Raised On Song's And Story's - An Evening Of Irish Folk Song's

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Snapshot_78.png

Hey Open Mic Family

I thought a good way to finish of the Storyteller week would be to do a little concert for you guys.

The idea here was to play 5 Irish folks songs that I have collected on my journey
down the Scots/Irish folk music rabbit hole and tell stories about where the songs come from and how I found them or what they mean to me.

The songs are...

Dublin In The Rare Old Times.
Arthur McBride
The Black Velvet Band
Van Damien's Land
The Parting Glass.

I would be really interested to know what you guys think of this set list.I have never done this kind of thing before where I do a whole set in one video.

It was fun to play these songs ,I hope you guys enjoy listening to them.

@cabelindsay @mipiano @holisticmom @queenoftheworld @thecryptidcrone if you guys find the time to watch this video I would love to know what you think. Im trying to work out a set list for an open mic night on July 1st ,any feedback on this set list is much appreciated.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Proud of you for stretching out into a new experience, presenting a set of five songs, live on Hive. Epic. To me, your set starts out strong with the first song, an excellent choice that shows your genuine appreciation for the traditional Irish folk song. The Irish flavor is totally evident in your accent, and even in your ordinary storytelling. I like the storytelling a lot! Authentic. I feel it is real, raw, and relatable - definitive aspects of compelling storytelling. The third song stands out to me too. The final song feels like a grand finale for sure. Each song has its moments. Your overall sound is really developing. Cheers!

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Thanks so much for the kind words and for providing the opportunity and platform for me to do something like this.

I guess I might try this again in the future if the weekly theme suits it. Its good practice for me to try playing a few songs back to back and the feedback I got from this has been incredibly encouraging.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Ow, I see this post just now and agree with Cabe, that it is a new, great experience on Hive Open Mic, stretching put to 5 songs. Your way of presenting and telling the stories has been a feature that I saw from the beginning I started to listen to your entries. It is an awesome gift you can do that.

Im trying to work out a set list for an open mic night on July 1st ,any feedback on this set list is much appreciated.

I think you will have success with all of the songs, as you has your own style that is the most important feature. I wish you a lot of luck on your jam on July 1st 🙌

Thanks alot for the kind words :)

The feedback from this has been very encouraging ,maybe I will try something like this again in the future if the theme suits it.

It looks like the July 1st gig has been postponed due to covid regulations. There is still no singing allowed indoors in the UK which I guess makes doing these kind of from home concerts even more interesting.

I am sorry the gig is postponed. We can continue with these virtual gigs then ;) Seems that here in Spain it is allowed now. I just came home from a walk and I say full restaurants and even live music in several of them ! I felt almost as the normal came back :)

Congratulations @celticheartbeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I think this set was lovely. It had a calm mellow feel to it. I like how you interpret the songs and add your own spin on them too. As a video set list this works really well. The storytelling aspect made it relatable and adds a layer of connection to each song for any audience that may not be familiar with them.

When I saw The Parting Glass I must admit I was expecting a similar take on Ed Sheeran's version and your adaptation of it came as a pleasant surprise. You have a lovely style of playing and your voice suits it well.

I feel honored that you reached out to all of us for insight and input. Much respect and love to you @celticheartbeat. 🤗💚

Thanks for taking the time to write such thoughtful and encouraging feedback. In the future if it makes sense to do a short set around the open mic theme I will try doing something like this again. It is good practice and this was fun.

My friends, who you tagged, and I listened to your set list tonight together as we got ready for a jamming session, it was very relaxing, the Parting Glass is one of my most favourite folk songs and I'd not heard it with that tune before, that was a great surprise, I enjoyed it very much.

Thanks so much for the kind words and congratulations on getting the spotlight for this week. I love that you picked the theme of the Sea. I have a few songs that really suit that theme. I might try and do a Sea themed folk song set for that week :).

Been listening for about 4 minutes and just had to write the comment now hehehe

This is just so relaxing and peaceful! I may be too mellowed out to comment later hahahahahaha so I thought I would write it now.

I really love the black and white video - it fits the whole feel of the "concert"

... now I've just started the second song - and I want to skip along the seaside on the shore, holding the hand of my sweetie hehehe

I need to do a bit of work tonight, and I'll be doing it all with your voice in the background - thoroughly enjoying it hehehe :)

nicely done!

Thanks alot for taking the time to give me some feedback,its been incredibly encouraging to hear such nice words from everyone who has listened.

you're so very welcome! Thanks for filling our ears with sweet melodies hehehe

really like the sound of this,
you have a great voice,
and i think its a good idea to put up this set,
particularly like van deimens land,
great stuff
ruth

Thanks Ruth :)

Van Damiens Land is a fun one to sing,I was inspired to learn it after seeing Daoiri Farrells version of from the BBC folk awards.