My mothers story part 2

in #freewriters4 years ago

image.png

This is my post for #freewriters hosted by @mariannewest prompt zebra socks

My mother's reaction when she saw me was so out of character for her that I knew I had to get her out of that place. On my way home I stopped by her house where 2 of my sisters are living and told them what had happened and I was going to get mom out of there. When I got home I called the nursing home and told them what had happened and I was taking her home. They told me they could not release her until Wednesday, this was Sunday. I hired a transport company to bring her home, Wednesday came and they told me it would be Thursday before she could be released. I rescheduled the transport for noon Thursday, noon Thursday came and they told me it would now be Friday. I called the transport and was told if transport showed up they had to release her. I talked to the nursing home and told them this and that transport will be there at 4. They did not like it but I got her out of there Thursday at 4. The nursing home gave us a bag of meds that were for mom and in the bag were syringes and vials of blood thinner medicine. We had to google how to draw up a needle and how to give her a shot.

I told my sisters that I would not fish on weekends and would be there to care for mom. I got to her house Saturday morning and the first thing I noticed was all around her lips was blue and said something to one of my sisters about it and she said she did not see it. Mom slept all that day and she never went pee all day. I told both my sisters that something was wrong and we needed to get her to the ER. They told me they had a home health care nurse was coming Sunday and they would ask her what she thought. I was not happy with this.

We were trying to brush mom's teeth and noticed her mouth was full of layers of white stuff, it was so thick I do not know how she could breathe. By wetting it we could pull it out. But we had to be very careful because mom could not swallow. It took 3 weeks to get it all out, later the hospital told us it was a bad case of dry mouth and it was from being severely neglected.

The nurse came and mom's blood pressure was 80 over 60 and she was what they call tenting when the skin on her arm was pinched it stayed in a tent shape. The nurse said she was severely dehydrated. Also, mom had a feeding into her stomach the nurse said with the type of food she was getting she should not have solid stools which she was having. She told us mom had not been getting the food she was required to get. The nurse asked which nursing home she was in and when we told her she cringed and said she worked there for 7 months she said no one should ever be placed there. The nurse called an ambulance and mom was taken to the hospital, they hydrated her and sent her home.

I am not sure how zebra socks fits in this post but I think Mom would like a pair of zebra socks.

to be continued

Sort:  

I'm glad you found some time to write to us. I've missed you.
So she is home now? Couldn't you have just taken her home against medical advice from the hospital the first time? What a horrible story. Doctors have waaay too much power now.

@owasco I am sorry for taking so long to reply. It is nice to hear from all that have missed me, it warms the heart. When my mother had her stroke I was on the river so the sister that is 2 years younger than me followed the ambulance to the hospital and she told us that she is the only person the doctors would speak with. I have another sister younger than that one, they did not want mom to come home from the hospital, they both live at her house, and neither of the work. The one who spoke with the doctor is who said the dr would not release her to come home, when I asked the reason, all she would say was the dr said "your mother is a very sick woman" I told her that this was not a medical diagnosis. I have my doubts but it was 2 against 1, so she was put in the nursing home. There has been a lot of crap going on with the sisters and I am not happy with them but I am glad she is now home and even though they do not like it, they are caring for her.

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

I have missed so much 😥..!!
@myjob
I did not know your mom was not well..!!!
I'm sooooo glad your mom is back home and will now be properly and lovingly taking care of...!!!❤
I will go back and read all past post from you.
So sorry we have fallen out of touch..!!!!!!
SENDING MY LOVE,
Anne

@annephilbrick, Thank you. I have not been on here much, life has gotten in the way of my sanity. I go to work (fishing) come home and escape reality by playing a FB game that I like. I can relax and forget what is going on around me by playing it. I call it my therapy. I do miss all of my friends on here and you are at the top of my list. I hope you have enough firewood and can stay nice and toasty this winter.

💞🤗💞
I sure do miss you too @myjob...!!

I think and hope I have enough firewood for the Winter. It's very much Winter here. Cold and a few snowstorms. I had a crazy busy Summer 😖.
I rarely go to FB.
I dearly hope you are well.
😘

I am glad you finally got her out of that place. It really bugs me how insurance companies control our decisions, and yet if we can't afford to do things w/o the insurance, what are we to do? It's a messed up system. I hope your mother is feeling much better now. Take care of yourself, too.