You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag!

in #engagement6 years ago

Hey, @beeyou.

You're welcome to hang out with all of us still. I guess if I'm being called a king and this is my kingdom, you're welcome to reside and thrive and flourish in it as much as you like. :)

Do I have to make that a formal decree or something? Or did I just do that? :)

Sort:  

When you are the King, you just say stuff and everyone does it... Its great! lol :P

That's probably way too much power for me, or for anyone to bear. As wise old Ben Parker once said, "With great power comes great responsibility."

That being said, I did actually intentionally decree that everyone enjoy Mexican food this week (which means I need to make sure my wife cooks on the day she has off). So, if people actually do go out and celebrate their individual efforts, it'd be cool to know what everyone had. :)

I love Mexican food so since you decreed it, then I will have to go to my favorite little mexican restaurant.. I will take a pic of it and send you! (always good to be in good with the king) :P

hahaha brown-noser Dave!

I'm with you on that....

So, hey! @glenalbrethsen, I bet I could find a good Mexican restaurant to do the same haha

You better, considering you're in Mexico and basically surrounded by fine Mexican cuisine.

In fact, I would expect to eat something cooked in banana leaf! Can't remember exactly what it's called but we had something in banana leaf when we were down the last time we were in the Cancun area. They didn't call it a tamal, and it wasn't pibil, which I've also had. It had another name something that sounds similar to ishote ixshote and it was awesome.

Anyway the cuisine on your side of Mexico is fairly distinct is what I'm trying to get at, so I would hope you would come up with something special. :) @leeart has already posted her pic, so it's up to everyone else now. :)

I went to cancun in my 20s, I loved it... Always wanted to go back, just never made it yet.

And lol on your comment about he photo of the food, I will post it here (I really don't know your email hahaha) :P

Well Dave, I'm not saying that's a long time ago, but I think you will find that it's all changed, but still so beautiful!!

It's a great area, one of the best tourist areas still and not as bad, as I understand, as other places where the narcos have moved in. For a long time, it's my understanding there wasn't even a reason for them to be there, but anyway, times change.

I've been there twice now, once with a friend from work and once with my wife. Great trips both times. The first time, we actually went to Playa del Carmen. This last time we just drove by it on the freeway. A lot has changed down there.

One of these days, we'll make it back. My wife was saying she wanted to make another trip somewhere, either Hawaii or Cancun. We'll see. She wants to take everyone, which includes two sons, their wives, and one grand daughter, who will be just over a year old by the time we go. Plus, there's always the chance that the other daughter-in-law will be pregnant then and won't feel up to much of traveling, even if she really, really wants to.

Anyway, it's high on the list of places to revisit. The ruins down there are my go to place and you can't beat the food.

re: photo and email

Okay, that'll do. :)

I normally cook at home, because I love to, and I've experimented with local cuisine, but the next 'eat-out' night, I'll be sure to have my phone with me to be that person in a restaurant that I usually make fun of haha

I wish I knew what you were referring to, but truthfully, I have no idea:)

I'll check out @leeart's photo too. That's funny!

I wish I could remember the name. It was pretty local cuisine, I'd never heard of it before, and I believe it had shrimp in it. We had it as part of some room service food we ordered at the hotel we were staying at when my wife and I went. It was really good. There just wasn't enough of it.

I'll ask my wife and see if she remembers.

It's good to cook at home. That's how I normally get Mexican food, because when my wife's off work, she'll cook it. I'm going to need to make sure I actually do eat some myself, because it wouldn't be that good of a thing for the guy making the Mexican food decree to be the guy who doesn't actually eat the Mexican food. :) Especially if it's my one and only week making decrees.

haha... how could you tell.. :P .

And the funny thing is I do love Mexican food, especially american mexican food :)

hahaha that is funny!

:P I get funnier as the night wears on ;)

If by 'take a pic of it and send you' you mean make a comment here with the pic, that would be great. Otherwise, I might have to give you my email address or something. Unless you already have that. Because you were king once.

Wait. Is that part of the gig, too?!

Whoa.

Step away from the power, Glen. Slowly. Slowly.

hahahaha this made me laugh!!!

Hey King Glen! Don't get too used to the sound that buddy hahaha

She said as she sped at 500 mph through all of the comments that were left waiting for her since she's been gone well over a day. Varoooooooooom!

Well, I fully expect it to be a battle this week, so let's all do our best and see how it shakes out. :)

hahaha @ginabot did have a terribly high number beside her face, waiting for me! I have gotten through a big chunk of them, but no worries, I only type about 120 words/min so I'm sure you're fine ;)