Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Okay, I discovered the worst of all the National food holidays and it's today.......National Spinach Day.

See, it's not exactly rousing celebration across the country is it? Haha!

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip.jpg

I really hoped that it wouldn't be too warm today, and it wasn't. But nope. It was a perfectly warm, but not overly hot summer day.

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip4.jpg

Okay, shutting up about the weather. Let’s talk about dips. Creamy dips are so addictive, don’t you think?. You know, like one is too many and eight is not enough. That first bite will get you every time and before you know it you are staring at an empty bowl and a plate of chip crumbs. It happens.

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip6.jpg

I had that in mind when I was making this and I thought it would be nice to replace the usual ingredients in this dip with some lighter ones. Cream cheese and mayo may taste good to your mouth but they will do nothing for your waistline. I wouldn’t quite call this a skinny recipe. I went for the real stuff with the cheese. Trust me, you can’t skimp on the parm. But it is much lighter. I love the slight tartness that the yogurt gives.

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip9.jpg

I used hearts of palm because they are really popular and common in Chile. A traditional Chilean side salad usually consists of tomatoes, avocados, and hearts of palm.

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip5.jpg

I also used fresh spinach from my favorite produce stop. It was so fresh and crisp. Actually, that is what inspired this recipe. I had a ton of spinach and I had to do something with it. I was really happy with this dip. Personally, I don’t know if I would rather eat it hot or cold but I do know that it is great with toasted bread. I cheated a little and toasted some slices of my leftover rye bread that I made.

Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip1.jpg

This is sure to be a crowd pleaser, especially when you tell them that it’s lightened up. love at first bite.

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Fried Jalapeño Popper Mac'n'Cheese Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Lightened Up Spinach and Hearts of Palm Dip7.jpg

Sort:  

That looks amazing! I love spinach dip! Recipe please?? 🐻💓

Of course @beartribune!

Ingredients

2 teaspoons olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 (14-ounce) can hearts of palm, drained and finely chopped
2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup low-fat milk
1/2 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups greek yogurt
1 cup freshly grated parmesan
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese for topping (optional)

Instructions

  1. Saute onions and garlic with oil in a skillet over medium heat until browned, about 5 minutes. Add spinach and hearts of palm and cook for 2 - 3 minutes more.
  2. In small bowl or cup, whisk milk and flour until there are no lumps. Reduce heat to simmer and pour it into the pan stirring constantly until it begins to thicken.
  3. Stir in yogurt and sour cream and continue stirring until most of the liquid is evaporated. Add parmesan and stir until melted.
    Pour dip into oven safe dish and top with mozzarella cheese if desired. Bake for 10 - 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and dip is bubbling.
    Serve hot with chips, pitas, or toasted bread. (It is also really good served cold)

This sounds really good right now! And I would prefer the Greek yogurt to mayonaise anyway!

So glad we agree n this and like everything else @uglysweater!!!🐧 🐧 🐧 🐧

Yummy yummy!!

So pleased you like this @alovelymess!!! ☺️ 😊☺️ 😊☺️ 😊

Happy national spinach day. In our country there is no celebration about vegetables that should government and other figures should be able to do that. Fat does not matter friend but less energy that new problem. Our wife will ask for separation due to lack of stamina. Thanks your interesting content.

Thanks for the great comment @sunbahri

Yummy. I actually love spinach and spinach dip - great use of the leftover rye too. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Thanks @kontora. Thanks for taking the time to comment

I think you have inspired me to give this a try

That's awesome! I know you'll love it!!

Oh i did not know that heart of palms were also famous in Chile! Interesting! I recently made a post on it and i was surprised that many people were not aware of this amazing product!
Thanks for the share
@progressivechef

You're right, many people do not know. It is a 'staple' in Chile. It is very commonly served at 'Tea Time.' Thanks so much for commenting @progressivechef

That's nice to know @gringalicious! In my country normally it is called the Millionaire's salad as it is quite expensive!

it looks wonderful @gringalicious

Dips are a new thing for me here in the US, pretty into them haha. Yours looks super good!

How interesting. Where are you from, may I ask? Thanks, @kotturinn!

Glad you asked @gringalicious haha okay, so I was born in USSR, when it collapsed the area I'm from became a part of Ukraine and now just a few years ago Russia annexed the peninsula, Crimean peninsula that is. I live in the US now though.

Wow, my adopted sisters are from Ukraine! What a small world.

I know! I'm friends with @alovelymess on here! She made a post about going to an Eastern European grocery that's how we started talking haha

These eaters seem to be very tasty

You have uploaded many pictures. Nice Picture.

Thanks for reading!

I never had that before, but it sure looking delicious thanks for this awesome post, love the spinach

Thank you so much!

It looks so good ... I want to try

I hope you love it!

please don't spam. It is annoying

Sorry, not intended to be spam

Awesome..I see the recipe below. I don't eat milk anymore...so I would use a vegan cheese if anything...What can I replace that yogurt with?

Vegan cheese should work and I think you could use non dairy milk and replace the yogurt with either soy yogurt or coconut yogurt. Thanks @geechidan!

Coconut yogurt it is! :) Thanks....Oh hey...research Soy...I'm starting to hear some not so good things about it.

Wow amazing... :) delecius food nyammmiiii follow me back @zuric

Looks YummY! 🥗🤗😋

Thanks so much @rawpride. I appreciate you taking the time to comment

cheese and creme, never enough

I know what you mean. Thanks for commenting @whd

Looks so delicious, can't wait to try out this recipe :)

I hope it works out for you @katgualy. You should give it a try and make a post about it

That's look yummy ! thanks for sharing @gringalicious

Thanks for commenting @irfansardar

Wow it looks like the food it was tasty.
very I go there and taste it @gringalicious
don't forget to follow me @hattaarshavin

Please don't spam, it's annoying

I'm sure I saw it was Ice cream day. Hahahaha but I like this spinach one better.

How do those heart of palm taste like ? :o

I think everyday should be ice cream day.

Very hard to explain what heart of palm tastes like. You have to experience it I suppose

interesting your post to follow, thank you for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment @jaibaru

Nice pictures, good and clear recipie, sure gonna try this and makes the family happy. Thanks !

I hope you do give it a try. Drop me a message if you do. Thanks @livelifefullest

I love spinach!

🌱🌱🌱
Great recipe!
@kam.ila

Thanks @kam.ila. I appreciate you taking the time to comment

Today only, you deserved a name greengalicious, @gringalicious 😊 Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks so much @photo-trail. I am humbled

Wow it looks like the food it was tasty. I like it

Thanks so much @loveday. Welcome to steemit

This post received a 4.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gringalicious! For more information, click here!

This post has received a 8.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

good shots...remember this odd number rule....regarding your number of elements?
that principle could make your pictures look much better...especially like the last one too...either that or its just what i want to see i am asking for

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @purplerabbit

Great job @gringalicious! I adore spinach and hot sandwiches! Your photos are exciting! Lets go with me in the most expensive restaurant in the city of Lviv.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@olga.maslievich/900-folllowers-9-a-figure-of-wisdom-visit-to-the-most-expensive-restaurant-masonic-lodge-invest-your-time-in-steemit-steemit-is