Beffie and her Red Scarf (5 minute freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

scarf-3016993_1920.jpg

Entering our house, she tossed her red scarf on our old brass radiator. She untied and kicked off her boots. She unzipped her jacket and walked out of it, leaving the puffy pink coat on top of her boots.

“Daddy!”

It was her excitement that kept us going, her joy when she saw us. We craved it while she was at school, and during her long weekends away. Beffie, our six year old supplier - that’s how I thought of her.

She dealt in the euphoria that we ingested and her payments came due at the dinner table. At the bookstore. At Toy Palace. We wouldn’t be weaning ourselves off her any time soon, though, it would cost us more in the future than we could afford to pay.

We'd just have to find a way - any way - when that time came. Or die trying.

Image Credit - Pixabay - https://pixabay.com/en/users/MabelAmber-1377835/

Sort:  

She unzipped her jacket and walked out of it

Love it!! so glad you joined. Today's prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-60-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-twins

Thank you. I am glad too. A new one every day!

This was worth a lot more to me than I am able to pay, thanks for the memory that I never had! Our daughter was born prematurely back before they had all of the special care and medicines like they have today to deal with these tiny babies. She did not live very long, but I still remember her holding my finger and I think of what it would have been like raising a daughter all of the time. I could certainly picture this moment that you described, real or not, and it made my heart glad. 😊

I'm so sorry. My heart goes out to you. I am glad if I could bring you a bit of joy with this story - it's fictional - I went with the prompt and it took me to a messy child bringing joy to her family because she loves them unconditionally.

Always a delight to see another freewrite pop up within seconds of writing ones own! This is... So delightful... but that last line... So ominous. Please don't die trying to pay for your child's euphoria. Your child would rather you live. Probably. I hope so.

Thanks for the feedback. It was my first freewrite - and it felt good. I think I will keep trying.

You said it so perfectly! Love this and it touched a deep part of me.
Thank you for that.

Welcome to the #freewriters! It's a wonderful community!

Thank you. I am happy to join. It seems like a lot of fun and quite beneficial.

Kids are awesome, especially this time of year so much fun things to do with the holidays!

Yes - we have 3 nephews and we love spending time with them and spoiling them. Speaking of fun things to do (We got them drones - shhh - don't tell anyone).

Nice job. Resteemed for increased visibility

Sweet sensitive and wise. Nice work.

Thank you. It was my first attempt at a freewrite.

It was real so it resonated. Nice.