Getting Things Done

in Silver Bloggers10 months ago

IMG-1823.jpg
The new Battery, finally

The last few days have been hectic to say the least. But that is okay, I like that. It beats my normal slothful days.

Let's rewind the clock a bit.

So as you might, or maybe not, have read in one of my latest posts, Mower Mania, I have struggled with getting my mower to work. As you read in that post, I spent the better part of the day just to find out it was a bad battery.

That next day, Friday, I had every intent to take the battery out, go to the local Tractor Supply, buy and new one, and Git-R-Dun. Needless to say, shit happened.

First, We have one tree in our front yard. The tree had some dead stuff in the top that I had trimmed out a couple years ago. Some more dead stuff had recently appeared this year. So I called a tree service with a certified arborist to give it a look.

He showed up Friday and said the tree was dying. It would be completely dead in a year maybe two. He also said limbs at the top looked as if they could break off anytime and fall on our house or the cars. Enough said, I scrambled to get a service scheduled ASAP, which will be tomorrow, Monday.

With that out of the way, we had another contractor show up to provide a quote for the new tub to shower conversion for us. I liked this guy a great deal. Very down to earth, very open and honest. We decided to go with him.

Then as I was sitting talking with the wife, we decided that wasn't nough excitement for the day and added another element to it. We just had our kitchen, bathroom and hallway painted. We loved the color and the painters we hired were awesome. Then color in our living room is very darl, it is depressing and we are ready for a change. So we want the same bright, mood changing color in the living room that we have in the other rooms that were just painted. So we contacted the painter.

Needless to say, not a damn thing got done with the mower Friday.

So, yesterday, I didn't sleep hardly a wink Friday night stressing over all the cashola that these endeavors will cost. I may have to go sell my ass on the streets of Louisville before this is all over. I am sure there are sickos into old bearded, delipidated, fat men.

Anyway, since I couldn't sleep I worked on a post for the #weekend-experience and posted it called Death Dilemma- The Code. After that, did some engaging and other stuff on the chain.

After that, it was time for some sleep.

I slept till about noon until my son woke me up to let me know it was time to take care of the mower. His reminder was appreciated. Not! Anyway, we got the battery out of the mower. Took it to a local store, did the core exchange and bought the new one.

The rest of the day was pretty much a wash. I was spent and the heat and humidity was just not conducive to someone like me with bad lungs. So inside I stayed, did some reading, watched the boob tube and took some naps.

Of course, after napping most of the day, I have been up all night again. The cool thing about that is I can engage on Hive much more than usual. So here I am now, with some news media on in the background, working on this post, and drinking some Dark Roast Reaper coffee I got from @wwwiebe.

Yeah, I am wide awake now!

So ginna read some of the local paper here in a bit. Soak in the rising sun, drink some more coffee, look over my to-do list, and get ready to mow my yard later.

Hope you all have a great start to your week.

Thanks for reading,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

Source Note: Image is my own taken with iPhone

50% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png

Sort:  

Sounds like a good weekend to me! You may not know it but you are earning premium wifepoints for getting er all done! Money is meant to create a happy and safe home and life and we have figured out how to make it in our years. Impulse concern yes but best to not elect to stress over it.

You know @wwweibe too? I enjoy setting aside coffee time to curate and engage too. Little bricks in the wall bro.

Yes! I am everywhere! I'm kinda like the clap.

Clap for the wolfman as Hive brings the deviants together!

😲

For sure, can't take the money with us when we die. I met @wwweibe in the Terminal and then the Alliance. Yes, that is what I do too, I like to read and curate while drinking my coffee. Have a great week!

Dude!!! You are fired! Nobody is allowed to be a slacker at my house. Hehe, Kidding. Some days you just don't have it in you to make it happen. Too much, too little, too overwhelming to want to deal.

It has been 92-100 all week and today is the first day that it will be under 90. I'll take it. The tree saddens me. Are you going to replace it or live with it for a while? I need a bigger yard here, I keep on planting a forest, but the HOA said I need permission to plant a tree. What? No way. Hehe... Ignorance is bliss, yes? Then again, sometimes it looks just ignorant.

Anyway, it looks like you are all over it today! Good luck! Pictures of the bathroom redo! Have a beautiful Sunday!

Yep, I was all over that day, and will be partially today. Not a slacker, just slacking. I am medically retired. Have issues getting around and breathing.

We are thinking about replacing it, but just not sure what with yet. HOA's are something I am not sure I could deal with as I like the freedom to do as I please with my yard and house. But I see the attraction of having them to ensure people don;t let the neighborhood turn into a junkyards too.

The bathroom redo is not really a redo, but just a bathtub to shower conversion. I have trouble stepping in and out of the bathtub so this will make it easier. We already had the bathroom repainted and will be having this shiplap stuff put in there too, but at a different time. So yeah, I will share pics.

You hava a great Sunday too Denise.

I hope you know I was joking as I know you are a joker. :) I have two houses, but the one in the Washington, DC Metro area is best with an HOA. The other is on the Eastern Shore of Virginia on the Atlantic, and it has no HOA... simply lovely. I don't like HOAs, but the truth is, many people don't care enough about their yards and some people don't want to live among that. However, I also believe that it's a free country and they paid for the privilege of keeping it how they want it. It's a double-edged knife.

I Have to replace two red maples that upped and died this year (they are at the shore so I can put whatever I want!) I just need to figure out what I want. Something pretty, I think. I have 17 large pecan trees and 17 black walnuts already and three sycamores. On and on...

How about one of those walk-in tubs? If you are medically retired, I am sure they must have some kind of incentive? That would be pretty cool. Well, I wish you well all your projects!! Hope your Sunday was awesome!

Yeah, I know you was joking. Just wanted to add some clarity as to why I am so slow about getting things done 🤣.

The walk in tubs are kind of expensive. The VA only provides so much in their grant. I am trying to stay within that budget or close to it.

Yeah, Sunday turned out okay I guess. Mowing didn't happen. Mower still didn't start for me after putting in the new battery. Even had son buy a new fuel filter and changed that. So tomorrow working on it some more after watching some YouTube videos.

Hope your Sunday was awesome as well!

Carburetor? I know the VA provides a grant, but, there may be some that work within the budget of VA? I am sure you have done your due diligence with it. I am very familiar with the VA and most will bend over backwards to make it work.

So, I have nothing bad to say about them.

I hope you get it all done soon so you can relax! :)

Carburetor is what I am thinking and what the father-in-law thinks as well. The VA has been very good to me for sure so far. Nothing bad to say from me either. It will all work out eventually.

It will. In the meantime, I hope you get the mower fixed!

Hopefully you can get the mower to run! It sounds like there’s a number of other things going as well, never a dull moment!

Thanks. The new battery should get it running. I am hoping the deck is level still.

Fingers crossed the grass gets mowed!
That is a shame about the tree though :(

Supposed to be clear skies and not so hot today, so I think it should get done. Yeah, it is the only one in the front yard left shading the house, so disappointed. We enjoyed the birds and squirrels it attracted.

Yeah trees are brilliant in so many ways.

Good you caught that tree when you did, don't want any surprises coming through the roof. When I was a kid, I always wondered why they cut the limbs off of seemingly healthy trees and then paint the ends silver? Never did find out, but it looks nice.

You're a night person like me, and while we're not suffering with the over 100 degree heat that those in other states are, we do get humid here in "The Keystone State" so I had to break out the dehumidifier and it does help.

Your line about selling yourself on the streets of Lousville (Kentucky?) made me laugh out loud, and reminded me of one of the websites I found out about when I was new to the net and visiting a place called Internet Roulette.

You clicked on it, and it took you to a random site on the net. One of them was of a site where people who were into cars (and I mean REALLY into cars, if you know what I mean) posted photos of them ineracting with tailpipes and such.

Who knew?

If you had seen the shocked look on my face! lol! We all like cars, but not that much! :)

Yep, L'ville Kentucky. I live in South East Indiana, about 15 minutes north of Louisville.

There are some weird peeps out there with some weirder fetishes. I don't even want to go down that rabbit hole. I can imagine the look on your face for sure.

Glad I could make you laugh. That was the intent.😀

Whoot! Glad the coffee was able to help out what looks like a rough weekend. Oy! Hope you enjoyed it. 😀 Hope you were able to get some more things done, too, and don't have a tree fall on your house!

Coffee is great! THis blend really has a kick for sure. They were able to get the tree done with no incidents, thanks. Hope you enjoyed vacaction.

Congratulations @coinjoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 10
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9

Congratulations @coinjoe! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!