NO DELETE BUTTON, NO PRIVACY?

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

This is why I quitted Steemit for a while. I like having a sense of control. It frightened me so much that I didn't even say goodbye. All of our posts, interactions, comments, pictures, are forever saved in the blockchain. I don't want to post my thoughts or feelings and regret it later.

I'm not sure if I will post again. I really like this platform because I could talk to people about topics that I wouldn't bring up in real life. Strangers felt like friends to me and it was easy to find like-minded people.

Anyway... PLEASE SHARE YOUR OPINION ON THIS TOPIC!!! Do you think it's a violation of your privacy?

8.jpg

Sort:  

I think this is an interesting topic that reveals more about ourselves than the platform, as you said, it revealed that you were a control freak ;).

I feel your pain, i felt very similarly- but ultimately i think its been for the best, I've learned to be as honest and open as I can in a moment, and give myself a break when "looking back"

We're only all doing the best we can at any given moment with what we have <3 I try not to be so hard on myself

Yeah I know 😇 I think I am just going to continue posting but it just freaked me out for a while because I posted a lot of personal stuff people can find. Are you still doing yoga btw? 😊

Yes you must be careful from a security standpoint- I try not to post specific places or full names for sure :) - Yes maam, about 2-3 times a week lately just because it's been so sooo cold and I don't have much of an indoor space to practice

Yeah true, luckily I've always done that 🙂 Aaah cool, I have to get back into it. Going to start today. I never practised outside but it's summer here now so maybe I'll give it a try.

So lucky it's your summer haha i wish I could just travel and follow the sun all year round!

I just did yoga for the first time in 4 weeks... OUTSIDE!!! Can't lie, it felt amazing. I'm doing it again tomorrow but then immediately after I wake up. I'm behind my computer every day and you won't find me outside a lot since I am studying graphic design so being able to get some vitamin D while doing my workout feels amazing 👌

That's the best way girl! Good for you! My brain is always firing on all cylinders after yoga- especially outside in the OXYGEN! - it seems half-way warm today, maybe I can find a patch I wont get too muddy on and give it a try this afternoon

So important for us keyboard warriors to get some sun! <3

I see it like this: you can’t sell someone a piece of art and than take it back because it shows some private feelings of you. Remember that you give here, but you also take.

I know what you mean @bynaomi I still dont like the fact you cant delete stuff and its recorded forever the 2nd thing I dont like is everybody can see exactly how much you have in your wallet these things are pretty off putting I know.

I agree! Hope they change that in the future. What would their reason be to keep it public?

It’s the technology behind it, the blockchain is a public ledger, I’ts a distributed system where everyone can participate, being a whiteness means that you help to secure the network and provide the bandwith. Your password is also your adress where you get paid, thats how most cryptocurencies work, every transaction is public and here your adress is chained to your blog. There are some anonymous cryptocurency out there, so maybe one day it would be able to make the wallet anonymous but you won’t be able to delete posts after a while, those posts represent transactions and you get your money. Then you sell that money and you want to delete that post. How are you supossed to give that money back if you don’t have it anymore?

Wow, thanks for the great quality comment!!! Now I get it. I was always wondering but it all makes sense to me now. I like your reference to a piece of art. Totally agree! Thanks 😊

Thank you, I’m happy I could explain my humble knowledge to you.