You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Skedaddling From The Work Force

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

The musicians have been hit so hard!! I'm very grateful that I have a fabulous music club nearby, that opened as soon as it could, at 25% capacity, 12 feet between musicians and customers, six feet between tables, which meant they could have about 6 patrons in the club at a time. But they did it! They found a (very) few brave musicians who would play in public; it seems the musicians went deep into the covid con. There were also piano bars, at which I was always invited to sing a few because the piano player is my teacher. It's tiny and in a basement, so there weren't many of us who would go in there during the height of the covid scare. Now that the vaccine has (wrongly) made people feel less afraid, (I'm not the least bit afraid of covid, I am terrified of the jab), and they are allowed to open at 100% capacity, the place is packed again. The owner actually meets people at the door and tells them directly that they don't have to wear a mask! So the place is full of people, full of live music, all unmasked. The musicians haven't played in over a year, and they are doing the best work of their lives! It's heavenly!!!

Can you get musicians together at your place?

I did nursing homes as a klezmer fiddle player and as an actress many times. Not for pay though! Loved it. They especially loved music, even when it was a klezmer band that sucked.

As for covid, here is what I think. You have had covid, you are more protected than anyone else around you, and for life. I am convinced that, if we want covid to go away, we have to stop paying any attention to it, and to stop obeying illegal restrictions on our freedom. So if I were you, I would never get tested, for anything, again, and just go about my life as if covid did not exist. Why stop living for fear of dying? Makes no sense whatsoever.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Can you get musicians together at your place? MY PLACE is my home, my personal property.
I would place no restrictions and like you, I feel like I have life long immunity, which is not to say that some REAL mutation might occur from which I MIGHT get sick, but not die because my immune system has a head start.
At present, MY Place is just one room, 23'x28', it has a small stage, but it is my intent to do a lot of moving stuff around, repainting, getting the lights to operate properly etc...
image.png
↑↑This is the diagram of all the buildings on my property↑↑
image.png
↑↑This is looking from my computer towards the 'stage'↑↑
image.png
↑↑This is looking back at the computer, not exactly FROM the stage, but you get the idea↑↑

 3 years ago  

Looks big enough for a band and some guests to me. Cozy!

When music comes back to life, we all will.

 3 years ago  

The people who built it, HAD a band, and the PARTIED HARDY out there on the deck (which I dismantled so I could dig a trench to help stop the water from pooling under the building. I have a guy coming next week to give me an estimate for some gutters)
I have a friend who works part time in Maint for a nursing home, they have lots of old chairs and stuff in the basement, which he has brought a bunch to me so there will be seating

 3 years ago  

Do you not use Discord DM @owasco? I sent you a message day before yesterday, with my contact info. I thought perhaps you might like to google my address and see where I live, I don't like to talk on the phone, discord is so much easier, but you can also do phone calls or video calls through Discord.
I checked, you and I share a server in The Lifestyle lounge, and we've exchanged messages before, last year on 2/9/2020

 3 years ago  

My friend, discord and I do not seem to get along very well. It has something to do with cookies. Whenever I clear them, I can't get back to my discord servers without spending half a day figuring out how to do so. Since I don't have half days to waste, I don't even try! Do you have a direct link to the lifestyle lounge server you could provide? Sometimes those get me back in there.

 3 years ago  
 3 years ago  

See? Makes me nuts.

image.png

 3 years ago  

Go to the Terminal, that server is devoted to helping with things like this
https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz

 3 years ago  

I guess you can't get there either, I was ask them for you

 3 years ago  

What happens when you click the "Claim account" button?
I posted a screen shot of this in the terminal for you

 3 years ago  

Or go to any of @jaynie 's posts, there are links and invites (which you don't need) at the end of all her posts
image.png

 3 years ago  

yes I;ve tried this but I still have problems. a previous email or something screws it all up, and I end up having a different link to get to each server and it's just a mess so I don't do it. Who needs more to do online? I do not need more to do online. See? Just thinking about discord makes me grumpy. But I'm old, so I'm allowed.

 3 years ago  

You say this happens after you clear cookies, so why are you clearing cookies? I almost NEVER do that, because it logs me out of everything

The Discord link to the Lifestyle Lounge @owasco:
https://discord.gg/By4EvZSfRx