@allaboutpastries: The Natural Yeast Starter is Flying Now! Preparations Now for Making Bread; Plus, More Really Interesting Posts You Might Have Missed.

in #food7 years ago

My Natural Yeast Starter is nearly ready to make bread with.  I realised that things would be different in the heat of Spain from how it was in North Yorkshire.  However, I did not expect it to happen so quickly.  To be honest, I have held the starter back somewhat, as, if I had refreshed more often, it would have been ready in half the time I have taken.

Within 12 hours of my last action, I have a 'useable' starter, albeit a very 'sour' Natural Yeast Starter!  This must be addressed first before I can use it.

How did my starter jump from this on Friday evening?

To this by Saturday lunchtime?

This question will be answered forthwith.  First though, lets have coffee and Churros, yum yum!

These little 'pastries' are a breakfast delicacy here in Spain.  They are slightly like donuts in that they are deep fried and sprinkled with sugar; or not, if you want them plain, for dipping in deliciously thick, hot chocolate (and I mean thick)!

The batter is not yeast based, but more like a thick pancake batter.  It goes into this 'piping contraption', which is held over the hot oil and the batter is pumped out in one long stream.  Round and round they go ending with a large 'pin wheel' floating in the hot fat.  When cooked on one side the pin wheel of lusciousness is turned over and the other side cooked.  Then taken out and placed in a tray to drain.  The large 'pin wheel' is then cut into lengths with scissors and sold in a bag at 1 Euro per bag.  Chocolate sauce is an optional extra.

If you come to Spain then call in at one of the café/bars, sit at an outside table, and order delicious chocolate with churros.

Source

A lovely way to pass the time 'people watching' and dunking churros in your chocolate......wonderful.

Now, back to the Natural Yeast Starter:

As you can see, I have slight separation, and can smell a distinct aroma of alcohol.

This 'bird's eye' view from the top of the jar shows the starter is in a better condition than before.  Not fully separated and much paler than previous images have shown.  I knew I would have a better reaction from now on.  My thin 'refreshing' regime has to be advanced to the next stage: much thicker, by adding more flour, but no water.

The density has to be increased as I want structure in the starter.  I need it to be thick enough so that when the yeast action starts, it has something to push up against.

Twice as thick as before.

The fill line drawn outside the jar is now very important so that I can clearly monitor any rise. I will monitor this again in a few hours time.

There has been a really good reaction and the starter has doubled in size.  You can clearly see the bubbles given off by the yeast.

My next post will show how I make the starter ready to use for bread making .......how exciting!  I hope yours is following on the same way.  If not, don't worry, time and continued refreshing, will make it so.

More Interesting Posts:

Just click on the highlighted blue to take you straight to each post.

@exponentials has come up with a really interesting way to have a 'healthy' breakfast to eat 'on the go'!

@clove71 makes a lovely spinach and cheddar quiche.  I love quiche with crisp, green, dressed salad leaves ....yummy!

@raincountry has another type of starter, this time a fruit ferment.  I am intrigued and will try it when I have made my bread, just to see if there is any difference.  Will the bread be sweet, and taste of the fermented fruit?  Have to wait and see.

Finally  for now ..........

@woman-on the-wing promotes a great culinary challenge for every one to enter.  The results of the last one are in this post.

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   



Sort:  

This is my kind of food. So delicious looking! @allaboutpastries

They are delicious, especially with the chocolate sauce to go with them. Thank you for your comments. X

Hehe your yeast starter is pretty high level..too much for someone like me.. :) I got a little excited seeing the churros :) Is that going to make a future post? hehe

Actually, might, could always use a piping bag! Worth it for the chocolate 'drink' they sell with them. Bread making shortly but other posts in planning stage. Thank you for commenting. X

Yayy..hope you make it sooon :)))

Just refreshed for the last time. It smells just like freshly baked bread. No longer alcoholic. You could have got drunk just smelling the fumes last night. Focaccia maybe or, Ciabatta? I just love Italian breads and they lend themselves so well to sourdough. Keep you posted. :)X

oooh I'd pick the lovely scent of freshly baked bread anytime over the smell of alcohol ;))

Ciabatta is my vote hehe!! Would go so well with a little good olive oil..or just butter :))

Funny you should say that as I have decided to do Ciabatta! My only slight concern is the flour. I might just have general purpose and not strong flour. Oh well, Ciabatta is very forgiving. Posting later with recipe and technique now I have completed the crepe recipe post. What a nightmare. Why does it take me 4 hours to download, resize, upload, find other images, write.....I could go on. How long does it take you? Is it just me who can't work more efficiently? Hey ho. Next one has got to be quicker or it will be 2 am bed time again. LOL. :)X

hehe you are not alone dear! I take even longer to take photos, cut them, upload, write & plan the flow, and finally submit the story...I do it in parts (the photos and the writing separately, then combine into a folder to upload everything)..it still takes me a long time though lol..I'm guessing close to 12 hours for one post in total..haha so you're doing not too bad :)

Love you posts. Sadly not too much into baking haha. eating only
Upvoted you

Thanks again. One day you might bake, then you will remember my tips. X:)