Sort:  

@acidyo ... calling for reinforcements.

I removed my vote when I realized it was only a link. I've been experimenting with a community curation trail and one of the accounts involved had this account on autovote. It has been corrected but you can tag me if you see my vote on single link or low effort posts. Cheers

It happens to the best of us.

tag me if you see my vote on single link or low effort posts.

I will do that if I spot another one 👍

Why are you downvoting this?

It's a low-effort post that had $40+ when I found it. All it does is direct users/engagement off Hive.

This kind of stuff is still happening, eh.

Did you or anyone tried to advise the author ? Just because it directs of hive doesn't take it's value. Links have value. Specially when it's his own site / publishing ?
BTW is cross platform only allowed outside hive FOR hive or you can't promote other platforms here ? Reminds of other kind of past politics.

Is it overvalued now ? Will the downvotes be removed if the author edits the post ? What are the edits needed to satisfy them professionals ? I'm just trying to understand the logic of removing this mans and audience money, or is it like 0's and 1's ? (not really trying to understand it).

Is Catherine posting on hive, how are you going to HEAR her without leaving hive for one hour ?

This man has 32k subscribers in bitchute, makes hours and hours of finished video every week and you (or anyone) don't even drop him a word ? (I'm assuming anyway.)

I see a great job from Ryan. Congrats and thank you for your work !

Thank you! This is about control for him. Quite the hypocrite that one. As I said, I am just here to share the info, that is all I care about. Thank you for your support!

I like your work Ryan, even if it brings us away from hive! Keep it up!

Could you share it here? You must understand that just linking to your post without providing Hive any content isn't that valuable. I appreciate that you are active and reading what's being said, though, something most others didn't even bother with so will keep that in mind in your future content, if it is content.

Allowing tlavagabond to post here makes his excellent news casts and interviews easily accessible to Hiveans, which brings value to Hive.

My upvotes of his content are an easy way for me to support him, another plus of being on Hive.

Methinks you are biting off your nose to spite your face on this one. I KNOW you are preventing me access to information that I came to Hive, specifically, to get.

There are plenty of over rewarded accounts on Hive. Their completely unread posts are being heavily upvoted by entities that have received delegations from those accounts. In addition, these accounts have delegated so much that their upvotes are negligible, so that they cannot support any other accounts. Go pick on those guys.

Thank you, but this is just a childish action. He does not care. But I am not here to make money, just to share the info, so let him have his childish control.

Childish, yes. But it interferes with a very easy way for me to support your work, which is excellent. And this is true for many accounts, not only yours.

I know you left us for a while. I hope now you are back, rewards or no.

Feel free to tip or use recurring payments, no one can interfere there and it's not taking a chunck from the reward pool to give as rewards to links.

Why the downvoting on this post? It's not plagiarized, it's not spam.

What value is this account providing to Hive?

You have more replies in your last 2 posts than this account has this year.

Thank you for noticing that people actually read and take the time to comment on my posts. I am very proud of that, despite the fact that I earn very little on them.

I can think of several accounts with posts that regularly (several times a day in one case) make far more than my posts do, and almost no one reads or comments on them. These posts are, however, original creative writing. Do you support using a downvote trail on those as well?

I used to watch and highly value tlavagabond's account's posts, until he all but left the platform, but I never commented on them. That would be like talking back to a newscaster. Now I can't even make a curation reward on them. Your downvoting like this robs not only this account's ability to earn on Hive, but my ability to earn on its posts. He has no choice but to leave really, unless he gets his kicks by pissing into the wind.

He has the choice by caring more about his Hive account to earn those rewards.

I understand the value of engagement. But I also like having easy access, here on Hive, to his material; his posts have enormous value to me, whether or not he engages beyond simply posting here.

I have cast at most three downvotes since downvoting's inception, the last of them to wipe out your upvote on a comment above, which I felt was over rewarded. But that is the first, and likely last, time I ever downvoted for that reason. I cast it in retribution. I do not feel that is fair. Many downvotes these days seem to be cast for that reason. The comment had value to you. In future, I will respect that.

Do you know how high the rewards went on this post? I'm curious.

If you just prefer the easy of access to sending you/reminding you about his website then he can decline rewards since he's not contributing his content to Hive. What he does not only takes close to no effort but also takes people outside of Hive, I'm not one to care much about the latter but I do care about effort. I'm glad to see he's active in comments and responding, that's already a big + that many others I've downvoted haven't so I will take that into consideration next time but I hope he changes his ways to at least provide some content even if he doesn't post cross-post the full article and then links to his website for "the rest".

despite the fact that I earn very little on them.

BLOG 1:

owasco-35-bucks.png

BLOG 2:

owasco-80-bucks.png

BLOG 3:

owasco-18-bucks.png

why-you-always-lying-ld.gif

OK I stand somewhat corrected. Of late, just like nearly everyone else, my posts have earned more than a pittance in USD, but still a pittance in Hive. In addition, the first two you chose to prove me wrong with took me days on end to compose.

Are you capable of discussion without being snarky?

...I suspect there may also be some personal and historical baggage at play between OP and FTG, in addition to whatever else may have been stated!

Yup. Exactly. Which makes this all the more childish. Just share the info please, all I am about. Not money.

What is OP?

Thanks for that link. In it, Ryan does engage, and FTG shows his true colors. He does not care for tlavagbond's CONTENT. To downvote because of disagreement with content is against the original spirit of downvoting.

Original Poster :)

I downvoted this down to ~$40. I personally wouldn't have zeroed it out, but it was definitely over-rewarded when I called for reinforcements.

There was another post that we missed similar to this so I guess it's even now, but in general also another account connected to @dbroze bringing close to 0 value or traffic/engagement to Hive.

There was another post that we missed similar to this so I guess it's even now

True.

I think this comment has been overvalued. Do you think I should downvote it?

I'm trying to understand why we are downvoting content that is not spam or plagiarized.

Feel free to power up some Hive and counter our downvotes if you think this deserves more rewards. Until then, this post will remain at zero.

You think an interview with Austin-Fitts is of zero value? Why? It think this interview is very interesting.

It's just an autovoted link taking users outside of hive, mate.

Ah! OK, I understand that. Thank you for answering politely.

I'm trying to understand this downvoting business better.

You did it because it had earned too much, in your valuation? What was its value when you brought it down to $40? At $40, was it still overvalued?

I see more and more accounts that are churning out what is essentially spam, yet making $70 or more a pop. This is not one of those.

!LUV

As a relative newcomer to Hive, this thread is somewhat disheartening. I saw HIVE as viable alternative to existing social media as well as a way to counteract the censorship which takes place on other platforms.
The concept of value creation is not new to me. As an entrepreneur, I have spent most of my career building value both for myself as well as everyone in the networks that I have built or been involved with. Unfortunately over the last few months I have noticed that the Hive community appears to be falling into many of the same traps that have plagued mainstream social media platforms. "Policing" instead of being conducted by outright censorship is conducted by downvoting. "Remove the ability to earn value and you will silence the voice," seems to be the method being deployed.
When I joined the community in June or so this year, my impression was that the community was "kind and supportive." I saw it as a vehicle to "tell my story" and both add and be rewarded with value. I was told by the friend who introduced me to Hive that the Hive Blockchain was hardforked after an attempt was made to control Steem. It sounded good. I created a couple of posts in the summer which I enjoyed creating and feedback was encouraging.
Subsequently, "life happened" and it was a couple of months before I returned to Hive. Whilst at the moment I don't have time to create content, I felt that I needed to re-connect and possibly find some Hivers to share some of my stored value with. Unfortunately, my experience has been that there has been a decline in the quality of original content or rather... There has been an increase in the amount of poor quality content in some of the communities to which I belong. This has meant that good quality content is somewhat hidden. Instead of just leaving the platform, I thought that it would be a good idea to look for some of the content creators that I know and use Hive to reward them. The Last American Vagabond is just one such content creator. To see how this channel has been downvoted may just be the final nail in the Hive coffin for me. To see how "re-enforcements" were called in to essentially wipe out any value that was given to Ryan - that's his name - is reminiscent of the chants to "burn the witch" at the Salem witch trials.
Have the downvoters in question considered the fact that this particular Hiver (and others like him) may in fact be the very reason that many have come to Hive? For me, Hive is the ideal way to support members of the alternative media. Do you have any idea of the reach of many of these independent journalists? Before The Last American Vagabond was de-platformed by YouTube, his reach was routinely in the hundreds of thousands.
I would kindly suggest that before embarking on a campaign to "punish" a Hiver like The last American Vagabond for "only posting an external link" that downvoters consider all of the facts and ramifications of doing this. There is a real danger that HIVE will just become another social media platform with crypto on the side. We need to be better than the platforms and spaces that we left to come here.

EXACTLY! Thank you. Very sad to see.

@fulltimegeek you have just proved the point with your downvote here. This has nothing to do with preserving the integrity of Hive and everything to do with suppressing what you deem to be "wrongthink." Whilst disappointing, your action is not surprising.

He is not a Hive content creator, he's just sharing his posts here through links, not even content. Sorry but we don't live in a fictional world where we can just throw money around at any one we want without others having a say in it because they believe they're not providing any value to the network and mainly chime in when they get downvoted.

Look at his previous posts, he was at least using 3speak - a Hive dapp, to post his content, it wasn't just links. Even then you could say the content was a bit overrewarded because not only was this user constantly trending from the same autovoters he still failed to grow an audience on Hive or what would've been even better, bring his audience over to Hive. I can guarantee you no one would dare to downvote or say anything if that had happened and was true today. Even if some people had personal grudges which some seem to accuse fulltimegeek of, others would've gladly countered his downvotes and defended tlavagabond because he would've had a rich profile with tons of unique users consuming his content here whether or not it was "hive first" which is what I meant in my first setence with "hive content creator".

It's nice when new influencers join, I don't mind people showering them with votes, but if they get complacent over time and their effort of the content they're generating here decreases to only sharing a link and a banner then I really can't defend it nor the autovotes of people saying "oops sorry didn't know he was just linking" or some of you who scream censorship and all this other nonsense instead of facing the issue at hand. That the value they are bringing to Hive is close to 0 and it should reflect in their earnings.

Thank you for your well structured and reasoned reply. I would prefer to be proven wrong in my observations about current trends about downvoting as I feel that HIVE has potential as both a platform and currency. I will continue to observe, engage and create content as I can and see where this goes.