City Lights/Mad Horse: A Collaborative Art Journey with @everlove

frame_1517950225548.jpg

It's time to join in with @everlove and her splendid art collaboration!

I have always been fond of these but since the birth of the little boom I have struggled for time. It is always worth it though so when the call came out again I thought I would have to do it in my own clumsy way!

They are a fabulous thing and if you haven't entered before I strongly encourage you to do so now!

The picture we were given to base the piece on was this.

U5drKrfKpCRevayZB9N3gN3Qjg52ni6_1680x8400.jpeg

Ha, I thought. This is obviously a neon dude smoking a fatty!! I endeavoured to draw said dude.

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

As I was drawing him with the android light painting app, imaginatively named Light Painter. I thought hmm. Perhaps not. So I changed tack.

I looked more closely at the base image and thought that it was quite like the northern lights. I imagined a City Scape underneath such a thing. Yes, that's what I would do instead of neon dude.

I needed some buildings. I opened up PicSay pro and made some black paint daubs. Then some yellow lines with black intersecting lines for little windows. I made a few of these wonky buildings.

1517671246-picsay_20180206210710029.jpg

It looks quite guff when it's big but don't worry, it gets better when shrunk down!

Now I needed a dark sky. A simple gradient by painting dark blue with some darker blue at the top.

1517671246-picsay_20180206110826529.jpg

Then turn the base art on its side and superimpose over it.

1517671246-picsay_20180206111232725-01.jpg

Then it was just a case of plopping my buildings on. I used Pixlr Express for this bit. Oh and I drew a moon on it!

Screenshot_20180206-154607.jpg

Finally, to liven it up a bit. I animated the windows slightly. Using FlipAClip for android.

City+lights.gif

So there you go. By the way, because of where I put the moon you also get a psychotic horse's head glaring menacingly at you. Do you see it?

Sort:  

This is so awesome, I love it!! That took some work too. You inspire me to start playing around with this kind of thing :)

Hehe, you would be amazeballs at anything you turned your hand to!

Stoppp, haha, just kidding, keep it coming!
lolz

Hahahah, take up the brush ladywife, take it up and become... mohooarr...

Okay Mr Boom..... I don't want you to take this the wrong way.... but...

...

...it's surprisingly good.

It's wonky as all get out, but that adds to the style and goddamn I wish that horse with the moon-eye would stop following me around the room.

Hehe, Iwould never take anything the wrong way!

That horse. I am starting to wish I had never set it free! Its furious!

You can talk to us Boomy...

Open up, be brave...

You're still thinking about the horse-womble aren't you?

I have been found out, more and more, my thoughts turn to her flaxen hair and fine whinny

beautiful work dear friend @meesterboom congratulations, I am splendid.
You are very creative, thank you very much for sharing your art
I wish you a happy evening

Cheers @jlufer! Its a clumsy piece but I had a lot of fun with it!

Wow! I repeat: wow! You know I have a "special love" for houses and buildings and this piece make me think to my first wooden houses (even if your buildings don't have the big yellow eyes ^_^). I like it!

Oh darn, I should have given them eyes! They are very wonky. I like them in a cute way, Your stuff is always magic! I love your characterful ones!

You're sooooo kind!!! :D

Its so very true! :O)

I see the horse's head! This is great! I've never downloaded all that artwork-y stuff ...I'll leave it to you creative types!

It's an excellent horses head. It is that that I am most proud of lol!! I bet you would be fab with these things. I always had you down as a bit of a painter. I think that's because your garden stuff is always so lovely

I'm very hands-on creative (my mother to me..."oh, dear, you are very good with your hands" lol, she was right! The painting/drawing stuff...my sisters got that talent; I'm still stuck in stick figure mode!

Amazing - I love the lights... the dancing lights! Makes me want to throw on some dance music and grab my glow sticks!

Hehe, glow sticks, now you're talking! :0)

Looking good I don't see any horse maybe because I just smoke a joint.
Greetings 😜

Thats all the more reason to see one!!! :O)

Hmm, 😂😂 today I see him easy 😂😂

Wow, thats very noble off you helping a fellow Steemian by sharing her art on your page!
I will follow her and look in the artwork.

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED

Kind regards

Its her thing, I am just participating :O)

Wow, yours is really cool and animated. I just did a boring painting for my entry. This is fun though and now I found another person to follow. That to me is one of the cool things about these contests, is going to the tag that collects them all and finding other cool artists.

It is great for that. I just saw yours, what an awesome working! The colours and the lady is amazing

That horse is really scaaaary, Nightmares today :(

It is, its a hell hound horse!

Holy Jesus watermelon save me!!

Jeez, you're very multi talented Boomer! Looks like you could succeed at anything you apply yourself too! Good looking piece, if anything, i'd add some of that light play or movement in the sky too ✊🏽

I originally had the lights in the sky moving but after doing two frames in ten minutes realised it might take all week lol!!

I really like this piece, but then I am partial to the Northern Lights. You have done an amazing job!

I love the northern lights. I have only seen them once but it was magical!

Yes, there I see "psychotic horse's head", well I think I visualize it. Anyway, magnificent "art journey". Definitely very good technique. I congratulate you. Greetings.

The psychotic horse with a moon for an eye :0) thank you!

Some people are so creative! Impressive sir. Very impressive.

Cheers very much!

OMG @meesterboom!!!! I opened up my blog and there you were! Finally, I pull you out again to give us some of your awesomeness. I ALWAYS so appreciate what you share. I love that you share your process, even when what you begin isn't the final outcome. It's fun to see where someone's head is with these collaborations and where the creation leads.

You have a real solid way to bring on the fun. The yellow window lights flashing really do it for me...and oh that horse's head...he is seriously watching us all. At first I saw it as a wolf!

Thanks for coming out to play again. Playing with Baby Boom is the best distraction -- I'm glad the baby has to sleep sometimes so we can have our bits from you!

Allloo!!!!

I really do get a kick out of it. Now that you mention it, it is quite wolfy! A psychotic wolf! I like it!

:O)

Hehehehe--a psychotic wolf!! Hmmm...what will be going down in that city tonight!!

I'd like to see the outcome of that! ;D

Excellent art work, I like ;)

Cheers lass, not real art like yours!

That is really cool - love the window animation! :)

I thought it added that extra wee oomph!

arte es arte, no lo entendí hahaha. saludos amigo, también he estado full ocupada. abrazos para la familia

Greetings lass!! Nice to see you! I know what it is like to be busy!

gracias por entender, ahora voy de salida, Aquí la situacion esta ruda. jejeje

Ah... you also rotated it first.

I did! 90 degrees clockwise, to get the horse head :O)

Wow! You are not only a writer but a person who appreciate art also. Honestly, I don't understand art at all haha. I liked your first drawing with the neon dude.

Your final drawing with the animated buildings looks awesome. I saw the psychotic horse's head with the green streaks as the outline. Upvoted!

Ah thank you, I am glad you saw the mad horse.

I liked the neon dude as well, it was quite easy though and I thought it a bit cheaty!

Yea i saw it.. Lol. But @meesterboom you did a wonderful job here. Cheers!!! have a good rest tonite my friend

It's all about the horse really! Cheers mate!

With a tiny little bit of aphrodisiac, I also see the horse head!

Hehe, once you see it you can never unsee it!

Psychotic horses that's my stuff. I like to talk to them when they come to me at night.

I ride them!!! RAAAR!

RAAAR, you're savage. It's really hard to subdue one of them because they use moons as eyes!!

That is the hard part, I always get a peeled potato and ... oops. You dont wanna know

I saw the horse immediately! haha Great minds and all that ;) Really cool adaptation btw, I must learn more techy stuff!

I loved this work. It is a great art thank you for sharing my friend❤💪

I thank you, and the horse's head nods approvingly

Woow wonderful fotography I love this picture,really beautiful photos that you post, I really like it and will share it with me,Art is a life that is filled with nutrients for the body and the heart.
Thanks for sharing @meesterboom

You are a soapy tit wank. There are no photos!

I see the horse

That is because you, you, were chosen

Really wonderfull posts I like

I like them first

You have a great imagination, and you know how to use colors very much. The power of imagination is great and when there is much more talent.
we hope you will think of it next time.

I think that that is many of the thoughts that Iwill have

Well that's very good to know, I'll wait for another work of art that comes from your inspiration

Excellent piece of art you got there sir. This is creativity.
I will try getting those apps you mention....lemme see what i can do with them.
I love this, very beautiful.

The apps are excellent for making something out of nothing :O)

I am going to try them out.

Simple but interesting.

I am sure thats a saying!

I was just saying, simple is not always interesting and interesting is not always simple. But this one is simple and interesting.

Adn thank you!

Spacy, very Arty like it.

Thank you :0)

It turned out great! I've been wanting to get in on this since I saw a collab you made almost a year ago, but I haven't found time to do so. The animated lights made it look like an equalizer, and the buildings with the lights removed looks even more realistic, for some reason. Also, good call with the northern lights, Boomdiggity! Though I didn't see the mad horse in there, all I could see was Cthulhu. All I could see is Cthulhu. Everything is Cthulhu.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

Appreciate you sharing this with us Steemians! I definitely agree on neon dude smoking a fatty! :) This gives me an idea!!!

This is fabulous! I think I like the non animated version best.

Art with uncle boom as it's best :p
Amazing creativity.
just picture with eyes and lips just scared me :/