Beer Tasting - Witbier ('Ljeto u Zagrebu' by Medvedgrad Brewery)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Summer is here so what is a good seasonal option? This lovely witbier does the trick. Not the best of all times, but provides a welcome variety!


Image credits


One thing is for sure - Medvedgrad Brewery sure know how to advertise. They even made street graffiti of the beer title.

Ljeto u zagrebu means literally Summer in Zagreb - so local patriotism at its best!


We celebrated when the InMusic festival ended with this brew. An after party of sorts. I wrote about the festival in a review if you want to take a look. This is at the famous Zagreb Lake Jarun.

I talked a lot about Medvedgrad brewery. Always a surprise in their pocket and on the constant rise. They excel at making interesting seasonal stuff and I’ll keep you updated on the news. Maybe someone notices finally the effort I put into advertising and I get a freebie. I sure don’t count on it :)

For the tasting we took a turn to beer Bourse. Changing prices all the time, just like an exchange! I actually didn’t get that good of a deal that day :)


I noticed that lots of people actually started to read what I write so thank you for that. Lot of aspiring homebrewers gather around here and I comment and upvote as much as I can, but I am only one steemer. When I grow a bit more I’ll delegate to @steempub-trail.

@thewineman is doing an admirable job with this! Resteems for visibility are great for newbies! Also, try to get whaleshares, some of those are being thrown around. If you find out any tricks, do say!

Apply for a whaleshares contest here:
https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@jphenderson/whaleshares-minnow-support-contest-3-support-the-best-undervalued-content-creators
If you have under 1000SP and have good quality material. At least check it out! Thanks @jphenderson


Photo-shoot


Ljeto u Zagrebu by Medvedgrad Brewery

StyleWitbier
CountryZagreb, Croatia
Alcohol5.2%
--------------
AppearanceLike home made must ready to mature into white wine! Hazy yellowish. A bit green but that could be street lighting acting up.
AromaDeep wheat. Distant citrus. Yeasty. Very yeasty. Definitely a bit of zesty orange. Advertises coriander but I can’t imagine it at this time. Will stuff some in my mouth and nose as soon as I find it!
TasteMedium sweeteness. Low bitterness. Can feel summer for sure!
PalateMedium body. Nice swirl. Prickly carbonation. Short comforting aftertaste.
--------------
OverallLike someone just lost virginity. Sweet but immature. Not a huge fan of wheat but this one gets a definite pass. Still, a bit underdeveloped.
Score (subjective, personal)14/20

Price: 19 kuna (2.95$) for 0.5l. On tap at a pub. Medium-range

This review was improved by RateBeer!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Canon SX170 IS

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow @razvanelulmarin - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


How to make letters so small? Ask me in the chat room! Let’s hang out!

@costopher made a song related to this!

My wheatbeer brings all the boys to the yard,
And they're like
It's better than yours,
Damn right
It's better than yours

@ssekulji has been proposed for guild vote of the day! Vote for him in the link below!


https://steemit.com/steemvoter/@steemvoter/steemvoter-guild-nominate-a-friend-for-the-guild-vote-friday-june-30#@buzzbeergeek/re-steemvoter-steemvoter-guild-nominate-a-friend-for-the-guild-vote-friday-june-30-20170630t152421255z


What would refresh you more? Wheat or barley?

Sort:  

It's a great looking beer; shame you didn't like it that much. But it does stroke my ego seeing my wheat got a better score :D

I'll get to that place one day and everyone will stare at me when I'll break into:
My wheatbeer brings all the boys to the yard,
And they're like
It's better than yours,
Damn right
It's better than yours

Haha, thanks for the song. Wonderful! I'll edit it in if that's ok!

:D sure man, of course it's fine! It's not like I haven't stolen it from Kelis

It looks like a real good bear, I love the label.
I voted for @ssekulij

Thanks! I'm sure he will appreciate it a lot!

"Overall:Like someone just lost virginity."
I loved this comparison. I definitely love wheats... would give it a try with pleasure! Great post as always!
Cheers!

Thanks! They feature these girl in the river so... :)

Do you know the Belgium beer named Bush Ambrée ?
"Like an elixir"

A french Steemer.

I don't. Yet! Good recommendation!

I wish you a happy day+follow

This post received a 3.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @buzzbeergeek! For more information, click here!

Love beer, love the shots of beer! Could use a cold one right now. Thanks for sharing. YUMS! Cheers! UPVOTED. FOLLOWED.

#follow4follow

I love a good witbier, As a matter of fact just got done judging some for a homebrew competition!

I'll check if you have it in writing ;)

Judging

Everyone loves beer!

wow, i love beer and i want to drink this beer

Nice write up. Looks like a classic wheat beer...hazy appearance due to low attenuation yeast. The head retention looks nice on that one. Looks like a nice summer day beer.

Well said! I defer to your sum up! ;)

Nice stickers, sad car ;(

Haha! I hope he won't read this! :D

Lovely collor you can almost see it tastes of citrus :)

MMmm! That looks delicious and I choose wheat over barley. I love a tasty refreshing witbier this time of year. Thanks for sharingI will keep an eye out for for this company. Also will follow you, keep up the great work÷

Hey! Where's your avatar? :D

Hah, I'm from Zagreb and i drink this one regularly. I would also give it around 14/20. If you get a chance try Pozoj IPA from Zmajska pivovara :)

More and more of our people here ;)

It's on my to-do list!

I would pick barley. Great post

Me too! Thanks!

Know exactly what you mean about underdeveloped...I wish I had used that to describe the Saison in my Friday Craft Brew Series, it's the perfect description. I do think I'll get myself a nice Witbier tonight...or this afternoon, whichever comes first ;)

I'll check it out ;)

Immature, this word may explain all aspects of this witbier. Last night I also had witbier from Germany, so this post reminds me of that drinks. Thx :)

Germans know their stuff ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buzzbeergeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.