I want to help you guys - here's how we can do it

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

I am starting to get a few requests from people asking how they can be successful on Steemit. I will be really straight-forward with you and say that there is no easy path to victory here.

steemit-logo-800x381.png

I was blogging for 2 years before I got noticed and it was a frustrating road. Sometimes I would work on articles for days only to have it read by almost no one and then it would result in a payout of $1 or something along those lines. I would repost the articles to other social media sites only to have my FB friends come and look at it and unless they were also Steemians, their "like" of the article was meaningless as far as financial progression was concerned.

There is one absolutely certain way to get the ball rolling in Steemit. That is, you invest some money in the platform. You power up your account using real fiat currency or other crypto that you might hold at the moment. Nothing is free in life and Steemit is not an exception to that rule.

While I understand for many people this isn't an option, there really isn't any other surefire way to increase the value of your account dramatically. Once you plug say $100 into your account, the account value will grow provided you produce quality content. I don't know for sure if this is frowned upon or not (please tell me if it is) but simply voting on your own posts will produce some value over time.

However, since I like you guys, and I have a solid group of people here that comment on my stuff daily, I am going to do what I can for you.

A contest of sorts!!

For the next week (since value can be added to posts for only 7 days) If any of you post a link to a blog post that you created I will visit it, and give 100% upvote if it meets the following criteria.

  1. you don't plagiarize - I'm not interested in news aggregators or copy/pastes from other sites. If English is not your first language, just do your best. I am not here to judge your spelling and grammar.

  2. it is more than just a photo. If you want to take a photo of something cool then also tell us about it. That is far more interesting than just your local coffee-shop's ability with the milk steamer with only a title. I live in the middle of nowhere and my coffeeshop draws amazing crap on my cappuccino as well. It isn't special.

    frame-harirak-480262-unsplash.jpg

At the end of 5 days I will choose 1 of those posts and then resteem it. As a further reward I will also 100% upvote that user's comments on my page for the next 7 days.

While this wont result in a tremendous amount of money, I reckon the overall value to the winner could be somewhere in the neighborhood of $20 or so. You'll have to help me know how much it actually ends up being because the payout algorithm is complicated a/f here.

This is really the best I can do, but I DO want to help everyone get a little bit ahead if possible.

Also, if this contest seems patronizing and / or dumb, let me know and I will delete the post. I am only trying to help.

IMPORTANT: Your post must be less than 7 days old or my 100% upvote will not contribute anything to your wallet, That is how the system works :)

Also, i will not be upvoting comments for a bit because i need to preserve all of my SP for the upvotes on your actual blog entry.

UPDATE Part 2: It is taking me longer than expected to get to everyone's posts. I promise I will get to them all eventually. Such a huge turnout!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Also, if this contest seems patronizing and / or dumb, let me know and I will delete the post. I am only trying to help.

Lol you are a good man, its a really helpful form of support for users, I'm in, even if it is only reviews I can get from you, it will go a long way in helping me get better as I'm fairly new to blogging, I'm sure I can learn from you.

Thank you for doing this

i thought i was following you already! My mistake, i will pay better attention henceforth! :)

This post is new, I wrote about my hacked account, kindly check it out, thank you in advance

https://steemit.com/bigwaves/@mistakili/there-is-an-answer-all-around-steemit-if-you-know-how-to-look

What you're doing is the dream of every steemer- to be able to help your followers financially. I believe this opportunity will also create exposure to such people who engage in this contest, and it will go a long way of helping them. It's a brilliant and admirable thing that you are part of the league of the generous steemers. I hope to be better than you someday. ☺ God richly bless you @gooddreams Steemit would be a much better place if there were lots of people like you.

Ciao @gooddream, I appreciate the support you are giving to the community. I think your initiative is great, not only for the one who receive the reward but also for the whole community, because the content itself contribute to add value on the price of Steem and the more people interact with the contest, the better it is. You are cool man, thank you very much. Here is the link to my post https://steemit.com/life/@flachito88/the-secret-2018-6-0-7-1-34 . Have a great day mate

Not trying to "double post," but noticed my original link will be too old at the end of 5 days, so I wanted to offer a couple that are not.
Thanks again and good power to you.
https://steemit.com/film/@lionsuit/lynch-s-quick-opinion-cell-phone-movie-watching

https://steemit.com/film/@lionsuit/superbad-2007-goldslick-vodka-as-motif

gotcha. Sorry for being slow. I am traveling at the moment and always miss a thing or two when on my laptop.

All great. Much thanks.
Good power and energy to you on your travels.

All great. Much thanks. Good
Power and energy to
You on your travels.

                 - lionsuit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

So when are you deciding the winner of this giveaway.

Hii...gooddream

First Of all I give you my 100% upvote for this amazing and very informative post for us.
Thanks for the reply of many people...

Your first topic, i like very much.
My first language is not English.
But,i try to write good. So, people understand easily.i never use hard word because i don't know more.

I think, this post helps lot of people to earn money from this platform.

Plzzzzzzz... Don't delete this post.
I think, i need to see this again to get help.
I pray to god that you earn lots of money from this post which helps lot of people.

this life is all about lifting one another, I love you kindness, this community need more people like you.

This is my entry

https://steemit.com/ulog/@youngboss/ulog-diary-10-07-2018

https://steemit.com/dlive/@nattybongo/f93f2730-83f2-11e8-adb2-bf4283a63cb9

This is a post i made today, am currently transitioning from choral music to contemporary music, i know you have a lot of knowledge in music as a bass guitarist so your tips will also be very much appreciated

you are too generous bro ! its good to see some people who are always ready to help other human being . please do help me by looking at my posts.and will hope that i will be one of the winner. ThankYou.

hello @avil1209 , please choose one of your own articles (one that is less than 7 days old) and post the link here for inclusion. There is no way I am going to simply remember everyone's posts when choosing the winner. Thanks pal!

Wow this is great @gooddream. This isn't dumb at all. It's just you own little way of lifting people up and I really do appreciate this. But I have a question to ask;

Do you mean that if we post a link to our post, you will get to chose only one winner after 5 days to upvote 100% and resteem or you will upvote all the posts of your regular commenters you like with 100% but at the end of 5days choose one winner and he alone would enjoy the 7 days 100% comment upvote?

Pls I would love to be clarified on this sir.

i will 100% upvote any blog post that is coherant and follow the 2 simple rules I laid out in my post. The winner will receive 100% upvote for 5 days (or a week, depending on how long it takes to reach $20 or so) they may have to wait a little while as me giving out 30 or so 100% upvotes is going to temporarily drain my SP :)

Good initiative to support minnows who have good content. If you can find some time, you can check my posts and see if I deserve your upvote. Thanks @gooddream

please choose a specific one and post the link here :)

fantastic post buddy. however, since it is over the time limit 7-days, my 100% vote will not affect the payout. If you have another newer article, please let me know. Otherwise, i will just upvote your comment here. Up to you

Thanks @gooddream, I'm glad you liked it, here is another post I wrote you can have a look at https://steemit.com/mgsc/@pankajborah/what-tron-is-a-trying-to-achieve-in-layman-terms The URL seems same but the post is different, actually what happened is somehow accidentally when the sites was down my tron post got reposted so, I had to change the content.

you are incredibly knowledgeable buddy. Some of your terms make my head spin! haha, Very nicely written and well-presented

Thank you very much, @gooddream, I really appreciate your generosity. Thanks for supporting me.🙂

https://steemit.com/life/@iffat/nostalgia

New here and trying to grasp things. It is over whelming at times. Wish there was a guide for newbies like me.

there are tons of guides inside of steemit for beginners. however, this does not change the fact that if you don't invest in the platform, it is going to take a very long time to generate any sort of Steem Power.

I have a difficult time understanding why people who have other crypto investments don't divert some of it to Steemit, seeing as how the value of Steemit (at least since I have been involved) have flowed almost directly with the value of the other major cryptos and it is extremely easy to convert them back if someone decides to do so. I'm no expert though, it has just been my experience.

Is it possible for you to redirect me to such guides for beginners? Steemit is new and fun though. I got bored of other social media platforms lately. Also I'm not a very techie person so find these new age currencies a little complex.
My husband introduced me to this platform. He invests in bitcoins. I'll discuss your last point with him and maybe invest a little here too. Hmm.

https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@lehard/steemit-for-dummies-5-simple-steps-from-beginner-to-steemian-80-lvl-50-useful-links-2-edition

and i found this one interesting

https://cryptosrus.com/make-money-on-steemit/

I would say just spend a day looking at videos and posts and see what you can find out. I routinely listen to youtube tutorials while i am on a treadmill, time passes faster than listening to music... haha

I don't know a lot, and I am NOT a power player on here at all. I'm just trying to share what little "wealth" i have with newer users. Best of luck

Thank you soo much for sharing the links. Ah I hate treadmills, I just huff and pant. More of a Zumba girl ;) and thank youuu for sharing your wealth with us newbies, its so encouraging really. Makes us discover more and learn. In a very short time I have come across such cool and informative posts and bloggers. So thank you for welcoming us in high spirits. Hopefully I will be able to share the 'goods' with others too in due time ! :)

Very interesting thank you so much its really helpful for me i'm so happy i learning about this article.. yes true brother Nothing is free in life now its your account 2 year ago. now i understand :)

CONGRATULATIONS

This is quite good idea, helpful for everybody.
Keep it up!
This is new step for a new good dream @gooddream😊

hi good dream,
Thanks a lot for your initiative and playing the role of mentor for us.
For how long have you been on this platform. And one more question...Can steemit be taken as full time earning source? and here's my link..
https://steemit.com/steemitrepo/@vihanehal/make-money-online-affiliate-marketing
Thanks

I think it would be quite dangerous for Steemit to be your only income since how much you make is directly tied to the value of STEEM and SBD not to mention the overall volatility of crypto markets in general. There is a good chance it could be "feast or famine" since all crypto, including these ones have lost around 50% of their value in the past 6 months (but that is another story) :)

The path to success resembles confused Fox trails only when a person does not know what he wants. It is possible to devote many years to a profession which does not bring pleasure; to undertake any fruitless actions and, eventually, just to give up, having sacredly believed that "born to crawl-can't fly".
You need to set goals that go beyond your own life. Then you will go on the road of implementation of specific tasks, and each step will bring you closer to the cherished goal.

Hi Gooddream. There are no shortcuts and it is just time and hard work. The $100 investment will help bypass the hardest time but I think if one can avoid paying and start from scratch you have a better chance of getting a solid foundation. Once you have a certain following then you can invest. Just my thoughts.

yes, absolutely. I don't know all the secrets. There are people out there that have devoted so much time to figuring out the shortcuts, and maybe they are correct. I don't really know what they are but I think if someone enjoys writing anyway, you at least have a CHANCE to turn it into money here. Unlike FB for example (all the time people waste over there)

Putting money in is the easiest way, those early days suck though. I remember buying 100 steempower and my vote didn't even go up one cent. It's hard to get people to stay until they hit 500 SP

yes, you are correct. Once you cross that threshold (and it keeps changing) it can be quite frustrating to try to grow. I should have said $1000 instead of $100 in my OP. 100SP won't even move it a cent methinks. There are always bidbots, but I don't really have an opinion about those since I have never used one.

A few months ago the bidbots were okay, but these days are giving terrible returns

This is amazing what you have decided to do here, it will go a long way to help lots of us, so your not only a gamer, movie lover and a foodie but also a philantropist, well done man🍺🙌

I will try my luck here. This is one of my post :
https://steemit.com/steemhunt/@deathcloud/dream-real-a-new-social-network-on-the-blockchain
Thank you for giving us a chance to grow on this jungle.

I recently joined steemit and this is my first post, i made it 3 days ago, hope it still fits the category?

https://steemit.com/dlive/@elyon/6f8e3650-8183-11e8-bbe8-435b8d3c86e8

https://steemit.com/farms/@elyon/farms-weekly-theme-monday-mealy-bugs-pseudococcidae

Id like to enter the competition with the second link, thanks for all your doing for us

the post can be about literally anything... so yeah, it fits the category. haha.

very good for beginners you are doing great we will keep in my mind both the points you told about

@gooddream no doubt...you are ..fd802392c352e083f5a05bb63c99e94b--smiley-faces-emojis.jpg

Wow, this is brilliant to do for us your followers, I have been following your work quite a while now. I will be happy to join. Hope I can post my link now? I think people would bombard you with a lot of link. Maybe you can just decided to visit any blog of your like base on the people that are making comments on your post.

post the link here if it's not too much trouble. I ask this because when i am deciding the winner I am not going to be able to remember what was submitted otherwise :)

You meant a link every day for the next 7 days right?

no, just one. I'm already running out of SP so I might actually have to cut this off earlier than planned. I hadn't expected to receive such a massive response :)

I knew it right from onset that the response would be more than what you expected. https://steemit.com/motivation/@adeyemidrey/motivation-always-make-success-your-potential

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is an awesome gesture! And also helping minnow who are earning cents! Thanks gooddream for this initiative!

Here is my post:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@iwrite/desperately-seeking-for-words

You are now living the reality of your name @gooddream by wanting to make the dream of others a reality.

Like you mentioned, no easy part to success on steemit or any other field of life, but with dedication and strong will to succeed, one will surely succeed.

I'm in for the contest because it makes perfect sense, what you intend to give out could make lots of difference.

Here is a link to my post https://steemit.com/randomactsofkindness/@emmakkayluv/it-doesn-t-cost-much-to-save-lives.

truth spoken,no easy way :)
Thank you.

I don't need assistance but just wanted to say great job helping out the little guys. I do my best to upvote posts based on their merit over curation trails.

awesome buddy. I will have to learn what "merit over curation trails" means and perhaps do the same :) Cheers!

be an original to our stuff not to copy from others work

@gooddream thank you for giving us this chance
Please find my latest post on my blog..

Posted using Partiko Android

very informative and motivated article

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I haven't came across such a amazing blog like this before, you are doing a great initiative i must say! A person becomes successful only when he helps others too and work as a team. Being a newbie,I would love to grab my hand on such a amazing opportunity. So, here is my post, do have a glace on it.
https://steemit.com/squirrel/@praditya/a-squirrel-squinting-the-world

This is a great idea..😀👍

Hi @gooddream. Just thought this was interesting and wanted to check it out.
https://steemit.com/music/@jennifer78/queen-still-ace-in-our-hearts

It is difficult to succeed in steemit without the support of someone and the new steemians are not well seen by whales because many who enter the platform do not read the terms and service and start committing plagiarism by copying and pasting article from other pages more than all cryptocurrency news.

It is very good that you take a small group of new steemians that you think has talent and you can support them with your automatic vote in steemauto.com In addition to supporting, if you receive support you should do the same for others. Very soon, when I have enough steempower, I will support a small group, it is nice to receive support it and give it at the same time.

that sounds like a great plan. Thanks for the advice pal.

To you order friend ... I tell you because many whales use steemauto.com to give an automatic vote to whoever deserves it. Who publishes quality content.
In this way they support and also gain rewards in curation.

Thank you for the effort you are making in supporting other users even more than you were already doing. Here I leave the link of my two most recent posts:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ikar59/the-pursuit-of-happyness-on-steemit (it has 4 days already)
https://steemit.com/life/@ikar59/a-non-purpose-dominant-race (this is newer)

Why I am just seeing this. Wow @gooddream this is really nice of you. I'll do my best not to waste this opportunity

I was able to witness what you say in some accounts that i follow. They were able to considerably increase their SP by making an investment in their accounts and suddenly the audience they obtained increased considerably. There is no doubt that this is a very profitable way. I think most people here vote for their own articles, so it should not come as a surprise to anyone.

I think it's a great action on your part to want to help less experienced users here!

Any project like this that encourages and attempts to reward good or thoughtful content creation is a plus for the platform and the community! Kodu's for the initiative and best of luck to those that contribute.

This is great! Here are my two recent posts. I would pick the Lego Head blog but I will like to know which you prefer (as feedback) :D

https://steemit.com/3d/@alka.lin3/lego-head-making-a-box-full-of-them

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@alka.lin3/colorchallenge-monday-red-red-skies

Thanks for this great contest, you are absolutely right, steemit is so frustrating,you post and you don't get upvote,you will feel like quitting. Once again thanks so much

This is my entry

https://steemit.com/nigeria/@setil/do-you-know-about-lotto

There are 2 pages
Pages