Sweet Rye Malt Bread

in #foodlast year (edited)

50D6EA0A-70CB-4C1A-8B1B-43A8ED3EB717.jpeg

Every Christmas my mom makes this delicious sweet, moist and dark bread called Käpykankaan limppu. This year I’m not going homehome for Christmas so I wanted to make my own and asked for the recipe.

I have pretty good stock of baking goods and dry incredients but I had to pop by to the store to get rye malt, the key incredient in the bread.

If you like beer, I imagine you’d like this bread too. It pairs great with salty toppings, like blue cheese for example and that is my favourite way to eat it. This recipe makes enough for three loaves and we already polished off one in a day and I quickly froze the other two to save for the holiday season.

7337EA23-6C97-4C9A-B37A-39F49242AE66.jpeg

Here’s the almost idiot proof bread recipe:

3dl rye malt (+water for soaking)
1 litre buttermilk
100g yeast
4 teaspoons salt
3dl dark syrup
3dl rolled oats (or something similar)
3dl rye flour
12dl all purpose flour

Start by soaking the rye malt in water preferrably for a couple hours to soften the grains. Add enough water to cover the malt and if need be, add more after a while if it’s all been soaked by the malt.

Warm a part of the buttermilk in the microwake until lukewarm (not hot!) and dissolve all the yeast in it.

Throw everything into the same bowl with the rye malt mash, mix together well but don’t knead. Divide into three greased bread pans, let rise for an hour. Be patient with the proofing as this is a very wet and heavy dough, give it time.

Pop into the oven at 175 degrees Celsius for 1hour 10minutes. Keep an eye on the breads in the end and cover with baking paper to prevent burning the top.

Enjoy!

E423B703-E30C-4F5C-A6EC-D1F56DFA648B.jpeg

9412E5CF-C70F-4DA5-A819-835D9645DE8A.jpeg

474EA837-BF28-4D8E-AE81-6EA8CA6FA193.jpeg

68EE47A8-1E12-4FCA-AF72-5BBC8C540E62.jpeg

And now that you have some leftover rye malt in the bag, you’re also going to make home beer with it. I googled to try and find what it’s called in English and maybe it’s Kvass, though that doesn’t look like an English word to me and I’ve never heard the term before. Anyways, it’s a low alcoholic fermented drink made with the rye malt, yeast, sugar and water, very simple and easy. While this is something served for kids also, everyone here has a grandma or great aunt who for sure let the beer ferment long enough to give kids more than a sugar high. Good times!

Sort:  

Legit.

You are FAST!

Sometimes, and other times the opposite.

I thought I'd do a throwback to the very first word I said to you all those years ago. I think the only word I said for several comments was legit.

I'm such a knucklehead. 😉

Haha I don’t remember that and I think you shouldn’t have reminded me 😂

I remember you saying to me, "you say legit a lot."

I responded with, "legit".

The rest is history.

Calling you out, that does sound like me 😁

Legit.

😊

I am glad I am not the only one with mismatched loaf tins :OD

Looks awesome, I will try it! Especially the beer bit

It was not by choise and it really pains me to have a mismatched set!

Skip a couple steps and just buy beer 😝

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 68000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 70000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!