D.Tube 0.4: Serious UI Lifting & IPFS Backup & New Domain & More

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since my last update. Since then, IPFS is regularly failing to upload or serve video files and STEEM got ddos-ed 10 times. But at least the Smart Media Tokens have been announced, so that is some good news for us. I plan to release an announcement for the DTube SMT, directly from the @dtube account, in the upcoming weeks, and will totally ignore any comment related to it until then.

This update focuses mostly on graphical and marketing changes, however I have also decided to do something about videos loading poorly, so I added a backup. Keep reading to know more :)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)




(Image not shown due to low ratings)



Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

It's getting faster and more stable each day, great work , clever thinking with a back up, Torrents is a stable system, however I do get the thought line of Pirates etc - the UX is very intuitive, il check out the mobile version.
awesome progression @heimindanger PS love the new domain and thank
you for answering all my questions in chat.

Oh I forgot 2 guys from our team are going to Lisbon @s0u1 and @michelle.gent, I'm sure they'll be quizzing you regarding the masses of car content we are uploading and will continue to do, as well as launching our brand new surprise on your platform, the rest of us can't make it, we have to go and drive McLarens in the Cotswolds, have fun.

Greetings @heimindanger! Do you think Steemit has what it takes to be one of the top 10 global social media platforms?

We do! Are you willing to help us do what it takes to fix steemits vulernabilities so we can bring this platform to the mainstream?

I represent an media alliance with over 10 million followers. We see that steemit needs a few small, but very important changes to make it to the next level.

Please share your solutions with us! And help us attract the attention of steem developers. Share your wisdom and thoughts with us at
https://steemit.com/steem/@earthnation/solutions-to-bring-steemit-to-the-mainstream-discussion-thread-share-your-solutions-help-us-attract-steem-developers-attention

Together, we will bring steem to the Mainstream!

For now i don't think so, but later years steemit will be the among 5 of the most popular social media website. Because of its advance tech, good user interface, and how promoted articles got lots of engagement in a short period, well i think there's hope.

alternative youtube is or not

wish I could go to Lisbon ...looking forward for some footage on dtube ;)

Hi! Some amazing work you are doing. I was wondering if d.tube supports 360 degree video, or if you have plans to include it in the future?

thank you for this post , great job!

very nice

thank you for this post , great job!

@heimindanger It is perfect that you chose Github Pages. Now we are really moving forward.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Can I go to Lisbon?

Great work. I

This project has the potential to take Steemit into the Top10 coins. The demonetization on Youtube will be sending hundreds of thousands of Youtubers over Dtube and Steemit over the next few months & years. Exciting stuff!

Thanks again for creating DTube for us. You're making a lot of progress and I will continue to be a faithful content creator there through any and all hickups because I believe 100000% in your vision and what you have given life to.

Well said Lyndsay!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm not very tech savvy, however I will get my husband's help in figuring out this webtorrent business, thanks a lot for the advice HeiminDanger :)

Do everything at the highest level, so that it would be comfortable and simple and convenient, and then from users there will be no release, but in recent times with this problem.

How can I contact you.

Thanks for all your hard work on this. I just updated the DTube Dark Theme so that it supports your recent changes! :)

dtube dark

It's fascinating to see project like this shape up from the start. You've done great work! And big thanks to the rest of the team also.

Making more improvements is what it is all about. I was impressed the last video I uploaded. Status bar?!? NICE!! Amazing how something like that makes a person want to stay involved and keep giving feedback.
Thanks for all your work an effort in this project. Keep on keepin on!!

Be great to meet you in Lisbon @heimindanger as have some ideas/projects that could help grow your amazing platform!

Loving how this is developing!!! It is really maturing into a very usable platform. YouTube may just end up with a black eye yet. =)

The D.Tube domain is a very smart move.

OMG! how did you guys get this awesome domain?

I wanna be able to watch the videos any time, any where, this could also save me some time. And the mobile app would really make this happen. I'll be waiting for it.

Thanks @heimindanger that it is improving day by day. I used it when it launched but it had lot of bugs. Now I shall again try it out.

I'm rooting for Dtube to really take off! YouTube has become politically controlled and that is a shame. Here's to Dtube getting it right.

Excellent work addressing the issues mate! Hopefully this helps everyone upload a lot smoother, brings more people to DTube and it keeps growing to eventually be huge.

This is great news. We really need Dtube to give YouTube a run for it's money!

Looking forward to catching up with everyone over in Lisbon next week!

Main issue is this IPFS. Upload not easy. You try to upload, try, try and fail, then you leave this platform for famous similar looking site))

I love how you manage problem with video picture. Youtube choose for you, but here you choose for yourself. Great stuff.

its futur man !

Pirates will always exploit these kinds of sites to distribute their goods (I mean Bads!). I hope they will keep the site clean and secure.

It seems they're well prepared for this launch. It's not going to take a long time until it becomes popular. New domains are really exciting. I don't expect too much trouble with this site after the initial surge of traffic has been handled properly.

It seems they're well prepared for this launch. It's not going to take a long time until it becomes popular. New domains are really exciting. I don't expect too much trouble with this site after the initial surge of traffic has been handled properly.

Thank you for the heads up, @heimindanger
@DTube is an excellent service to the @Steemit community.
Is there a way to embed a d.tube video into another web page, other than @Steemit?

 7 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Huge progress! Yeah, in fact, the first thing I'm noticing is the progress bar–that's a major improvement. Thanks for your update here, and for continuing to develop this vital asset for Steemit. I've tested it again just now, and I notice it's working much better for me this round. I haven't been able to use it for the past month or so, because I maxed my bandwidth, according to the error message I kept seeing. Here's the post I just added successfully:

Thank you again!

Im on of the dev type of guys... Rarely upload any videos to web :) I'm following DTube since the start earlier this year. I have to admin:
@heimindanger - You are rare example of real meaning for the words such as dreams, goals, ideas, accomplishments, being stubborn, creative, progressive... i can do it for hours, modern dictionary is quite heavy weight :)

Anyway, i hope this will continue as stay on this path, since you are seriously first potential threat to YouTube, being far more progressive than they have been for first 5 years of improvements.

Great work!

Cheers

Luci

I really hope D-Tube takes off. I'm pissed at YouTube for constantly changing my Subs and my recommendations because they think I'm to stupid to see that they're censoring everything, gosh....

I wish you the best of luck and I hope from the bottom of my heart that you're going to kick some virtual goolag.

awesome work @heimindanger ! The one letter domain is amazing and surely will catch on very quickly. I've had issues with very small 30s-1min videos in .mov or .mp4 formats not loading properly for my viewers. It has put me off trying to upload some more because they cannot be removed and look dis organised on my profile. Is there a timeframe you think I may be able to return to uploading more videos? Cheers.

Wow great stuff by dtube. Your really pushing it and i love that about good steemians who want steem to be a success. I really like your post and it is encouraging.

Fantastic work. Just reposted a video from a previous post because:

  1. It no longer shows up on the dtube channel list.
  2. They no longer point to an active domain for the video files.

And I just discovered an issue:

  • The post was missing the closing ">" on the <a> tags.

(I edited it via steemit to put in the missing > bracket.)

Thanks for the fast fix on the <a> issue!

Thank you so my for making this possible. I have been busy of late work wise. But we are slow at the moment at work so I going to try uploading my first d.tube video of a special effects that it meant to look like a bullet hitting a hay bail.

Awesome, It took me 15 Minutes to get my first d.tube video up! https://dtube.video/login#!/v/dylanhobalart/u5qu3bbz

Excellent to hear! I have a feature request: can you make the speedup user-selectable?

Over the past couple years I've been watching YouTube videos (other than music) at increasing speeds, and now sometimes 2x is "too slow". I can download and watch in VLC, where I can change the speed by 10% each time, hitting "]" and "["; I've watched up to 3x with good retention. Not sure I'll get to higher than that, but, if there was an option where the user could click an up or down arrow to move it 10% at a time, and/or (stress the and) a text field where they could enter a number, e.g., "162%" if they wanted that.

I stressed the "and" because I like giving users as much flexibility as possible.

Thanks again!

thank you for the update btw i figured out how to upload files which are too big to upload via the provided interface by using this code trick.

$('input[name="videohash"]').val("video ipfs hash here");

by using it I am able to upload videos which would normally crash my browser. It also allows me to upload videos without having the files on my pc.

I hope a UI update will expose the snaphash and videohash fields so that i can just copy and paste the ipfs hash from my cmdline instead of having to open the chrome devtools everytime.

Also what happened to the ipfs hash that ended in dtube? will the service itself no longer be hosted over ipfs?

by webtorrent do you mean something like https://instant.io/ ? And by magnet insertion you mean something like this?

$('input[name="snaphash"]').val("insert magent or ipfs hash here");
$('input[name="videohash"]').val("insert magnet or ipfs hash here");

Well imo I think you should reduce the bundling you seem to be doing to the javascript files it makes inputing the hashes/magnet links harder because the devtools window sometimes stops responding. Also it makes the code harder to read and possibly patch myself if i want to test something.

@heimindanger I am loving this new look. Earlier my main concern was mobile view. Now I am getting great mobile view. Its an awesome domain too. Expand your good work brother.

Fabulous! Way to go, persevering through the many unforeseen obstacles (or maybe you anticipated the obstacles, but I didn't). :) I've been following the Steemit Open Mic, for example, and noticing that 99% of the participants are still using YouTube there. So it's really good to know you're making improvements, and I'm thinking this means you'll gain a lot more of the YouTube market share.

d.tube forever!
demon.etization never!

This reminds me a lot of MaidSafe which was aired over 4 years ago on Max Keiser's show as a "working network" and yet they barely have a test net working last I checked.

I invested heavily in supporting an internet stored in a decentralized way and it never got off the ground - maidsafe (correct me if I am wrong). Best of luck on IPFS - I will be installing it on one of my vm's soon.
High Hopes!

Really appreciate your efforts heimindanger. I will continue to upload to Dtube!

Myself being a former youtuber who got hit by the ad-apocalypse knows fully well YT blows(and censors).

I continue to upload my stuff to other social media sites as well, but seriously, Dtube is the only one earning me any rewards. Sure I might get 20 or 30 views on Bit-Chute or Youtube, but even if I had ad monetized on my new channel it would only be worth a penny or so.

Dtube and Steemit are going to become the future, and there are a lot of people who can benefit from using it right away, whereas on youtube or other sites you need 10,000+ views before you can even get monetization going.

AND that monetization is really low compared to how much someone can earn here. I can post something and at least earn 5 to 10 cents from a few likes/views, that ratio on YT is 10 to 20x to make 5 to 10 cents.

I am doing what I can to get to SteemFest!!! Would be way cool yo meet u & everyone else! Woop!

Excellent! I'll probably try to help with the torrent seeding part.

All my 250 friends will hear about it, making dtube more popular than youtube. cheers!

Salut @heimindanger! Bravo pour ton avancée sur Dtube! ;)

A friend and I just launched our Android app. You must be incredibly busy but if any chance, we'd love to get your feedback: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@fcrypto/feeling-overwhelmed-with-crypto-currencies-join-our-android-beta :)

Awesome news! Thanks for creating and improving this much needed project! :)

Really awesome work! Your hard work is much appreciated, if anything can make the platform mainstream i would this is IT.
Much appreciated for your hard work. I'm telling everyone to join and upload their content at d.tube.

I had a question, so when the new token is released for Dtube does that mean Dtube will be separate from steemit? Because that is what I want, I dont want videos on my steemit feed I want a separate website for decentralized videos...

Also I want to suggest with the new token to get people all around the world involved by paying them to host via torrent or whatever method. So people can host their own videos and others videos, and depending on how much upvotes the video gets part of that reward goes to the people hosting depending on how much bandwidth they supplied to the network. This would be similar to cryptocurrency stacking/mining except your serving video files to users.

Also I would like to suggest you allow users to create advertisement videos which would appear before videos (just like youtube). So the user who owns a video could agree or disagree if they want a particular ad to appear before their video. And the user who created the advertisement would have to prepay with whatever token you created for x number of views. This would basically create a perpetual stream of funding and would not just depend on the 7 day payout like steemit currently has because you can place an advertisement on any video no matter how old it is.

I think this would create a truly decentralized video platform that everyone would be willing to participate in. Because you would create an economically viable currency flow between user, content creators, content hosts, and advertisers.

The only issues that might arise are copyright problems, but that would not be an issue of the website since it would be completely decentralized, copyright holders would have to go after individual users who create/upload copyrighted content. You could just create a flag like steemit has to hide copyright content if most users choose to downvote it...

Anyway that is just some ideas I had, Thanks.

Hi nerdyboy @heimindanger

The thing is that NONE of the updates MATTER as long as dtube CRASHES on uploads on EVERY fucking video that is over 450MB....

DTUBE IS A JOKE WHEN YOU CANT EVEN UPLOAD!

When you create something, make it fucking work....

Do a better job

Post of the day.Congratulation bro.best of luck.

Another component of the changing world..........

Sounds great, if i open a DTUBE account is the same that Youtube. Can you receive money for do that

Yes, this is the point of decentralized networks. A some-what fairly distributed monetary incentive.

just awesome....help us to get vote
Thank You

Great job guys and godbless :)

There are 4 pages
Pages