How To Avoid Plagiarism - A Simple Guide for Hive

in TheTerminal3 years ago (edited)

Hello Lovely Hiveans !


PlagiarismGuide.jpg


También hemos creado una versión en español del post para todos los Hiveans de habla española . @lourdeshd6 fue tan amable de ayudar con la traducción. Muchas gracias por esto mi preciosa🤗

👉Versión en Español👈



I recently browsed through a huge amount of posts here in Hive to get an overview of how many Hiveans are actually plagiarizing in their posts .. I figured out that many of them are actually not using quotations at all. They are copying text from the internet partially, if not even completely ! .. But I also figured out that a VAST MAJORITY OF HIVEANS HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT THE WHOLE CONCEPT OF INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY AND HOW TO APPLY QUOTATION .. During the last months I tried to educate so many Hiveans about this topic, that I decided to make a EXPLANATORY POST for everyone who is interested. I will cover the following topics:

Outline of the Post

  • Definition of Plagiarism
  • How To Use Quotations
  • Paraphrasing
  • The Terminal




Definition Of Plagiarism


First of all let me give you a DEFINITION OF the terms PLAGIARISM, so that you know what this is actually all about 😉 .. After that I will talk about direct and indirect QUOTATION, as well as PARAPHRASING, so that you have a proper strategy at hand how TO AVOID PLAGIARISM .. Paraphrasing is actually the most elegant way for most of you I believe, as this strategy fits really nice into individual writing styles and is also the easiest one to apply 😉

PLAGIARISM

  • Plagiarism is the representation of another author's language, thoughts, ideas, or expressions as one's own original work.

So far so good .. I believe that most of you thought that this definition of plagiarism were my own words that I quickly wrote down 😁 ... but ... if you would take a closer look now and open this LINK IN WIKIPEDIA, which is the Wikipedia article about plagiarism you see that it is IDENTICAL WITH WHAT I JUST WROTE 😱


Plagiarizm.jpg
Wikipedia article about plagiarism, Source of the Picture

I WAS PLAGIARIZING THE AUTHOR OF THE ARTICLE on purpose. I read the article and just copy&pasted it to show you how quickly this can happen 🙄 .. Do you see that in this first three sentences there are 14 numbers written in SQUARE BRACKETS ? These INDICATE THE SOURCE from where the author of the Wikipedia article gained his knowledge for what he is writing together .. So in just three sentences he quoted a total of 14 publications that are the work from other authors .. If he would have not done it, he would have been plagiarizing too ^^.. In this case shown above you can find the indicated 14 sources directly in the written text, as well as the complete source stated underneath the article 😁

So please keep the following in mind: Whenever you do research (in the internet, or in some books at home, or elsewhere) and you find some information that you want to use, then you also HAVE TO USE QUOTATIONS, OR YOU ARE ACTUALLY PLAGIARIZING .. This ALSO applies to PICTURES !




How To Use Quotations


You now know that TO AVOID PLAGIARISM, you can USE QUOTATIONS ! .. First of all, you should know that there are TWO TYPES of quotations, namely DIRECT & INDIRECT quotations. In this chapter I will explain to you how this is actually done.

Therefor I will use TWO DIFFERENT EXAMPLES. The first one will be a QUOTE FROM ALBERT EINSTEIN ABOUT BEES and the second one will be about a WIKIPEDIA ARTICLE ABOUT BEES. I choose Wikipedia as I figured out that in about 90% of all cases this was the sources of accidentally plagiarism 😁

1st Example - Quote from Albert Einstein

Albert.jpg
Quote from Albert Einstein from 1965, Source of the Picture

  • DIRECT QUOTATION

... I recently read a quote from Albert Einstein that I find quite interesting. In 1965 he stated the following:

“If the bee disappeared off the surface of the globe, then man would have only four years of life left. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man.” -- Albert Einstein, 1965, Source

I find this a bit frightening as I personally experienced that the bee population was shrinking drastically here at the place where I am living ...

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION

... I recently read a quote from Albert Einstein where he mentioned, that if the bees disappear from the surface of the globe, we humans would have only four years left to live. He stated that without bees there would be no pollination and as a consequence no plants, then no animals and finally also no humans anymore. [Source] This is actually a bit frightening for me as I experienced that the bee population was shrinking drastically here at the place where I am living ...

2nd Example - Wikipedia Article about the Bee

Bee.jpg
Wikipedia article about bees, Source of the Picture

  • DIRECT QUOTATION

... as my interest was aroused after reading that quote, I did some research in the internet on bees in general. The Wikipedia entry about bees states the following:

“Bees are flying insects closely related to wasps and ants, known for their role in pollination and, in the case of the best-known bee species, the western honey bee, for producing honey. ... There are over 16,000 known species of bees in seven recognized biological families.” -- Wikipedia article about bees, Source

So there is actually a huge diversity of bee species out there ...

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION

... as my interest was aroused after reading that quote, I did some research in the internet on bees in general. The Wikipedia entry about bees mentions that bees are closely related to wasps and ants. The article also mentions that they take on the role of pollination. There are actually over 16.000 known species of bees. Thereby the western honey bee is the best-known species of all, as she is famous for producing honey. [Source] So there is actually a huge diversity of bee species out there ...



WHAT DID WE LEARN

  • In the example of DIRECT quotation I had to USE QUOTATION MARKS at the beginning and at the end of the quote from Albert Einstein, as well as in the Wikipedia article about the bee .. I also used the EXACT SAME WORDS AS THE AUTHOR. In the 2nd example I used three dots, (...), to skip parts of the quote that I was not interested to repeat.

  • The example for INDIRECT quotation is a bit it different. Here NO QUOTATION MARKS are necessary and the text features NOT THE EXACT SAME WORDS AS THE AUTHOR

  • But IN BOTH CASES it is necessary to NAME THE SOURCE. It is also not a bad idea to use phrases like STATED or MENTIONED to make it more clear.




Paraphrasing


One strategy that you can also use, and which is quite elegant, is PARAPHRASING. Hereby you WRITE THE WHOLE TEXT IN YOUR OWN WORDS. A big advantage of this strategy is that there is NO NEED FOR DIRECT OR INDIRECT QUOTING 🤗 .. In this case it is ENOUGH to LIST ALL YOUR SOURCES AT THE END OF YOUR POST 😊

ADVANTAGES over DIRECT QUOTATION

  • Of course you can put mainly direct quotations, but IF YOUR USE IT TO MUCH then your work will look mainly like a collection of Copy&Paste passages. This indicates that you are NOT WILLING TO PUT ANY EFFORT in the preparation of your posts. This will also LOWER YOUR REPUTATION as you are showing everyone that you don't seem to care to much about quality.

  • DIRECT QUOTATION MAY BE VERY SUITING in some cases, such as the Albert Einstein quote mentioned above, but I would suggest to you that you never extend this too much. If you do this, then better never do this more than for MAX 10% OF YOUR TEXT. In addition it looks far better if your direct quotes are NO LONGER THAN 3 SENTENCES long per quote.

ADVANTAGES over INDIRECT QUOTATION

  • INDIRECT QUOTATION is already something that make your publications appear far MORE APPEALING THAN DIRECT QUOTATION. But paraphrasing has the advantages that you do not have to arrange your whole text according to the quoted text. Here you are completely FREE TO USE YOUR OWN WRITING STYLE and are NOT DEPENDENT ON THE SOURCES

  • You can just SIMPLY COLLECT all the sources that you were using throughout your whole text and only have to STATE THEM AT THE END of your post 😉

EXAMPLE OF PARAPHRASING IN CASE OF THE BEES POST

  • First collect the information that you want to use: --- 1) Pollinators, 2) 16.000 known species , 3) closely related to wasps, 4) western honey bee producing honey.

  • Then just write down the text that YOU like:


When I was young I loved to go out into the forest, loved to run over the flower covered meadows or just to simply sit at the close-by rivers. I still remember exactly that there were bees just everywhere I looked. Even on my marmalade bread, which I found super annoying back in the days 😤 .. But nowadays I rarely encounter them, also there are soooo many different species of them, approximately 16.000 DIFFERENT ones. I really wonder where they all went to. Actually I find this a bit frightening as they are known to be the main POLLINATORS on earth. To be honest, I would not mind if the WASP disappears 🤣, a close relative of the bee and probably the bad-guy in this family, but not the honey bee !!! 😥 .. This super friendly guy is not only important to keep pollination alive, but is also famous for producing all the tasty HONEY that I love to make my mead from 🥃 .. If they really disappear, I fear for severe consequences for life on earth, but most important .. would I have to start drinking common wine ? 😱

  • At the end of the post just mention the sources that you used.

  • In addition, don't forget the source of the pictures that you were using in the post, even if they are your own, for example:

The pictures in this post were taken by myself, ©@adalger, with a Huawei P30 Mobile Phone. In the cases when they were taken from other sources I stated the source in the sub-caption of the pictures. For information gathering I used an article about bees on Wikipedia and a Quote from Albert Einstein.







There is another initiative here on Hive that I would like to bring close to you as I absolutely love them, The Terminal:

THE TERMINAL DISCORD

It is a great location for LEARNING EVERYTHING ABOUT HIVE, about Discord, and Hive-related content. The Terminal is full of super nice people that you may ask whenever you need ASSISTANCE, with nearly everything ^^ Here you will find documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and will have many opportunities to form CONNECTIONS with other great Hiveans.

The Terminal also hosts the REDFISH RALLY, a funny challenge for all those that are new to the Hiveasphere. It also hosts the HEYHAVEYAMET project by @heyhaveyamet, which introduces all new Hiveans on a daily basis, so that you don't have to search for them ^^


THE TERMINAL COMMUNITY

So why are you not just joining them in the THE TERMINAL DISCORD ? I am sure that you will not regret it 😉


"Your one-stop location for learning about destinations in the Hive blockchain and Discord"







The source of the pictures that I used in this post are stated in the sub-captions of the corresponding pictures. For information gathering I used an article about bees on Wikipedia and a Quote from Einstein.



If you want to know more about me, just look up my Introduceyourself post or follow my blog ^^

Learn more about @adalger here !




Best wishes,
Adalger


Sort:  

A great post @adalger and I think the best way to avoid confrontation is to try and constantly post one's own stuff.
I will reblog and share this in the hope that it will not fall on blind eyes and deaf ears.

Cheers and !BEER

Thank you @papilloncharity 🤗 .. I actually hope that the part about the paraphrasing will help people to post their own stuff and gives them a strategy how to pimp their pists with additional information ^^ especially in nature related communities this may work wonders 😉

My pleasure @adalger and I only hope that they uderstand the word "Paraphrasing" (Own words), as many are not first language speakers.
Let's see how it goes.

Great article! Very detailed and incredibly well explained!

As I was reading I realized that I myself used 3-4 pictures that I simply googled and uploaded on my intro post, without even thinking about plagiarism, I did not put any source for those pictures, I'll research about the pics and will update my post asap!

Thanks for bringing awareness!

Great to hear that this already helped you 😁 .. Awareness is always a great first step .. And those who are aware can educate others on the topic too 😉 .. If this will ever result into reducing plagiarism highly among the blockchain I will be soooo happy .. many Hiveans do so good posts and it would be a shame if just by not sourcing properly they get discredited 😢

Definitely!

I did update my intro post crediting all the sources and will keep it in mind for my next posts!

Keep up the good work!

Hive definitely needed an article like this! Hopefully this will help guide new users! Thank you for taking the time to write it.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@adalger! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @huzzah.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thanks for thenice words @huzzah 🤗 .. This was exactlymmy mmotivation to write it 😉 .. And Thanksfor the Pizza 🍕

I must confess that usually in nature publications I use paraphrasing when I need information from the animal I presented, I didn't know it was an elegant way to plagiarize 😂😁, sometimes I need to quote something important but since I don't know how to do it I end up skipping it and leaving the publication somewhat terse.

This publication will be useful to new and old hivers like me, that almost two years and still presented doubts at the time of documenting something.

Thank you very much, your publication, besides being informative, was a pleasant reading, I will save your post in my favorites and I will reblog it hoping it will reach many people. Thank you and best regards @adalger.

Thanks @soyunasantacruz 🙏 .. Most of the people that did not properly use these plagiarism rules were actually havin the same problem, namly no knowledge how to use them .. I am actually no fan of accusing, and I believe that proper education beforehand is the very best approach .. I am happy that this post is so well accepted. I tried my best to make it an easy and understandable guide to apply for everyone. I wanted to be absolutely sure that everyone can use it for all of their work 😁

Very good, infact excellent post have read so far today, no body wants to work hard or struggle, they just want an easy way to the top, if possible they would just love sitting at a place and another person do the working and they just go to get hug rewards which is not fair at all, making it in life requires lots of intellectual effort not only physical effort, that my little input on this matter but you're very good observer I must say....

Effort and hard work always pays out in the end .. If one wants to stay in Hive forever this is the way you should aim for .. I myself rarely post, but if, I always try to do it as good as possible 😊 .. I also saw that especially in the beginning, when your entries are rarely visible, people tend to use the easy way 🤔 .. You can only convince people with quality, also it may be difficult and annoying in the start

Yes your very correct, is very annoying at this early stage you know, but am not surprised to how you knew this because but each and everyone of us here had our own little beginning, I mean our starting point but nevertheless, no matter how hard and tight the situation might seems am of the opinion that staying true and real is the sure thing, and it pays for one to be his or her self at any given time because sooner or later the rewards will start coming and you'll be glad you did. And also consistency matters a lot on our way to the top. 😊😁

This is one of the most excellent explanations of plagiarism that I have ever read on any blockchain, @adalger and also I love the examples, and the severe "consequences" hahahaha!
Just so you are aware of it, I posted this in announcements in The Terminal.
I also believe congratulations are in order? Did you recently obtain your PHD? That is a major accomplishment!!!

Thank you ver much @jamerussell 🤗 .. I did not at all expect that this post will be valued so high by others ^^ .. Thank you for adding it to the announcements .. I feel flattered ☺️ .. Did you see the post of my doctoral thesis? .. I was so proud to finish it after such a long time and were also happy be able to document all of this in a post 🥳 .. Thx for stopping by!

I did @adalger, and I have to concur about water necessity on the planet earth; there is only one major application, for with no water, there is no coffee hahahahahaha!!!
You did a fantastic job on that post as breaking the topic down that you did your thesis on.
And yes, losing loving ones all in a very short time is not fun for anyone, my condolences, but it did leave you with a really nice family, yes?

@adalger thanks for the efforts in sharing this so eloquently and elaborating the essentials . I am so happy that someone is pointing this out. I think a lot of new users haven't really gone through the process of understanding that hive is actually a place for people to time stamp their original content and intellectual property? That's what makes a blockchain so special?

Posted using Dapplr

Oh yes @yangyanje ^^ .. the possibility to pin your own great original content and ideas and views to the blockchain is such a wonderful concept ... For me I figured out, that Hive is mainly a place where I can leave great and important moments in my life, so that one day my children can look them up, or to share and discuss my pation of nature with others ... Sometimes I like to pimp my articles, when it comes to nature with some nice facts, so I mainly use paraphrasing when it suits .. But this is just the view of some people here .. Many like to, especially in the beginning, just to show what they find interesting. These peaople really need this whole concept of plagiarism get to now properly, as it is most of the the little ones who know not better,who are ruined here with plagiarism excuses .. Hive is a like a journey .. First you try around with many little things .. Then you either leave it, or are one of the lucky ones who realize the whole potential of the blockchain .. Which is not about the money, but the possibility to document your original content forever, and share it with a circle of friends that you found here, whatever the conten may be in the end ^^

Very true. Here for similar reasons, specially the fact that there are awesome people like yourself sharing original content, neatly packaged, I embrace the ephemeral nature of things, While fewer of my friends actually read my blog posts, I do enjoy the fact that I can have a repository of recipes and quotes for future generations of handy to link, when someone asks be for a great, simples cake etc. I remember a time when I sent pictures I took at parties and they were reposted without photo credits. A meaningful sentence I had authored and came up with applying a certain logic that was put in a meme without adding quotation marks. I don't care because i'm not famous and I don't aspire to be and I see it like you as more rewarding and enriching by sharing a mind state to use a bloackchain rather than monetary incentive. I guess similar to you, this is a great opportunity for me to write diary entries in case anyone was ever interested in who I was. Thank you for your ever valuable posts, insights, being a great father figure. I'm always glad when I get the opportunity to read what you share buddy!

I only regret that I cannot give you 100 upvotes for this excellent piece! Bravo!

I take this a a super huge compliment 😍 .. Thanks @thekittygirl 🙏

Bookmarked to share should I come across in future, clear, concise description given.

Thank @joanstewart .. If in the end just a few Hiveans out there can benefit from it,it would ve amazing 😁

I see a lot of people rewriting content from elsewhere for a Hive post. That can be hard to detect, but it adds little value here. It just seems like a way to try and get rewards for little work. The easiest way to avoid plagiarism is to write your own thoughts. People may value those.

!PIZZA

It just seems like a way to try and get rewards for little work.

Out of context, this is acceptable. I mean low rewards, low effort. Most people (including me) are earning cents (and not dollars) with most of their posts. Low effort for low rewards is fine in my opinion. Some of the whales are earning hundreds of dollars with a single sentence, while many people are putting hours of hard work just/only to earn a few cents. I think that that is not good. But this is just/only my opinion.

Hive is not 'fair' by nature. Whales are likely to support each other as they may be friends or they think that those who invest money/effort should get rewarded. I may benefit from having been to various meetups and just being a prolific commenter. I will still say that Hive has to be a good social experience for me. Building connections with people tends to pay off.

I get that people are desperate for any rewards and will do what they see others earning from. I care about what is good for Hive. If it is seen as full of junk posts then we lose.

Find the stuff you enjoy and tell the creators what you liked. They really appreciate that. I see great stuff that gets hardly any comments apart from mine.

!BEER

Whales are likely to support each other

Everyone should do this, and we would all win.
The problem is the fact that most people are selfish and greedy, and they focus only on their own posts.

If it is seen as full of junk posts then we lose.

We already lost because of the above mentioned thing.
This platform is doomed by its own users.

Find the stuff you enjoy and tell the creators what you liked. They really appreciate that.

I already do that. For example I tell them what the photo is similar to.

I see great stuff that gets hardly any comments apart from mine.

Nowadays the real, human comments are rare on the Hive blockchain. The average number of comments per post is 2-3, and most of those are bot comments. This platform looks like a ghost town from outside.

Like I said above: This platform is doomed by its own users.
Well, most of its users. Some people are trying to save it.

By the way, thank you for the beer.
Have some !PIZZA.

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Lack of activity can depend on where you look. I get loads of comments on some of my posts. It's a matter of getting conversations going. Just saying 'nice post' is not interesting. Also there are plenty of people who do not self-vote and go out of their way to help others. Bad stuff goes on, but plenty of good too. Work with those who are doing good to make it better.

I think Hive is worth fighting for.

Just saying 'nice post' is not interesting.

You do not need to tell me that. I do not used to do that.
Although I see people, who do this. And it is kind of annoying. Writing "nice post" is meaningless, spam-like, attention-seeker. It only shows that the commenter do not really care about the post.

Also there are plenty of people who do not self-vote and go out of their way to help others.

This is true for me. I do not self-upvote since a long time, and I support others either with an upvote, or with some kind of token. Or with both.

Work with those who are doing good to make it better.

This is what I am trying to do.

I think Hive is worth fighting for.

I agree with this.

I wasn't accusing you of the less good actions. Actually Hive has less spam comments than some other platforms I've used. I just think people need to try to leave a comment as well as a vote and not just respond to comments on their own posts, as some do.

We need to be as social as we would be elsewhere.

Now this post has lots of comments :)

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @xplosive, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@adalger! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

this is a very good explanation and easy to understand by all hivean and thank you for the information i really appreciate it ...

I am glad that you like it ^^ .. I have a tendency to be a bit educative 😂 .. But I always am eager too, to wrap everything into a packing that can be opened easy by everyone 😉

Hello dear friend @adalger good day
Excellent post, very good explanation and examples you have given.
I really appreciate that you broached this topic. I share in my feed to reach more people
I take this opportunity to wish you a great day

Thx fir stopping by @jlufer 🤗 .. I felt the nessassary to write about it as just to many Hiveans out there seem to not know about it .. I wish you an amazingwweek ahead too 😉 .. See you again within a nice nature post 🙏👋

Great article!

Thank you @silversaver888 ^^ .. My pleasure to publush this post, which already figured out to be highly useful in maby cases 😁


Hey @adalger, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@adalger it was a pleasure to help you and you know when you need something, do not hesitate to request it, I will help you whenever I can. :)

I like the examples. Thank you.

You are welcome ^^ .. I directly new that I wanted to choose something with bees 😁 .. But it took a while to choose the exact way to present it :)

DNAgif.gif

https://peakd.com/@dna.org

Hello; @adalger


We appreciate your work and your post was manually shared on Twitter by @papilloncharity from the DNA team!
Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Wow!! great lesson on how to use quotes. So far I have just been crediting the quote to the author without siting the source, henceforth I will change my ways and site the source accordingly.
I am always gad to start my day with learning some new things.

Look at a material on several sites and then put together a summary taking a little bit of each site to set up your own post is plagiarism?

Hey there @shiftrox 👋

.. basically, whenever you use an information from a source in the internet, than you are not using your own intellectual property, but the intellectual property of someone else .. whenever you do this without stating the source, you are plagiarizing .. only whatever information you get from your own brain is your own intellectual property ..

f.e.: .. if you write, "there are so many different species of bees out there" , then this is your own thought as you can state this without looking anywhere in the internet or in a book ... But if you state that "there are more than 16.000 different species of bees", than you got this number somewhere from the internet and have to source it properly .. everyone can know that there are "many" species, but an "exact information" is not as trivial and someone out there worked for getting this number.

another example: if you write that "the oak tree in front of me is super huge, approximately 20 meters" , than this is from your own mind. But if you write that the oak tree is a huge tree and that "there are species of the oak tree that were measured up to 23 meter" , than you refer to a exact number, 23 meters, that someone reported somewhere else. thus you have to quote it.

there is only one exception, and this is common knowledge ... f.e.: if you write that "there are many different classes of animals, such as fish, birds, reptiles and mammals" ... , than this is considered as common knowledge. Of course someone investigated this once, but this is an information that everyone knows and that has not be looked up in the internet, a book or elsewhere, and information you took from your own brain. Even knowing that a tree is an oak tree can be considered common knowledge

.. depending on what you write and to whom you write, the us of other peoples intellectual property can have serious consequences ^^ .. If you do this for example in scientific publications, like a bachelor, master or doctoral thesis, they university can even take away your academic title even years after you gained it ;)

But just to be sure: whenever you look up a site to get whatever information you need to write in you own text, then just copy&paste the link at the end of your post, even if it is just a simple number or other fact .. This is actually done in a few seconds

I hope this was helpful. For any more questions you can always leave me a message ^^

Best wishes 😉

How glad I am to finally find such information. It will be very useful for me if you agree to translate it into Bulgarian. It will be of great benefit to us.
Тhanks @adalger ❤️🇧🇬👃 C/ BULGARIA HIVE

Thank you so much @adalger for sharing this post.