#Straturday - Still got the Calluses

in Guitar2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


So I asked Mr @andrewmusic for a suggestion of a song or solo to play and he kindly suggested "Still got the Blues" by Gary Moore.

I hadn't heard this track for years but thought I'd give it a listen and a try. It didn't sound too difficult until I started to work it out. Man those bends and that vibrato. Slowing it down you can really feel every note. Needless to say that I decided to do the radio verion solo which goes for a huge total of about 30 seconds. It has the main bendy bit then a fast pentatonic run at the end which starts with a couple of bends on the 20th fret that tore the crap out of my fingers.

image.png

I learnt two things from this. Not to underestimate Gary Moore's playing and don't ask Andrew for suggestions.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Lol. Totally nailed it though. It's a great solo. I think I have only ever dabbled with the first few notes by accident. Will have to give it a bash

Short and sweet. The long version of this track has a longer solo which is just mental. I'd be left with just nubs where my fingers used to be if I tried that one.

The price we pay for aiming at the greats!! :0)

Yeah, more guitars on Hive! :D Really nice sound an playing :)

LOL, still got calluses, LOL x2

So long, it was so long ago
But I've still got the blues for you, well played, nice tone.

GG man, but hurting my feelings, next one was this, XD

image.png

image.png

source

Yeah, Nah... Not doing that no mater how hurt your feelings are. 😁

Hadn't heard that song before though. Just amazing.

You nailed it bro 💪

Thanks man! 😀

Wow that was awesome! You absolutely nailed the solo and as always the tone was just perfect!

I had not listened to that song in a while but you made me want to listen to it again!

!PIZZA

Thanks Tulio! I hadn't heard much of Gary's music. I don't think there are many people in the world that haven't heard 'Still Got The Blues'. Check out that link above from @andrewmusic. Impressive stuff!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tfranzini(1/9) tipped @gtown (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!