Sort:  

@kenyskitchen it's cool to see a write up on some of the things which came up during the interview. Thanks for spending some time to be interviewed.

Personally, I have no issue with psychedelics either, but I prefer to achieve alter ed states from extreme sensory deprivation experiences. As I mentioned during that interview, I think it's something everyone should experience. I agree with you thoughts on mindfulness , but I also think corollary to that would be being clear of our intentions. I often notice when I walk through the motions of life without understanding or defining my intentions, everything seems a muddled mess of wasted energy.

I had a lot of fun with the interview, thanks for offering :-)

I absolutely agree, intention is the key to everything in this experience we're having!

Each of those psychedelics affects brain chemistry in different ways, dmt usage lsd and psilocyban have action on 5ht2a and 5ht2c receptors though different effects on the sensitization and desensitization of these receptors and their densities. Psylocibans affects on muscarinic nicotinic acid receptors to me are most troublesome compared to the non action of lsd and dmt. All however have the ability to induce nad(p)h oxidase through their activation of 5-ht2a, an enhancement of respiration without satisfaction of breath and proper metabolism. Activation of 5-ht2a and it's subsequent downregulation though is what brings about the positive benefit to psychadelic treatment on disorders such as anxiety and depression deeply rooted in nad(p)+,nad(p)h bioavailability

Wowzers, science!

Thanks for your reply, coming at it from the chemical level. I don't know too much about the specifics of that side of things, but I'm sure there are folks who are all about that and will jump for joy when they see your comment :-)

You're the first person to make me feel truely appreciated here sofar. Thank you

I just had a trip at last rainbow (thanks for the helpful sugar suggestion) that was educational. I learned about my implicit bias from a very smart young lady with a lot of education in psychology. I was in a state that was more open to learn and feel. I was ready to deal with learning about my self right then. Now I am not under the influence and I remembered what it was I need to learn. The person I spoke to has since sent me a syllabus of scientific studies, poetry and videos to watch. I am doing it, it is a little hard, it hurts a little, it feels worth it, I need to change the way I see the world. What I am saying is

  • Consider taking the drugs (ymmv)

  • Take them to start the trip then, when the drugs go away, don't stop learning.

The drugs are the chemistry lab, now go home and do the homework.

Exactly, this is how I feel that psychedelics can be used in a helpful & healing way, as tools that you use as part of a bigger process, instead of expecting the chemical to do everything for us.

The drugs are the chemistry lab, now go home and do the homework.

I love it!

A thoroughly enjoyable article. Having not experimented with psychedelics in my life at all, I think it gives answers to questions I already suspected were true.

I will at some stage dabble experimentally for the experience, but my own psychedelic-free practices are taking me where I need to be.

Thank you!

It's definitely something that can be of value when added to a mindfulness practice. I personally use these tools now only when I feel like I need some assistance to break through something, and/or when that medicine is very clearly trying to make its way to me :-)

If/when you do decide to experiment with any of these things, I would HIGHLY recommend doing so in nature, being extremely intentional & ritualistic about it, and just asking the medicine to bring you whatever healing & support is most beneficial for your growth.

a good read, with which i primarily agree. i would point out, however, that "sacred medicine" and the "psychonaut" are mostly unrelated ideas. the term "psychonaut" was coined as part of the chaos magick movement and was the title of one half of the book "liber null and psychonaut" by peter j. carrol. one of the topics covered in liber null is "chemognosis" which is very close in my estimation to your commentary here, and certainly suggests many of the same warnings. psychonaut, the latter half of the book, touches on chemognosis very little, as it is not vital to the overall subject of traversing the mind.

beyond that, i thank you for the read.

Thanks for your feedback.

In my experience, those who use the term psychonaut to describe themselves (and those that others describe with it) have included most anyone who was into adventuring with psychedelics.

I've adjusted the title to just say (psychedelic) instead.

i have heard/seen it used in that context, but as a long time practitioner and student of chaos (and occult concepts in general) , it has always bothered me a bit. i like the term "psychonaut" but psychedelics blindfold the traveller and take them somewhere. that isn't "travel" so much as "kidnapping".

that said, i appreciate the adjustment, though i was certainly not suggesting any need to do so.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kennyskitchen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I'ves of taken over 100 LSD " mico -dots" all between the age 14-17 over 20 years ago. I have never experienced any sorta of "flash back" or any other ill effects . I think every person is different when it comes to taking psychedelics. I believe every individual has their own "chemical balance". I have know of one person who took LSD one time and never was the same. He started walking backwards.... For years he walked around our small town in reverse. He became know as backwards man. True story.

I shall evade lsd and abstain for a fear of backwards man. Better to enhance one's own dmt production by enhancing tryptophan uptake and tyrosine availability

Very interesting information. I am a newcomer to the world of steemit. I am from Aceh. Regards introduction @ bukharisulaiman