Spearmint Vs. Coffee

in #gardening5 years ago

Most people start their day with a cup of coffee, possibly because of the properties they attribute to it. The caffeine in coffee releases hormones in the brain that cause an energy boost and cognitive stimulation. It seems like something great but shortly after you face a “caffeine crash” as it runs out, and you have to go back to drink coffee. Coffee is addictive for caffeine, and if you don’t take control (maximum 3 cups a day) you will have to face the symptoms of withdrawal: headache, anxiety, irritability ...

Particularly, I don’t like anything that can cause me any type of addiction, but for my lifestyle I need to be always attentive and have good concentration. So, I discovered an alternative to caffeine: Spearmint. Literally in Spanish: Good grass.

Spearmint has stimulating and uplifting effects and provides a healthier and more reliable energy boost. Even better, it improves memory, sharpens concentration and support overall brain health. It contains antioxidants, vitamins and other vital nutrients. It has a similar aroma to peppermint, but the taste is sweeter and softer because it has less menthol. Something fabulous in this plant is that it offers an enticing combination of relaxation as well as an almost immediate boosting of cognitive function. Then, with an infusion of spearmint you improve your concentration, attention span, planning capacity and overall brain functioning. And, you know what's best? It doesn’t cause addiction or have side effects.

Hierbabuena Vs. Café

La mayoría de las personas comienzan su día con una taza de café, posiblemente, por las propiedades que le atribuyen. La cafeína en el café libera hormonas en el cerebro que causan un aumento de energía y estimulación cognitiva. Parece algo genial pero poco después te enfrentas a un “choque de cafeína” a medida que se agota, y tienes que volver a tomar café. El café es adictivo por la cafeína, y si no tomas el control (máximo 3 tazas al día) tendrás que enfrentarte a los síntomas de abstinencia: dolor de cabeza, ansiedad, irritabilidad…

Particularmente, no me gusta nada que pueda causarme ningún tipo de adicción, pero por mi estilo de vida necesito estar siempre atenta y tener buena concentración. Entonces, descubrí una alternativa a la cafeína: la hierbabuena.

La hierbabuena posee efectos estimulantes y proporciona aumento de energía más saludable y confiable. Aún más, mejora la memoria, agudiza la concentración y apoya la salud del cerebro. Contiene antioxidantes, vitaminas y otros nutrientes vitales. Tiene un aroma similar a la menta, pero el sabor es más dulce y suave porque tiene menos mentol. Algo fabuloso en esta planta es que ofrece una atractiva combinación entre un impulso casi inmediato de la función cognitiva y relajación. Entonces, con una infusión de hierbabuena mejoras tu concentración, capacidad de atención, capacidad de planificación y el funcionamiento general del cerebro. Y ¿sabes qué es lo mejor? No causa adicción ni posee efectos secundarios.

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 11.10.23 AM.jpeg

When I discovered the properties of the spearmint, I decided that this plant had to be in my garden and since then, it has always been present in my kitchen. Taking advantage of these free days, I really enjoyed being with my daughter in the garden today and dedicating some time to the spearmint. It’s very easy to grow and for those who don’t have much space, like me, it’s great because it grows very well in pots.

Cuando descubrí las propiedades de la hierbabuena decidí que esta planta tenía que estar en mi jardín y desde entonces, siempre está presente en mi cocina. Aprovechando estos días libres, disfruté mucho estar hoy con mi hija en el jardín y dedicar un tiempo para la hierbabuena. Es muy fácil de cultivar y para quienes no tienen mucho espacio, como yo, es genial porque se da muy bien en macetas.

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 11.11.04 AM.jpeg

To cultivate spearmint is important to do it in a nutrient rich soil, moist but with good drainage to prevent roots from rotting ... particularly, I like to combine it with earthworm humus. Usually, I cut the seedlings that come out of the pot and I plant them in another one. The first 3 or 5 days the plant looks a little sad but then it takes strength when it starts developing its own roots. The climate here is very hot, so I place it near other plants to protect it from the direct rays of the sun. For this same reason, I must water it every day.

Para cultivarla es importante hacerlo en una tierra rica en nutrientes, húmeda pero con buen drenaje para evitar que se pudran las raíces… particularmente, a mí me gusta combinarla con humus de lombriz. Usualmente, corto las plántulas que se salen de la maceta y las siembro en otra. Los primeros 3 o 5 días la planta luce un poco triste pero luego toma fuerza al empezar a desarrollar sus propias raíces. El clima aquí es muy caluroso, entonces la coloco cerca de otras plantas para protegerla de los rayos directos del sol. Por esta misma razón, debo regarla todos los días.

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 4.24.46 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 4.24.53 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 4.24.57 PM.jpeg

plántula.jpeg


Una sorpresa muy linda fue encontrar este amiguito en el jardín: una iguana bebé.
A very nice surprise was to find this little friend in the garden: a baby iguana.

iguana.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2019-04-21 at 4.22.03 PM.jpeg


Mi blooper gracioso del día: mi máscota. Ella es Mozi. ¡La amo!
My funny blooper of the day: my pet. She is Mozi. ¡I love her!

mo.jpg

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I used to drink coffee a lot but then I realized what kind of impact it had on my stomach and stopped. It actually made me feel sick as it's simply too acidic for me. Everyone handles it differently and for me it didn't work out. So I started with drinking matcha and feel much better.

I'm glad to hear that you found your solution too. Spearmint is great and tea from it is delicious! I drink a large cup of hot water in the morning :) so it's similar to what you do :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good day!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @zaidaguevarae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Awesome, I love seeing your garden and I wish more people would take the time to cultivate just one or two plants and then enjoy the fruits of your labour it really is one of the most rewarding actions you can take.

Keep it up @zaidaguevarae

Hi @zaidaguevarae

As a follower of @haccolong this post has been randomly selected and upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail with 20upvotes
This is random free upvote daily when you follow @haccolong

Spearmint is fabulous, and definitely super easy to grow! I like that you have both English and Spanish translations here:) great work!

Do you feel awake from the peppermint tea? I can't start a day without my cup of coffee.

That's the problem with coffee, you can not stop drinking it. With the spearmint you get the same results, and if one day you didn't take it in the morning nothing happens. Try it 😊

Pepermint is very strong because it has a lot of menthol. Spearmint and pepermint are different, but belong to the same family

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing. I didn't know spearmint did this.. had to quit coffee as it was making my anxiety worse!!! I've been enjoying lemon verbena and chamomile.

Posted using Partiko Android

You quit coffee? I didn't know that. It will be very hard for me but I love to be able to drink it whenever I choose and not just as a habit/ addiction. Drinks like these are an awesome replacement ( and additions to one of my current favorites: fresh ginger with hot water, some lemon juice and honey.

Suene interesante y rico, aunque me encanta el café Portugues.

I will give growing this a try ( on my balcony ) as soon as the renovation on my house has been finished.

Nice fotos and - like @alchemage - I really like the fact that you use both Spanish and English.

Un abrazo desde Portugal!