Tutorial: How to invest in EOS ICO and claim EOS token using MyEtherWallet.com

in #eos7 years ago

Hello Steemit,

EOS is traded since yesterday on Kraken and Bitfinex and there is a huge interest in joining the EOS party. I heard that some guys had trouble using the MetaMask Wallet, that's why I created a tutorial to show how easy it is to invest into the ICO and to claim EOS token using https://www.myetherwallet.com.

Please be aware that phising sites are out there with the same look and feel. Always doublecheck the domain name!

How to Invest in the EOS ICO

If you want to invest in the EOS ICO, you need to send Ether to a special Ethereum address. Open https://www.myetherwallet.com/#send-transaction and select the "Private Key" option.

invest2.jpg

Enter your private key for your ethereum adress and click "Unlock" to open your wallet.

invest3.jpg

According to https://eos.io/instructions the Ethereum address for ICO participation is 0xd0a6e6c54dbc68db5db3a091b171a77407ff7ccf. Enter this address and the amount of ether you want to invest and click "Generate Transaction".

invest4.jpg

Below the "Generate Transaction" button the raw data of the transaction is now visible. Click on "Send Transaction".

invest5.jpg

Finally you need to confirm the transaction. Click on "Yes, I am sure! Make transaction."

invest6.jpg

A green overlay at the bottom of the screen is displayed.

invest7.jpg

You can check your transaction via https://etherscan.io/

invest8.jpg

Congratulations, you are now invested into EOS ICO.

How to claim EOS token

After investing into the ICO you need to wait until the end of the current investment period. Every period is 23 hours long. Check https://eos.io/instructions to see when the current period ends.

To claim your EOS token, open https://www.myetherwallet.com/#contracts in your browser.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-07-03 um 14.17.52.png

According to https://eos.io/instructions the Ethereum Smart Contract address for ICO participation is 0xd0a6e6c54dbc68db5db3a091b171a77407ff7ccf. Enter this address, and the ABI/JSON Interface information is loaded in the background. Click "Access".

claim2.jpg

Click on the "Select a function" Dropdown-Box in the Section "Read / Write Contracts".

claim3.jpg

Select the "claimAll" function.

claim4.jpg

Now open your wallet using the "Private Key" Option. Enter the private key for your Ethereum address ...

claim5.jpg

and click "Unlock".

claim6.jpg

Verify that the "claimAll" function is selected and click the "Write" button.

claim7.jpg

Enter the Gas Limit 3141592 and click "Generate Transaction".

claim8.jpg

Finally you need to confirm the transaction. Click on "Yes, I am sure! Make transaction."

claim9.jpg

A green overlay at the bottom of the screen is displayed.

claimB.jpg

You can check your transaction via https://etherscan.io/. In the tab Transactions you see a 0 Ether transfer from your address to EOSCrowdSale. This call triggers the SmartContract execution and claims your EOS token.

claimC.jpg

In the tab "Token Transfers" you will find the EOS token transfer from EOSCrowdSale to your wallet.

claimD.jpg

Have fun with your EOS token :-)

Sort:  

Very helpful! It seems that I´m one of those who have trouble claiming their EOS tokens via the Metamask/Token distribution app route. I simply can´t access the distribution interface anymore and Metamask is not able to connect to the RPC at http://rpc.makerdao.com:7777

These are the errors I get when connecting to the ethereum mainnet:

Error Distribution Interface.png

Anyone out there having the same issue?

Any advice most welcome :)

Thx

UPDATE: It´s all fixed now. A new RPC is up and running at https://rpc.eos.io and can be accessed via Metamask :)

I'm having precisely the same issue! Have you found any successful fixes at all? Thanks in advance!

Not yet, unfortunately. If any solution or explanation arises I will post it to my comment here. In case you are faster in figuring this out, pls do the same :-) Cheers!

I got the same problem.
Could we do this : forget the first part of the tutorial. Could we export our private keys from Metamask and send them to myetherwallet and then claim them like the rest of the guide tells us to? I have 0 experience with this, so I don't know if it's possible

Unless you haven´t claimed your tokens already via the interface I assume that there is no way to extract the PKs.
In the meantime I found this post from @xbm and it seems we are not the only ones having that problem. It seems that also Dan is aware and they are working on setting up additional RPC servers. So it seems to be a capacity issue. So I recommend folling the thread over there to keep up to date.

https://steemit.com/eos/@xbm/troubleshooting-eos-distribution-app-with-metamask

Great post bookmarking !

may I ask where the bookmarking option is? I just use the Webversion

You can bookmark on esteem but I usually just make a comment and then go back and scroll through my comments.

@twinner Very Useful and Informative Post especially for newbies in this Field. Everything is Explained in a well simplified Manner. i am going to Invest in it Today. Followed You for Awesome Posts in Future. Great Work . Keep it Up. :)

Very helpful & detailed guide
Thanks for sharing
Keep the good work
Thanks also for great support

Gutes Tutorial =)
Wie ich sehe bist du selber dabei? :)

Ja, habe mal mitgemacht und das gleich für ein Tutorial genutzt.

Awesome step by step process, Inhad to learn the hard way back when 😂

Thank you very much @stackin.

Thanks for the clean and easy tutorial :)

Thx twinner this is quite useful and actual knowledge. Thx for letting us know, too!

You are welcome @pollux.one

extremly helpful for all of us this detailed guide will make the difficulty to understand this topic so easy now

Thank you @shanzaylizay

pleasure @twinner , i always read your posts just for the sake of info and it adds me alot knowledge in my mind , knowledge is the real wealth that i gain from your posts thanks again

Tnx, we need more tutorials like this on steemit

Thank you very much @luckysteem

Gut das wollte ich auch noch wissen.
Jetzt wo die erste ICO Runde vorbei ist, gibt es Preisabschätzungen für das kommende Jahr ?

Keine Ahnung,

  • erste Runde ca 320 EOS für 1 Ether
  • zweite Runde ca 160 EOS für 1 Ether
  • dritte Runde ca 45 EOS für 1 Ether

So wie ich es verstanden habe hängt der Preis von der tatsächlichen Nachfrage ab. Das heißt nach 1-2 Wochen könnte er wieder fallen wenn der erste Antsturm vorbei ist. Ist doch wie eine Frittenbude auf nem Festival.. zum Mittag wenns los geht stehen sie alle schlange aber so Nachmittags kommt man schneller dran und dann wäre hier der Preis auch wieder günstiger. Oder seh ich das falsch bzw. jmd. anders anders?

Ja klar, der Preis hängt davon ab, wieviele Ether pro 23 Stunden Intervall eingezahlt werden.

The previous tutorial/s, although detailed, lacked the visual element you have added. With so much at stake and a certain degree of complexity associated with MyEtherWallet for new users anxious to participate in what could possibly be the most important ico of 2017, your post hits the mark. I worked my way around MyETherWallet by trial and error and luckily there has been no error on my part so far. Your post will hopefully save some people out there the heartache of losing their hard-earned money. Thanks

Thank you very much @colloidy

Sehr gut, danke für die Hilfestellung!

Machs aber lieber nicht, da zahlst einen fetten Aufschlag, wird also automatisch teuerer als auf den Marktplätzen. Wir sind quasi schon zu spät dran... Nur so zur Info ;)

Alles klar. Danke dir für den Hinweis :)

Hi twinner, thanks for the great tutorial ;) I have already tried that a couple of hours ago. The problem is, as far as I have experienced, that it is far too late to buy eos from eos.io. because they sell pretty expensive. :( I think it is better to buy eos directly from exchanges. Here I've summed up what happend, I hope it is ok to share the link: https://steemit.com/eos/@supastix/lesson-learned-don-t-buy-eos-from-eos-io-use-the-exchanges

Thank you very much @supastix. Let's see what happen in 2 or 3 weeks, maybe the prices on eos.io and the exchanges will be the same then.

Great tutorial. Helpful and very detailed, thank you for sharing it.

Thank you very much @mrjohnson

Dear @twinner !

You are a TARZAN in the Virtual Currency JUNGLE !

Thank you for your tutorial!

@kam.ila

Thank you very much @kam.ila.

This is very useful for Steemians and others @twinner who wants to venture at EOS ICOs tokens. Thank you.

Just stumbled across this little gem. Thanks for write-up. Still useful all these months later.

Thank you very much @borganstein. I have no clue if the "claimAll" method is still to recommend. As far as I noticed you need to pay Gas for every day from your last transfer to the smart contract till now.

Ahhh yeah ok. I haven't pulled the trigger as of yet. Still finding my feet in the sector. I have been doing mountains of research and I have to say the steemit community has probably been the most helpful. Could you recommend any other general resources either off or on steemit?

Thanks a lot for this @twinner. I followed your instructions earlier to claim my EOS tokens through my MEW wallet. All went fine except a couple of things:

1 - Not all of my EOS tokens seem to have been claimed (even though I selected the "claimAll" function. I know this (I think) because I don't see the "EOSCrowdsale" next to them like I do with the other ones that I believe have now been claimed.

2 - For the ones where I now see EOSCrowdsale in the From column, I now see "0" (zero) in the Value column of these EOS tokens. Why is the value showing zero? Is that normal?

Thanks

In this case something seems to went wrong. Can you provide me your ethereum address? Feel free to contact me via steemit.chat.

https://steemit.chat/direct/twinner

thanks for your help, I will contact you there...

I click on transfer EOS tokens and on the eos.io interface and then entered my myetherwallet number and now I can't find my tokens. Are they in my meta mask or something?

I have no clue how metamask works. What do you mean with "myetherwallet number"? Your ethereum address? Normally you should see the token on your address. Just check your ethereum adress with etherscan.io

I've just taken the last token transfer out of the crowdsale account to a users account (not mine) https://etherscan.io/address/0x9374da615f51c203a1c96386224766eeeb676c4c#tokentxns

On the right side there is a drop down list "View Token Balance", there you can see the tokens that are sitting on the given ethereum adress.

Serious question. I sent the eth to eos ico address a while ago. I sent it just from a wallet. I went into mew to execute the claimall function of the smart contract and it says the gas needed would almost equal the amount i contributed. That can't be right can it?

hmm, as far as I understood claimall tries to claim every period since your last successful claim, and probably needs same amount of gas for every period. Maybe it is better you call only the "claim" function with the exact period where you have sent the eth. But I have no clue how to determine this number.

old post I know... but for others reading and are confused... set gwei at top of mew to a low value, like 10 - no point spending heaps to claim tokens, unless you're in a rush. ensure you use CLAIM, do NOT use CLAIMALL! (it will set gas correctly for you) you must know the period in which you sent your eth to eos.io public address. you should be able to work that out by going too https://etherscan.io/address/xyz where xyz is your wallet address. The transactions you've done will be listed, look for the one where you sent eth to eos.io - you should be able to work that out as it will show the value of the eth and the To will be EOSCrowdsale. Take not of the age column for that entry, ensure its at least 24 hours ago or you'll burn through eth. then go to https://eosscan.io and check the current period we're in, scroll down and you should be able to work backwards from that to determine what period you should be claiming from. eg: if it said "4 days ago" then period would be current period less 4. current period as I write is 296, it goes up to 350. enter the number of the period into the claim function then hit write. go back to https://etherscan.io/address/xyz and refresh the page, you should see a 0 eth valued transaction sent to eoscrowdsale. click the token transfers tab, that should update to show the return eos token value coming back to your account.

Some months ago ETH was "cheap" compared to todays prices. A "claimall" was reasonable at these times, but now you are right, it is waste of money.

Do you have to claim the eos tokens or can you keep them (unclaimed)?

You don't need to claim the token now, but someday in future after end of the ico you need to claim them, because as far as I understood than they will be frozen and converted into real EOS blockchain token.

Keep also in mind, that their is a risk that the EOS Smart Contract could be hacked. What happens in this case, if somebody else claims your EOS token?

I purchased EOS tokens using MyEtherWallet and the transaction went through no problem. However I have not been able to successfully claim them. I have read every instructions out there that I can find. I have wasted a bunch of fees trying to claim them. I have registered an EOS key twice, which I know is a waste. Can anyone tell me what I am missing or doing wrong? I can see that the purchase transaction went through now a week ago, but I can't seem to claim them. Are my tokens lost? One step I saw in the above tutorial was to enter your private key for your wallet? I always use the keystone file to access my wallet. What is the private key?

Try the claimAll function. They added it some weeks ago.

Do we not want to have real eos blockchain tokens? Or are most people just claiming tokens to play with on the exchanges?

Thank you friend @twinner for the valuable information! You are a professional! I'm just learning a bit! Enjoy with me the summer in Ukraine!

Very good and useful post!!!!

very good post =D

Very neat description. I was surprised to see how easy it was to using Metamask, but that was before being annoyed by the distribution website and its availability .. so thanks for this twinner, bookmarked this piece.

thank you so much for this!! I would never have been able to figure this out myself, and your description is excellent and very easy to follow .... it worked!!

Important info: The GAS Limit has been upgraded to 4500000 on their site.

Anyone who knows if its possible to set a lower gas limit, without any problems?

Thanks for this great tutorial

hi just read your instructions to claim my EOS coins but couldn't complete because said I needed to change gas number but not sure what to? Do I leave amount to send at 0

hi just read your instructions to claim my EOS coins but couldn't complete because said I needed to change gas number but not sure what to? Do I leave amount to send at 0. I have increased gas to max suggested and now window is blocked showing. what does this mean in myetheriumwallet