Looking Back And Learning Over Again On Hive

in #comeback2 years ago (edited)

About three months ago, I came back on Hive after almost two years just to say "hi" with my what seemed to be hit-and-run and very short post. Then I disappeared again. Few days ago, I popped up with daily random thoughts. While writing those thoughts I found myself struggling to format texts. I ended up reviewing the Markup Styling Guide to italize text, make a superscript, list and link. It sounded funny when I used to know all these on top of my head.

20220906_060829.jpg

There are more communities now, much more than I can remember. In reading one blog, I came across the terminology cross posting. Ah, I knew that feature was already available shortly before I disappeared for almost two years. Now I don't know how to do it so I searched for the steps and tried. It was amusing that it is not available on Hive. I had to log in to PeakD to do it. That was when I realized that logging in through PeakD is complicated. 😄 I thought it wasn't like this before. And I got a new discovery! Cross-posted blogs automatically decline payout. That tells me the cross post is a duplicate of the article and not the same copy of the original that is pulled and projected on different communities. I wonder if this was the case from the start.

It was good to see familiar names coming to my post either for upvote or engagement. I know some of the upvotes are automated so thank you to those who do. That tells me you trust my content. It was also good to see new names. That means this blockchain has grown and I believe that it will continue growing. That leaves me wondering about the others whom I used to interact with. Where they are now and how they are doing?

I manually searched for familiar names that I haven't seen on my recent posts. I even went back and searched on Steemit (I hope it is not a sin to mention here on Hive 😄). Initially, I thought it is sad to find out that many names stopped posting though I see their statuses as active just recently. But what is there to be sad for? Who knows they may be enjoying better in the real world? I hope so... 🙏

20220906_061207.jpg

I also searched for communities that I knew and found out that a few have ceased operation. I wonder what happened to the Engagememt League. The last post did not say anything about stopping the initiative. It is the same case with Steem Basic Income though I see it is still auto-upvoting. The @pifc has ceased before I disappeared two years ago. I see it attempted to come back but did not push through. It was cool to see that @team-ccc is still running #ccc contests. I wonder how the founder, @freedomshift, is as he seem to totally stop using both Steemit and Hive platforms. Aside from #ccc, I see the Filipino community is still active and they continue their efforts to support our fellows. Kudos, team! And, OCD seem to have gone much stronger now. 👍🏻👍🏻

Speaking of communities, I went through the list and was amused of how many there are. While I understand the purpose is to have a "group" for or "categorize" like-minded people, I find it hard for a generalist like me to keep up with the different communities. On the other hand, I guess that is how we learn more. Growing is better than shrinking. I have to learn a lot more especially on the technicalities of different interfaces like ecency and... I forgot the other one that I just knew recently. 😊

Let's keep blogging!

All images are from Pixabay

Sort:  

"That leaves me wondering about the others whom I used to interact with. Where they are now and how they are doing?"

Nice to see you posting again @macoolette! Although I didn't see (may have just missed it ...) why you stopped in the first place, I will let you know I did check on your account, from time to time, for months ...

Lots going on IRL. Crazy "new normal" world we live in ... What can we say about that? Well ... I could write several posts, in response, but ...

I'll just leave it that I am glad to see you have returned. I hope you and your loved ones are doing well! 👍🙂


P.S. I do not know if you are ever on Discord. If so, my account there is roleerob#3299. I'd welcome a friend request, if that is of interest ...

It's flattering to know that you've been checking on me, @roleerob. Thank you!

During those almost two years of not posting, I've been peaking on Hive just to claim whatever reward I got from my auto-votes. Other than that, there was no time to see who's still active or not. Since my mother died in Oct 2020, I worked from home in our province and not in Metro Manila where our office was. That was when I realized that you never ran out of something to do when you are at home, not in a place you just rented. I had so many things in mind that I could have written about but there was just no time to sit down and write comprehensively. I just posted photos and few statements on facebook which people still liked. I wish that works too here in hive.

Indeed, a lot are going on outside this social networking life. I am just grateful that we are all okay after all. How about on your side?

I was on discord but that also stopped when I stopped here in hive. Let me check on the app later.

Very nice to hear from you directly @macoolette. It is certainly understandable, with both the loss of your dear mother, as well as all of the "crazy making" surrounding how so many countries elected to respond to COVID-19, that you would not have the time to keep up the effort which you admirably maintained for a long time.

What is it the "kids" say these days? "Life happens ..." 😉

Here we are fine. With our age putting us in the "high risk" category, we have survived our own bout with COVID-19. And not by following the mandated "guidance" from the Almighty State either ... I could write whole posts about this ...

Oh, wait a minute ... I actually did, while I was still writing posts ...

Anyway, that is probably enough for now. I hope to keep in touch, as time and opportunity permit. From our days of first "meeting" in PFC, I have not forgotten the impressions made ...

There were countless miscalculations as to how the pandemic was handled here. It was understandable during the start because it is unprecedented. But after a year and the government was still doing trial-and-error is another story. But again, I could have gotten sick of anxiety just thinking about those so I let go. I'm just grateful that we made it through and things are getting better.

😂😉 yup. i sure can relate to ur confusion/getting lost in all the community thing.. there are sooooooooooo many. I just post to a few or even prefer just to stick a post on my blog instead of possibly posting in the wrong one..

don't even get what or why to cross-post. it's just confusing whenever i see that on my feed.. :P

The main purpose of cross posting is to share a post that is applicable with different communities. For example if you have many photos from your travel, your post can be shared in travel and photography communities. The challenge in posting directly to a community is that your post won't show up on your Blog view. You have to go to Posts view.

ahhhhhh 😉💪🙏

Welcome back and thanks for the upvotes even di pa tayo mgkakilala. By the way I'm jean from Mindanao, I'm just a newbie and sis bloghound is my mentor here lol. Glad to meet the old hiver here🤗...

Thank you and you're welcome. 😊

It is nice to know that someone mentors others even for blogging. Let's all grow in this platform. 😊

The Hive Engagement League is still here. Asher is still at it. Welcome back!

Asher's last post about the Engagement League was two months ago without any mention if will be moved to a different account. Was it?

Thank you!

Oh, that one I don't know. 😁

Apparently, you did not check before replying hehehe...

Welcome back @macoolette. I remember your name when I started here 2 years ago when I got some upvotes from you on some of my posts. 🤗

I'm glad you still remember me and to see you still here. 💐😊

I kinda stalk some hivers before who upvoted my posts. And I did remember you. 😁

Well I'm glad that you're really back now. 🥰

Thank you! 😊💖😊

Thinking that Hive is already here almost two years ago, it amazes me how this platform grew this big. I am also curious what Hive looks like two years ago hahaha.

paying respect to all of the OGs on this platform

I wonder if it was really two years ago when Hive came into being. It was a spin off from Steemit. It is funny that I don't remember when I came from Steemit. 😄

When developers cloned Steemit and created Hive, they cloned all old posts from Steemit. That looks like Hive materialized long before two years ago. You may encounter user accounts with "joined" date as far back as 2016.