You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Will Ethereum Fail?

in #ethereum7 years ago

I'm sorry to say I think you are right on this and I used to be one of the biggest ether fans.

The DAO made me lose a lot of faith in the project.

The current token shenanigans aren't really helping to win me back either.

I also think the switch to CASPER, sharding, POS etc will lead to more splits in the community over time.

Further I don't think Vitalik is quite the genius we all believed he was. He is clever for sure but as I saw someone say on Twitter he doesn't really seem to have much knowledge of human behaviour or motivations and I would agree.

I would go as far as to say that there is a severe lack of understanding of human psychology and behaviour within the entire ethereum foundation.

This really started to become evident to me when I became involved in the DAO and they asked me to get involved as a mod.

Some of the things I heard then basically changed my opinion of the people that were at the centre of the whole ethereum movement.

Also despite people in the ethereum community mocking alternatives I think they do have certain advantages.

For example - JS is a lot easier to get developers for than Solidity and that ultimately might make those platforms more secure and more open to scrutiny.

Hope we are wrong but maybe not.

Sort:  

Too bad you think features that have been on the roadmap since the beginning such as POS and sharding will be detrimental to the community. These have been planned since the beginning so if you aren't on board, you should have done some more investment research.

Ethereum is welcome to criticism and competition.

I don't agree with your assessment of Vitalik - he has some of the most levelheaded opinions when it comes to crypto-economics. He is polite, funny and extremely transparent. Only other individual whose opinion I regard as highly is Vlad Z.

Or perhaps I disagree with you and have made a rational judgement based on my own observations - just to be clear I have followed Ether since the beginning. This is exactly like the attitude I saw during the DAO. Ultimately we will see.

I am not condemning your assessment, I just make it clear what the original intentions were.

I am not sure what attitude you are referring to regarding the DAO. I've been a part of this since the start as well, I am not calling your decisions irrational.

In my assessment Eth today is very far from a 'proof of Vitalik'

OK I misunderstood then.

Whats DAO again?

You should probably have a look at the wiki
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_DAO_(organization)

And watch this

Imo the number 1 reason most all cryptos are doomed to fail is because they are all being "crowd funded" by people who already got wealthy on the fair winds of the social media boom. But we are already beginning to see cracks in that business model with Utube in particular. Big business (the "ultimate" big whale) was willing to come in and fuel Utube s growth but now corporations are pulling back on their advertising budgets. It's just being presented as "the liberals" against the free speech crowd to keep the new voice of the world (Utube, steemit bloggers) as far enough away from the truth as necessary so that the truth isn't obvious. The windup is that when the money dries up, the income for those creating content dries up. The stock prices of ALL social media giants are now priced as if it will continue forever....but it won't. And I just revealed the "real reason" why Utube cut back on subsidies to content providers. When Google is downsizing within its own ranks (cutting employees) the money behind some of these little ventures like steemit will be long gone I'm sure. I hope steemit survives. This is a very good site and the thing I noticed most is that none of the blogs I have read have anyone pushing an agenda for the sole purpose of enriching themselves. I'm actually surprised that there are so few cockroaches here. :-)

I'm sure the cockroaches will come lol. Thanks for your well thought out response:)

They will come in their droves, and we are ill prepared.

How would be be able to get prepared?

I doubt social media Youtubers are funding the crowd sales.

I doubt it myself. Utubers with established followings are simply showing up when the sentiment turns into a euphoric frenzy and posting anything they want to say because they know all of their followers will upvote ANYTHING they say. I said the Silly Con Valley types who benefitted from where the funds were misallocated by the Wall St money runners are the ones who will tighten the purse strings at the first sign of trouble. Which is why I am "hoping" the first sign of trouble is like the Oct 1987 crash but 30% of the market cap of everything gets taken out in two days of trading. That'd be fun to watch. No? :-)

Wow, glad I saw this. I've been watching Etheruem and some other coins this week as I'm starting to diversify, may lighten my planned allocation for this one a just little and put toward some others.

Get a few ETH, just don't go super crazy about it. Unless you really, really see something big happening at some point. :)

yeah hedging your bets is always wise, especially when there is so much growth in this sector.

Thanks! That's the plan. I was leaning toward a larger allocation toward ETH than a few others but probably go even balance between the three or four of them.

I think it is best to make the decision for yourself because people can easily be wrong. Always do your own research if you can.

But of course, that is a given. Appreciate the look out though :-)

wow that is some good insight on a very important topic, we have to be careful how our money is invested in crypto at a critical point in crypto history

JS is used by ETH as well.

JavaScript is only used by Ethereum to access its API, and it is NOT used to create smart contracts. There is a huge difference between those two aspects and you seem to be confusing them.

Also, while they share a similar syntax, Solidity is a statically typed language, while JavaScript is the opposite. This makes them very different.

I never stated that JavaScript is used for writing smart contracts - and btw it simply doesn't matter what programming language is used for smart contract as long as it's the compilation is fast. So Ethernet makes use both of JavaScript and Solidity. Btw for those who doesn't know - Solidity syntax is derived from JavaScript.

Innuendo is EOS supporter and they want to promote EOS this is why they are so active here on this page

I never stated that JavaScript is used for writing smart contracts.

Then your input is just confusing and meaningless because having a JavaScript API is nothing unusual and has nothing to do with the subject being discussed.

It simply doesn't matter what programming language is used for smart contract as long as it's the compilation is fast.

If it doesn't matter (which is not true), why do you waste your time arguing about ETH using it?

So Ethernet makes use both of JavaScript and Solidity.

It also uses C++ and Go and Python and a few other languages. Solidity is used to create contracts, while JavaScript is used to deploy those contracts and interact with them. Ignoring this important distinction is an error.

Innuendo is EOS supporter and they want to promote EOS this is why they are so active here on this page.

No matter what I think of EOS, your statements about ETH are still confusing and false.

OK - it's obvious you missed to read the original comment I answer to - it's already in there why I mention Javascript

You are using hate speech so please stop defame otherwise my lawyers will be happy to deal with you.

What where - sorry - is your last comment for me

No ethereum uses Solidity.

Are you a programmer - because I am - and I can tell you ETH is using Javascript

ETH uses Javascript but smart contracts typically are programmed in Solidity. The problem is Solidity isn't a mature, safe, or good choice in terms of language. Tezos and EOS can now eat Ethereum's cake simply by having a better language and better libraries.

As far as I know, Solidity does not even have a standard library.

Is really Javascript needed instead of Solidity for the application subject of discussion - smart contracts - hard to say yes and to agree with you guys - why should be Javascript be better FOR smart contacts

Javascript is great.. for.. web development ... for great UI and UX on browser and modern phones... but not for Smart Contracts..

I actually think that Solidity - it's better for a Smart Contract ... because of simplicity!! Not everyone can learn Javascript - but Solidity and ETH Smart Contracts yes... it's matter of a week and you can MASTER Solidity and ETH Smart Contracts...

Also - Can you please answer a question @dana-edwards

Do you think it does really matter the language used to build a software

If yes - why

Isn't more important the market and the real applications, maybe? Like working to bring EOS/ETH or whatever you are fun - on your local market... at your tabacco store.. or your supermarket... ??? These endless competition online makes no sense - if you want to promote your favorite coin @dana-edwards or @joseph / @thecryptofiend / @kyle.anderson - stop posting online and go outside in the real world and start PROMOTING and PROVIDING real TOOLS to EVERYDAY people and business... for EVERYDAY situations... it doesn't matter if is Solidity or Javascript... it doesn't matter you have 10000 followers... or make 1000$ on steemit.. if there is no market for it...or am I wrong?

No I'm not a programmer. Doesn't change how I feel about it either way. Also you already said that.

Science is not about feelings - if you search for that - no coin will never do good for you.

Thanks I don't need your advice I choose to think for myself. Further it seems you are intent on spamming this thread.

Yes, you read that right, he used the word "lawyers" - plural. Better call Saul.

JavaScript is a programming language not an Advice. You are the only one doing spam here - posting fantasy comments and affirming ETH use no Javascript. Where's the spam I do - please stop defame otherwise my lawyers will be happy to deal with you.

Ethereum uses JS as well - see GITHUB

quote from GITHUB - third party element - Ethereum implements a javascript runtime environment (JSRE) that can be used in either interactive (console) or non-interactive (script) mode.

Ethereum's Javascript console exposes the full web3 JavaScript Dapp API and the admin API.

Solidity is pretty horrible and the development tools for Ethereum aren't very good. The problem is that the alternatives will have even less. I don't know about EOS but Tezos will have to build libraries. Without libraries we cannot do anything as a programmer without reinventing the wheel. Libraries allow programmers to get things done in a safe way, following best practices, and Solidity lacks maturity in that area which led to The DAO.

JS would be a horrible choice for security but it is probably better than Solidity which is to say, Solidity isn't any better but has less tools and maturity.

That was kind of what I was thinking - better the devil you know and all that. I think I generally get nervous when any single "basket" has so many eggs placed into it - it is better to have more competition.

Your right. Solidity and Serpent tools were really lacking last year. They are getting much better. Visual studio support etc... EOS and Tezos (ignoring the IP issues with Tezos in the first place) will need to do lots of work to even get where Ethereum development has reached.

Why you lose faith with DAO

I think it was an exercise in ignoring good advice and mocking anyone that tried to point out potential problems. The whole crisis could have been averted if they had listened to people instead of being arrogant and mocking them. I don't think anything has changed since then.

I agree with you 100 percent, people are treating Vitali as if he's a God and can do no wrong. There are many flaws in Ethereum and they will be exposed as better projects come along. L

Well, it will fail because it's a bubble. Read my article on it https://steemit.com/ethereum/@alex-icey/is-cyrptocurrency-a-bubble