Sort:  

Let's hope so; it has been slow going the last decades, and as they are now, they suck greatly.

I read that there is doubt about batteries ever really reaching a satisfactory level. Fuel cells and not yet envisioned technologies are the hope of the doubters.

I have this engineer's gut feeling batteries will prove to be a dead end for cars. I also have some good reasons to think that.

H2 is a pain to store and transport, but that may be solved someday.

I have been wondering about synthetic gasses that could be transported using existing infrastructure. They would produce CO2 when burned, but no more than what went into producing them. And the cars would still sound good. Not the most efficient or clean solution, but feasible and good enough.

Did I mention the cars would still sound good?

And the good reasons?? It would interest me to hear why you think so.

We have busses in Copenhagen going on biogas made from the households food waste so it is already there.

There are many good reasons, but I don't feel like writing an essay on them. Maybe later.

Biogas is great, and you can synthesise methane and the like from CO2 and H2. Not the prettiest of processes yet, but they have been finding new catalysts for the Sabatier reaction lately.

My wife and I never owned a car - mostly because embarking on a life of low consumption gave us the economic freedom to create art - so me watching all those EV-videos reminded me of a friend I have who is videogamer and voluntary shut-in who used to love watching gardening and outdoor shows in the telly.

Fascinating thing is that all the beautiful old cars can be converted. The gas-engine is normally the thing that makes the car obsolete, so fitting an electric motor is really a great way of saving all the energy waste from the car production. The electric motor is an age old and proven technology and both simpler and better than the gasoline engine. What's really brilliant about it is that only the battery should be replaced from time to time, and when new and better tech (hopefully soon) arises (Aluminium–air battery!) it is the simplest thing to just put in a new battery and connect it.

You can't just go about ripping original engines out of classic cars, you Philistine. It's a sin.

Stop posting horror movies.

I won't lie to you.

Why? Did I overdo the alliteration in my comment about my DS?

I can't answer why, but soon, very soon they will come and put a lithium-ion battery in your car, and there will be no way you can reverse the zombification. Quiet and clean you will roll down the street in search of brains!