From Dead Beat Junkie to Helping Junkies Not End Up Dead!

in #gem4 years ago

Arrests, hospital stays, loss of trust, and unhealthy relationships became something that was norm for people like Tim and myself, but not any more.

Screen-Shot-2020-08-24-at-10-33-09-PM

HUGE @recoveryinc shoutout to Tim with 4 years of sobriety this month.

Tims story is really similar to mine and I love it. From dead beat junkie to helping junkies not end up dead!

”Looking at my life 3 years ago I honestly never thought I would get to where I’m at today. The arrests, the hospital stays, the loss of trust, and unhealthy relationships became something that was normal for me.

I’ve been in and out of the rooms before, but my inability to relinquish control had turned everything positive in my life into pain, confusion, lies, and deception. I knew deep down inside that I was capable of finding a way out, but all those big dreams, all the begging, and pleading became nothing more than an afterthought because the heroin, methadone, and the lifestyle had become my master.

A lot can and has changed in four years.

On 08/01/2016 I made the decision to change everything that I thought I knew about the 12 steps and the design for living that everyone had always talked about. I went to school, got a job in treatment as support staff and in 2 short years have been able to work my way up to therapist at the facility that saved my life and gave me too many chances to count.

I became a father in sobriety, and today I get to show up for my son, I can also say that he’s never seen me loaded and that’s something that I hold with pride today.

Four years seems like a bit of time but it’s only a drop in the bucket. I know that the homeless days and the sleepless night are only as far away as I wish to keep them. God gets all the credit. Because I can’t take credit for something I’ve never been able to achieve on my own.”

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Please visit my website or call 888-343-6693

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Screen-Shot-2020-08-03-at-11-37-04-PM

Sort:  

bro, I read your story and I'm happy for you you might not take credit but if you don't want to change then even someone helps you its point less on that note I also try to chan my unhealthy lifestyle where I just sit around a computer or watch movies all with little to no outdoor activities I'm afraid ill become shut-in but I'm trying to change by going on a walk every morning seeing the sunrise give me new hope

respects to Tim and @recoveryinc

Feel free to check out my #introduceyourself So you can get to know me better as well. I definitely feel you on sitting around the computer to much, to this day I can get lost for hours creating spread sheets. I know its not usually someones top favorite thing to use a computer for but that shit like takes me to another world playing with numbers and creating spreadsheets for my companies.
Defiantly get out the house more and make connections with others face to face, at the very least get yourself a puppy which in turn will take you outside more and be a furry friend. not to mention dogs are the best ways to pick up chicks!

I don't have a dog nor I'm planing to get one soon but do have grey Persian cat very cute but even she don't take me to heart

Amazing stories and great turn around we all have our demons and sometimes they drag us down. Always love to hear about those who turn their lives around, keep up the good work dude.

Its some amazing stuff in a crazy world

Hey this crazy world has had me close to the edge many times, stepping back from it is the challenge.

So much strength people have after they crossed hell 🌻

It really is amazing what walking through hell can do for you. Its a make or break type of thing.

YES and after the curse comes the gift .
people who judge dont know the blessings of the depths

Congratulations @recoveryinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

Tip for this post and your continuing community efforts ^-^