Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

This is the only recipe for Boston cream pie that you will ever need my friends!!!

Ladies and gentlemen, you are looking at the very first Boston cream pie made by me. That’s right, I’ve never made one. In fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten one either. Go on, take a nice long gander at it, don’t be shy. Isn’t it a beautiful thing?

Boston Cream Pie (13).jpg

I think it’s a beautiful thing if I do say so myself. Hey, I don’t get credit for how pretty smooth chocolate ganache looks all on its own. I’m just one in the crowd marveling at it with you. I only post recipes after they have been approved by my loyal gang of quality control taste-testers (AKA my family). This recipe has been thoroughly tested and repeated a few times now. It’s a definite keeper.

Boston Cream Pie (3).jpg

I’ve never understood why they call it Boston cream pie when it is actually a cake. A very, very yummy cake, but a cake just the same. You think it’s too late to try to change the name now that it’s been around for over 150 years. Yeah, I thought so. Oh well.

Boston Cream Pie (4).jpg

So the inspiration for this cake came from my need to use some egg yolks. I’ve been in the middle of an egg imbalance because I refuse to be wasteful whenever possible. It’s this hilarious cycle that starts when you decide to make a recipe that uses only egg whites and so you just save the yolks for later.

Boston Cream Pie (8).jpg

Okay, then later rolls around and you find a recipe to use those extra yolks. The problem is, you need a few more yolks than you’ve got so you crack a few more eggs and save the whites. Then your back in the same boat, only this time you have to use the whites. Then the cycle repeats.

Boston Cream Pie (10).jpg

This all sounds like one of those brain-teaser math problems we used to do in school, doesn’t it? Well, I’ve been trying all kinds of things to make with either just yolks or just whites and it’s pretty interesting to see how many uses there are for eggs. Do realize how many foods contain eggs? It’s crazy.

Boston Cream Pie.,.jpg

This cake happens to use about 8 yolks, plus the 2 whole eggs in the filling. I guess that may seem like a lot from the perspective of someone who doesn’t already have a bunch to use. It’s totally worth it though. Egg white omelets anyone? Hey, or you can make meringue or something with the whites, yum!

Boston Cream Pie (14).jpg

I’m not gonna lie. This cake doesn’t cut perfectly but I think that’s part of its charm. Messy usually tastes better. This is the kind of dessert that could make your entire day.

Boston Cream Pie (6).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  8. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Southwest Egg Rolls + Avacado Ranch Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Almond Joy Pudding Parfaits & Coconut Cookie Dippers (vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Boston Cream Pie (11).jpg

Sort:  

@gringalicious this one looks great, will like to try it ou. Can you please send in the recipe ? thanks and keep steeming

Loading...

Name may be controversial, but sight and taste are commanding attention! Great job, @gringalicious. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks so much @photo-trail, I really appreciate it!

This is the only recipe for Boston cream pie that you will ever need my friends!!!

Or this way:

If you ever need friends, just make this Boston cream pie!

Great job @gringalicious!

I guess you have already made this post few hours back...

Yes, It was accidentally published twice. I apologize for that. Thanks for reading @hms818.

Looks so delicious!

Thanks so much @genics

@gringalicious
thank alot for promoting my post about steemfest
sorry my upvote worth nothing :(
follow you is the best i can do :)

Looks tasty. Thanks for the recipe gringalicious :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @damla

Très bon article. Le gâteau qui est en photo donne envie de manger. Merci tu es parfait.

This post received a 3.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gringalicious! For more information, click here!

Amazing , looks very yummy. My mouth is watering. plz give the recipe .

Of course. Just check the top of the comment! Have a great day @vikbuddy!

Wow that looks so good. Recipe pls 😀😀

Thanks for reading @xredsoulless. Recipe up top.

I've never seen a Boston cream pie. I always thought that Boston Cream was just a flavour for donuts.

Looks delicious.

Well it is, but the donut flavor comes from the original dessert. Thanks @gikitiki!

All food dishes are very nice and good, I like these cream dishes and eat lot time. Your these images are amazing.

Thank you so much. That's a great compliment @na722!

Very professional, I think this sweet cream is also very tasty. very nice

Thanks @food-creator! Have a nice weekend!

waiting for lunch but wishing to have that desert now! yumm

Edited: I first wrote​ this comment on Steepshot and noticed a misspelling that couldn't fix on my smartphone. I hate when it happens! Fixed now :)

Marvelous! Yea, I always wondered about the name. Yum.

Thank you so very much @tesscooks4u!

That looks so yummy, and thanks to all the pictures, I think I just gained 5 more pounds. :D

I don't know how you come up with something different every single time. Its so hard for me to think of things to make but I love seeing all the different recipe ideas on here. :D

Recipe please and thank you. :D

Recipe at the top. Thanks for reading @frostyamber

Thanks. :D You're welcome. I love reading your posts. They are always upbeat and entertaining. :D

It's too early to have us drooling!

Haha, but is it ever too early??? Thanks @blacklux

Hey there @gringalicious! This is @msg768's bot. My Maker has commanded me to cast lots every now and then, and upvote and tip random authors on steemit. The latest lot I cast fell to you, so I just upvoted you and also sent you a tip! God bless and have a wonderful day/night! :]

today is a good day!........desserts for everyone! Yum!

I hope you had a Happy Birthday?

I did thanks to you!

It's Deja Vu all over again...I think I upvoted this before I went to bed last night. Oh well, you're so wonderful and your posts are so great, I'll go for it again. 😍

Sorry @chessmonster, total glitch that I did not know happened until later. Once votes hit it, I could not delete it. I really don't know what happened. Thanks for your continued support

Oh my, that just looks delicious 😍 How did you manage to get the chocolate sauce to not drip any further down before snapping your photos? Must have been pretty thick!

Photo shoots of food are always an adventure. Most people do not understand what goes into it, nor what comes out - LOL. Thanks @endlessadventure

I must admit, I have a sweet tooth and I love chocolate, this looks great!!

Thanks so much @rynow, I am really glad you liked it!

This would have gone well with the coffee I just had 👌

Oh, you are so spot on, coffee, yes, perfect!

Looks delicious. Awesome pictures!

I am so glad you liked it @bentakespictures. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment