Boulder Sunday

#BoulderSunday created by @shasta

My Boulder photos are from Petroglyph National Monument near Albuquerque, New Mexico.

image

We climbed up through these volcanic boulders to see the numerous petroglyphs that can be found in this area.

image

image

It really stirs the imagination to see these drawings. This is one of the largest Petroglyph sites in North America.

Go here to enter

Shadow Photo Contest Round 63- Rock Shadows


Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Whoa boulders with petroglyphs! Awesome
photographs @melinda010100! You know how
much I love that combo! :-)
I been making a boulder bucket list and this
place is on it! lol
Thank you so much for showing us this fantastic
boulder place!

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

That is one more fun photo chellange. I think I'd also join 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

beautiful photography 💜

Posted using Partiko Android

You had a fair distance, from where I see the cars parked, to climb up to see the petroglyphs.
That is so fascinating to see these pictures,from hundreds of years ago, engraved on rock. U&R

It was quite a climb up the trail. The petroglyphs are so interesting to see but I think that the sign at the beginning of the trail that said watch out for rattlesnakes might have distracted me a little bit from fully enjoying the petroglyphs! I was keeping a close eye out for snakes!

You are brave ~ As much as I wanted to see the petroglyphs, I couldn’t have gotten past that’Watch Out For Rattlesnakes’ sign without running back to the car.

I was so grateful that I never saw one anywhere during that whole month long trip through the southwest. We don't have any poisonous snakes around this part of Wisconsin. I would guess that you don't have any either on PEI?

No poisonous ones on PEI but I’ve had a life-long snake phobia. Seeing even a small harmless grass snake and you would think I saw a monster. I don’t mind lizards or such.

Nice pictures, such a big world out there, I need to explore more

After it became difficult for me to travel internationally because of mobility issues, I was forced to do my traveling around the United States. And I am so glad that I did. What a big wide wonderful world it is!

Howdy Melinda! do they know who made those? Was that in the winter time that you guys went?

Howdy back to you! This was the info in the literature that the Park Service handed out."It is estimated 90% of the monument's petroglyphs were created by the ancestors of today's Pueblo people. Puebloans have lived in the Rio Grande Valley since before 500 A.D., with a population increase around 1300 A.D." We were in this area over New Years and then spent the rest of the month in the northern Arizona, southern California, Nevada area.

oh how interesting, so the Indians did that, or the early Indians right? And the weather didn't wear those away.
That's the perfect time to travel in those areas.

It was colder than I expected. We even saw traces of snow, but I wonder if they have lasted because they are in the desert where weather that would cause erosion would be more rare?

Howdy again Melinda! how's your day been? Are you still fighting that cold or whatever it was?
I bet you're right about the erosion of the designs in the rock. They must have carved them in pretty deep too.

Not the greatest day, but my daughter came to my rescue and helped set everything right. Damn MS can cause so many unexpected predicaments.
My cold symptoms are tapering off, though and I am feeling human again! So that's a plus!

howdy Melinda..well I'm sorry about the first situation but happy about the second one and that dang cold leaving.
Tomorrow will be better!

Fotos muy impresionantes amiga,debio ser una linda experiencia,le felicito por su buen trabajo,feliz inicio de semana ya que el domingo se esta despidiendo,un abrazo .

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You have seen so many incredible things Melinda. And thank to you, I just found out, that we have a large petroglyphs park here in Ontario. I will let my daughter know. It is about 4 -5 hours drive so will see.

Oh, you would enjoy that! I hope you get to go traveling and see all the things you want to see!

Thank you so much my Dear Melinda, I hope you are right 😍

You should have a traveling partner who wants to see the world!

First I need money.........I am saving, lol.

Very nice they look like big charcoal rocks the drawing are just to let you know the aliens have been there...hehe :)

You may be right..... image

Haha...to funny we are not alone :)

Rocky land with those hard rocks are scatered every where. Very owesome scenery. Thanks for sharing @melinda010100.

The rocks are lava flow from long ago volcanoes. It is an interesting terrain.

@melinda010100 Nice boulders. Reminds me of the terrian in the deserts of California. That brush and no trees for miles.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do love the desert SW! There really is no place like it.

Nice photos, I would love to wander about there and check out the petroglyphs. The desert is SO gorgeous. And peaceful. I'm sure one could spend a LOT of time wandering and shooting away at all of the artwork. And even MORE amazing how long it's been there. Such a fascinating subject. Appreciate the look at another area I've not yet been to. But one day, would be nice.

I did a post about this area a while ago and used all my favorite photos. But, of course, I took tons of pictures. It was a lovely January day, and there was no one else around, so we really enjoyed wandering and taking photos.

Nothing better than getting mentally lost in a phenomenal area with a camera. Time really flies by fast, and SO many snaps to take. Thanks be for digital.

boulders and Petroglyph how cool is that I would love to explore that area

There is so much to do and see in New Mexico! It's a great place to go in the winter time!

Maybe one day I will make it there ;)

It would be a long road trip for you! It was long for us, and we started in the middle of the country. Lots to see and do on the way out there, though!

Yeah I dont see doing that long a road trip but you never know LOL

It would be great if you had unlimited time and travel money!

It would be great if
You had unlimited time
And travel money!

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You got a 50.54% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @melinda010100! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)