyL-image.png

Last but not least is a project that was killed twice. Once in its incarnation on STEEM, and once on the drawingboard while trying to revive it for HIVE. The idea was to create an add revenues system for STEEM. Many great content providers won't move to STEEM/HIVE because there are zero add revenues here, and while it is likely they would build a new following on the platform, they will have to start from zero. The idea for steemsense was to have content creators embed a banner image URI and link in their posts, and to allow advertisers (like myself in the banner example above) make bids on clicks on their version of the banner, either for specific tags, specific authors, or a combination of the two. While I still feel steemsense as previously envisioned makes a lot of sense, It was a huge project. Not as large as coinZdense, but still. A project I can't really fit in right now as you may understand.

The preparations for this project included @steemsense-eu, with a domain that I allowed to expire (steemsense.eu). @pibarabank also had a role to play in the setup, that it never got to. And than, under HIVE, a second domain ( hive-ads.click ) that now just expired as well. I still think something like how I envisioned steemsense could be a great enabler for onboarding, I just have projects that I deem a lot more important right now, first and foremost coinZdense, and as stated, my time resources are limited.

That's all folks

2560px-Thats_all_folks.svg.png

A lot has happened in the last 15 months. Enough for me to write this new and updated master banner post and link it on my profile today (2021-12-24). I'll try to update it at least twice a year from now on, because things move and perspectives change.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.